Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What happened to Boards.ie - genuine question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TokTik

Perhaps that is the way to go. If I want to volunteer at my local football/GAA/scouts i've to fill in an application, give details on what skills I have and ALSO get garda vetted. Now there is no need for Garda vetting for Boards. But explaining skills etc is a very basic requirement for most volunteering roles, and at the very least, basic training is provided in most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

That actually would have stood up to scrutiny 10 years ago- not now. Low level trolling is rife on many threads and users doing it are not getting banned. I’ve given up reporting posts because nothing is done

well of course I wouldn’t want to say or imply that once you’re a mod you don’t just get booted out into the forum to figure it out.

you have a team of other mods, cmods & admins (+Mike!) to help you with anything you’re unsure about & plenty of people willing to answer questions.

As for taking your personal info, like, why? What’s the point? Okay if you sign up to your local GAA club to volunteer they want them but do you otherwise join the club under an alias? Are you TokTik to the regular members but Micheal to the volunteers like? 🤔

I will say sometimes something was done but you can’t see it. Like if I gave you a warning only you & I know about it (and any other mods) because it doesn’t give any visual indication to the other posters at the moment unlike the old card system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TokTik

Id imagine anyone in a position of influence for any company, and Boards.ie is a company, should be named. Not to the members of the forum, but say, Mike, should know who is working for them. I've always gone by a nickname since I was a child, all of the kids on the team will call me by this, other parents and even referees at games would too, and most wouldn't know my full name, the club chairman knows my name though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,081 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Then I suppose you think I submitted a CV and was interviewed for the mod so maybe you’re not.

Do you see how a sentence like this might be frustrating for posters who have been issued summary bans with the flippant 'target the post, not the poster' given as the explanation?

If that came across as a personal attack I’m sorry for that. I’m just trying to illustrate how out of the park the idea was. It also solves nothing really.

Look if you think we could do a better job I’m all ears and I’d love to hear how. But complicating the process or adding completely redundant steps is just not going to make anything better.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

@[Deleted User], you might want to reflect on the time you first became a mod, the Feedback thread about you and your own responses in that thread before continuing here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

On the same note, if people in the pub disagreed with someone, they'd tell them to shut up, and they would, otherwise they wouldn't be invited out again. I've known a good few people who get the "oh jesus, here's so-and-so" reaction when they go into a pub, and get the cold shoulder when they try to give an opinion.

Moderation is that response. I really miss the downvote button and the ability to see a user's previous posts. It was a great way to filter the headcases.

And also, let's be honest, extreme views are usually uninformed views, and people tend to hold uninformed views because it supports their own worldview. Pop into the cycling or EV forum and people time and again, on both sides, use factually incorrect information to support a view.

Maybe moderators are heavy-handed and un-democratic, but my experience on Boards has been largely positive. Don't be insulting, don't be a d*ckhead, back up your opinion with a source if needed and you'll be fine.

I don't see it as a personal attack, but the most senior mod here frequently indicates that they would.

So to see such a discrepancy between mods interpretation of what constitutes acceptable content at such a basic level will of course lead to frustration at how moderation is carried out and what threads look like as a consequence.

I don't know if you are referring to me about complicating the process or adding redundant steps as I have advocated for neither.

What I am saying is that Moderation is a significant part of the issues users have with the site. It will never be perfect, it will never keep everyone happy, but it was much better before the changeover than it has been since.

Okay, so what changed when the platform changed that’s made moderators more insufferable? I think that’s the vital answer here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭atticu

No, you would not love to hear how you could do a better job.

You said: 'If you seriously think a volunteer moderator on a discussion site needs to be given training you’re just not living in the real world.'

So, do you want training so that you could do a better job as a moderator, or not?

And that post was a personal attack, telling a poster that they are 'just not living in the real world.' is personal abuse.

Would other moderators be correct if they banned you for that?

The loss of the Red Yellow cards was one thing.

The visibility of infractions was another.

The engagement of the moderation group was probably the biggest thing. Partly because of the reasons above, partly for other reasons about the usability of the site at the time immediately after the changeover. It seems a lot of Mods stepped back or away completely and so now, it seems that there aren't adequate numbers of mods on various forums and so resolution is not as unbiased as it should be.

This is a self-perpetuating cycle, poor moderation leads to less satisfaction with the site, more frustration around mod actions and decisions, leading to more vitriol towards mods, leading to mods stepping back and so the cycle continues.

I think that’s one of the problems to be honest- this behind the scenes activity leads posters like myself thinking “nothing was done even after reporting” - if you knew someone got an infraction at least it provides you with the reassurance that you’re not going crazy and yes this poster is a pain in the ass - and they’re likely to rein it in a bit in future to avoid an out right ban- but no visible intervention means posters to naturally conclude “nothing was done”- what dictates a visible intervention vs a behind the scenes intervention?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I recall this being answered years ago on old Boards, so in the interests of transparency I’m happy to talk about how I became mod for anyone interested.

I noticed that there was nowhere I could get information on the process of joining the PSNI, so being a serving member, I started a thread in (what is now) Society & Culture. Soon after, a Garda started one for Templemore, and I asked in the Forums Requested for the creation of an Emergency Services forum. The two threads I mentioned soon needed their own forum, so I was busy answering questions in PSNI Recruitment, and the Garda was busy in Garda Recruitment. Neither of us were moderators at that time. There was just one and he only acted when the trolls were out to play.

Emergency Services grew and grew, and we were both approached via PM by the ES moderator (Hagar) and asked if we would like to take on the role. Before asking us, Hagar would have suggested us to the Category Moderators (CMods) as potential mods because the forum was growing and needed extra hands. CMods pass the names to the site administrators who make the final decision. This is based on exactly what you would expect; an interest and presence in the forum, affable/easy to get along with, a clean rap sheet, and generally someone who will be an asset to the forum. In short, a really sound person.

Once you get access to the moderator’s forum, there’s usually cheesecake and Capri Sun along with an introduction thread and lots of learning how things work. Nobody is infallible and I have made my own fair share of mistakes down through the years. I’ll always throw my hands up if I’ve got things wrong, and this brings us nicely back on topic.

The recurring complaint I see here is heavy-handed moderation but that isn’t so across the entire site. Any moderation decisions I have made always come with a PM informing the user that I am happy to discuss. In some cases, following a cordial exchange, I cancelled the warning/infraction.

So if you had a magic wand, and you had one wish… one change you could make… what would it be?

-Shield

• Subscribers Posts: 43,207 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

we've determined that it is possible for mods to include "bolded" action text within posts they action.

however more often than not they take the easy road of simply deleting the post, which is easy on them but adds the grand total of zero to the usability of the site, because posters get aggrieved about where their posts went without warning.

if mods were to edit a post, deleted the offending text (or leave it in as example) and add their mod text along the lines of "unacceptable personal abuse- warned" etc it would add so much to the forum and make life so much easier on the mods because posters (especially new ones) would then know where the line is.

fair enough, i understand that the current mods have a load of work on their plates, that they are volunteers, vanilla tools are crap etc so don't have time to 'text action' every offending post .... but they must also accept that the forum is worse off for this, and that in the long run they are only making life harder on themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Look there's clearly many others who have an issue with heavy handed and partial moderation. So I just quoted my example to show the fallacy of this mantra of 'not attacking the poster or being abusive' is what leads to thread bans. I was expressing a validly held opinion and it was in response iirc to a poster which had posted a photo of the Burke family with an accompanying comment seeking to ridicule them. If anything was abusive, it is/ was the ridiculing of said family in that post and others.

So yes I could have written 'That's a nice photo of the Burke family and it's good to see them all turn to support each other in court etc etc" But my choice of words was very similar except written in more flowery terms, it was in no way abusive and yet that brought a thread ban. My sin if it was a sin was to offer an alternative viewpoint on a thread dominated by those who wished to rubbish Enoch Burke and the Burke family generally. So maybe this is part of boards problem - witch hunts can be deemed OK and those who offer a different perspective are not tolerated. Throw in moderators who are active on controversial threads themselves and you twist the problem further.

I don't have a 'serious issue' with this but I do find it amusing to see the hypocrisy of differing standards.

That really brings up the issue that quality of moderation is not the root cause of people's issues.

The root cause is inadequate numbers of mods and the removal of tools to do the job properly. This is up to Boards.ie management to sort out, and they are conspicuously absent in threads like this.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,207 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

i suspect, from looking at fora i frequent, that they lost a large number of mods after the migration to vanilla, and they've never really replaced them. add to that the restriction and inadequacy of the tools available and its not surprising that lots of posters have issues with teh moderation policies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

This 1000000%. I post a lot less than I used to. Being right of center in some of my views and liberal in others paints me as far-right on here and so I get accused of being a troll, bigot, phobic, racist, trumpist and whatever else is trending on the woke-field.

I have questioned warnings and thread bans and engaged with mods openly on these in the past. It used to be the case that mods would lift a warning/ban when you engaged with them and cleared up any misunderstand. These days...not a hope. Escalate the issue and it's a waste of time as we can all see.

I tend to get warnings which in most case are unjustified (IMO). They are frustrating, because it often leads to harmless comments being deleted without any mention of it. If I receive a ban and it's in any way unfair, I won't be back. I'm sure that would suit those who are irritated by any form of debate, but IRL, I don't see these people and most people are just ordinary people who want to get on with the person next to them.

Stay Free

I’ve actually experienced the opposite- no moderation or hidden moderation - being in a police service you must admit that visibility on the streets does help reduce crime or at least push it elsewhere- similarly on boards visible signs to all users that mods are active shows it’s probably not worth your while obviously trolling that thread- more visible mod interventions would be my number 1 ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

And even if you don't abide by any of the latter, but you have the right opinions and you flatter the right people, you'll be fine too. 😊

That's being facetious.

Can you give an example?

Most rational posters on boards have a good sense of fair play. I’ve been banned from a thread (reinstated since) in the last year- what led to it was absolute frustration of no moderator intervention against obvious trolls - posters don’t have an unlimited supply of patience so will naturally react and respond after repeated attempts to draw a moderators attention to a poster- I’m sick of the moderator lectures at this stage - stop covering up for your inadequacies and just moderate as you’ve volunteered to do - stop blaming and sometimes banning the people who grow frustrated with the lack of viable moderator intervention - you’re not always right.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I remember the two of us figuring that out a while ago and it’s a solid idea. All we need to do now is find out if Vanilla can allow us to edit quoted posts where the original has been subject to mod action. We discovered that quoting edited posts isn’t retrospective. In other words, mod edits a post that has not yet been quoted —> the edits get carried over into quoted posts after the edit. Mod edits a post that has already been quoted —> the quoted posts do not receive the edit and remain as one block of text that can only been deleted in full. I’m gonna experiment with this for a bit because it’s a viable workaround that doesn’t require a huge amount of additional effort. Cheers for that.

-Shield

Perhaps it should be taken out as a sub-forum of the Help Desk and live as its own separate forum in the Boards.ie Help & Feedback category. @Boards.ie: Mike any thoughts on this? It certainly would make the Dispute Resolution forum more visible?

-Shield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

There a few things here as other have said there are less moderators now so they take longer and as you said they are volunteered, they have a life and can't be here maybe as often as they are needed. I think some indicator of a mod looking in at something or have looked at it would be nice.

However 2 wrongs do not make a right so if you break a rule and get frustrated and bit back at the post why do you not think you should not be spoken to also. Just report again and leave it the poster is looking for a response you give it which makes them happy and you with an infraction as you also (not specifically you) broke a rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

I have to concur with the ‘craic is gone from the site’ theme of this thread. I don’t think it’s exclusive to boards though, see it elsewhere too. Article on the the journal today about Metro North and not one Simpsons Monorail comment. A couple of years ago the whole song would’ve been ‘sung’ by the commenters on any rail project article.

You could give dubious ‘advice’ in Motors once upon a time with a wink or just kidding but now they get deleted.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

Eh I think I’ve been clear on that point/ because of multiple reports and nothing done- more than willing to give moderators time to look at reported posts but when it goes on for weeks and multiple reports, it’s just taking the pizz-