Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running red light

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Realistically the OP isn't getting a fine but technically as someone posted earlier, the Garda can still issue a fine. It can and has been done. Will it be done, very unlikely as if he was going to it would have been easier to ask for the license there and then so there is no risk of someone chancing a court date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,465 ✭✭✭ofcork

Op will be grand id say happened me good few years ago light had just gone red cop pulled me just said watch the lights in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Looks like the Officer used his discretion to give you a verbal warming, if he didn't take your details he or she will not be issuing anything to you. While chatting with you he/she assessed the situation and you and any passengers. Had you been smoking a joint or smelling of alcohol thing might have been different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭mikeecho

You don't know what you're taking about.

There's a little thing called , discretion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭mikeecho

That's how oral evidence works.

You say what you saw.

How do you think courts operated before cameras.

I really worry about our future generations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Whatwicklow

Was the garda wearing his hat 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

He can as it happened to me maybe 18 yrs ago

Ran amber/red

City hall cork late for work

Cop on a bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭raclle

He sure was 🤣

Had a tired drunken brain fart. I apologise people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭XsApollo

I was pulled over maybe 18 years ago at this stage riding a motorbike.

Garda checked all my details and let me on my way, few weeks later summons in the post, reason , license plate was too small.

Not a word said by the Garda at the time.

i told the judge I didn’t know there was a problem at the time as nothing was said to me, and if there was something said I could of rectified the problem.

the judge let me on my way.