Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PK@rte.ie (again). The All New (Patrick Kielty) Late Late Show Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,739 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Going on about a world tour - looked at their venues - come on lads , it is niche at best ——- venues with maybe 600 / 700 people

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

You can shove it up your fookin hole

He looks in great shape in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,187 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Tyreland still going strong…

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

RTE had a stranglehold back then and Gerry was seen as the shining light next to Pat now if a big name like that dies you expect some news of drugs you be surprised otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Tellingly, this “Super group” didn’t sing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,128 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

The Lifeboyz were expecting a big cheer when they announced their Irish dates but nobody in the audience took any notice 🤣🤣.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭CH3OH

This is beyond cringe

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I would never debase myself like this.

Jaysus - this is brutal

GDY151

I think he will have to deliberately lose or his credibility in work on Monday will be lost 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,207 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

The producers are always expecting 'Late Night With Jimmy Fallon' levels of audience hysteria.

Sadly, this is Ireland - the audience are sullen, tired, and don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,158 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Neither would their partners.

Subject the fellas to it instead

Picture Of You isn't a bad song 😳

These lads feel like plants ?

Watering plants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭supereurope

All this talk of Gerry has got me thinking of Katy French, another high-flyer who couldn't stay away from the sneachta. She was also canonised after her death from a drug overdose, took a look at her picture on Wikipedia a few minutes ago, and it's a picture of her doing aid work in Africa! Madness.

And just like Gerry, Katy was someone who publicly took a rather sneering attitude towards those who took drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Is Brian punishing them?

Not Cark!

GDY151

Ballyer Abú, Joe Duffy country 🤣

NOT CARK!!

Panic from Keith when Brian said all - he was there not all all. (LOL)

Last show of the season next week?

Will Patrick develop another sudden warble in his voice at the right moment? Place your bets!

Please oh please, have Kneecap on as guests! 😁

Till next week!

Nos da 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭techman1

Its always been the case even years ago with Gay byrne, you would be looking back at some classic interviews he did back in the day and then the camera pans out to the audience and its all old people and really dead, like trying to bounce a ball off of mud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭RoTelly

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭RoTelly

So should the show be renamed The Latte Latte Show , because everyone is milking it…. trying to make that work!

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,476 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Duffy and McFadden. Only in Ireland. Two absolute chancers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭animalinside

Witness season 1 episode 1.

I see RTE still haven't figured out how to configure the ol' iplayer software for movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭riddles

for that at least they showed empathy and compassion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭mykrodot

I must admit, I liked Gerry Ryan, he was "of his time". I liked his honesty, he said whatever he liked, he talked about chasing Moira round the kitchen table, in fact he was always talking about her and the kids. He had his kids around the same time as me so I guess I was on maternity leave with the radio on a lot then. He made me burst out laughing on many occasions . He got away with murder on Radio.

But those were the times. It was a funnier, bawdier, world where comedy was allowed, opinions were allowed, life was very different to where we find ourselves now. Everything is scripted, sanitised, edited, pre-recorded now. Presenters apologise for the tiniest slip in case if offends someone (looking at you Brendan O Connor!), they say "he/she is not present to defend himself", Politicians say "I can't comment" as an excuse for doing nothing. Media and politics has changed utterly and not in a good way. Back in Gerry's time you could call a spade a spade, now you might offend someone.

I loved Gerry's irreverance, his rogueishness, it was fun. I'm glad I was around in those times, I'm glad I lived in a world that was easier, more carefree, less woke, less PC. I don't condone Gerry Ryan's cocaine and brandy habit, in fact he seemed to be on a downward spiral after his marriage broke up. You could see it would end in disaster. He was hosting Operation Transformation FFS! Who thought that was a good idea?

It sickens me the way Lottie has used his name and his memory to this day to make a living. Gerry had talent, Lottie doesn't. Gerry should not be lauded now, he died supporting a corrupt business, there is no glory in that. They need to let him RIP and stop milking him 15 years later!