Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You've been looking in the wrong direction, the dangers are coming from the Left - read OP

• 13-03-2023 6:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭

All this time we've been listening to the media purse clutching about Nazis and Fascists who we never actually see in the wild, and yet they ignore the extremism of the left that has entered our mainstream to a far greater degree.

Political violence and criminality in this country is an almost entirely left wing phenomenon, whether it's the gangsterism of terrorist groups like the drug dealing leftovers of the IRSP, Sinn Fein/IRAs links to gangsters like Gerry Hutch or the normalisation of violent gangs like Antifa by political parties with elected TDs in our parliament, not to mention their enthusiasm for foreign terrorist gropups like Hamas. The same political parties who act as mouthpieces for Vladimir Putins propaganda, including the current President, who, when not eulogizing dictators is using his office to support his wifes Putinist dribble.

Ordinary tax paying people on the right wish to conserve the social order and would have no truck with revolutionary lunacy. Yet, when we look at the left. who have the ear of the media, we realise that revolution and overthrow of our established order is exactly what they want.

Feel free to post the other dangers we see emerging from the left. It's important that they are documented.

Mod warning:

This is not another trans thread so drop that talk

Edit:

And if you really are incapable of posting in a civil manner then please do not post at all as otherwise your posting privileges will be removed

Threadbans:

Kyokushin Grappler

thegame983

tesla_newbie

RNFoxtrot

Chromium

El_Duderino 09

Post edited by Beasty on

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,533 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

“Feel free to post the other dangers we see emerging from the left. It's important that they are documented.”

Gender neutral toilets?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Addendum: “Feel free to post the other dangers we see emerging from the left, unless you have a long list of moderator titles (bit sad that, really). It's important that they are documented.”

The threat to the safety of woman and girls is another danger that's coming from the left but debating it here tends to inspire vindictive behaviour from certain quarters.

Post edited by Dyr on

• Registered Users Posts: 10,449 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Feel free but terms and conditions apply?

Sounds like a leftist move that.

I knew I should have quoted your original post as this edited version hides the conditions you applied.

Typical rightist behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,370 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

Gino Kenny (People Before Profit) TD has a manifesto which suggests that FF and FG are far right parties that are setting up grass roots far right groups.

He also suggests that were a left leaning government to be elected next time out that FF and FG would mobilise the Gardai and Defence Forces to lead a coup against said left leaning government.

This is an elected representative saying this stuff. His party who hold four seats in the Dail had to sign off on this manifesto being published.

The National Party for example on the far right aren't within an asses roar of Dail Eireann yet they're somehow a much greater theat to this country than elected TD's who are clearly not shuffling a full deck.

Glazers Out!

I think we're meant to just repeat the posts in the "Wrong direction....Right" thread. Ain't gonna happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,680 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yea yea, very "edgy" guys, but the reality is that a lot of these notions from supposed "liberals" come wrapped in a layer of "you're with us or else.." that is hugely ironic - cancel culture, revisionism, censorship etc etc.

Plus, at least here in Ireland, these issues and agendas simply don't fit into our generally easy going "be grand" attitude to most things. They're imported increasingly wholesale from the US which is a country deeply divided and getting worse, and as a result they clash with our own culture and history resulting in the online arguments seen all over this forum.

The problem is that most people don't like being told what to believe (or else!) and especially when what they're being told makes no practical sense in the real world, or blatantly contradicts reality and facts - the whole gender identity argument for example. Believe what you want sure, but you don't get to force that belief on others, or attack them for not enthusiastically advocating for your belief.

Similarly the notion that immigration is inherently good. It certainly can be, but only so long as it's done in a sustainable way and where the new arrivals have skills to offer, the means to support themselves, and want to integrate into our society - not expect us to adapt to them and give them more favorable treatment.

It's that sort of thing that is causing friction and will set us down the same path of serious social problems if we're not careful.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Deleted....

Have fun. Believe what you want. Everyone is entitled. Just don't try to force them upon people

• Registered Users Posts: 12,987 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

"Believe what you want sure, but you don't get to force that belief on others, or attack them for not enthusiastically advocating for your belief."

Those on the right would be wise to heed your excellent advice.

As is regularly done by the right-wing minority in Ireland? Did you skip the info on the "Irish First" party posted earlier? The threat's not coming from the left there, they're calling for civil war and firearms for all.

Immigration is generally good, immigrants are grateful and hard working and contribute taxes to the coffers. How immigration is handled is a challenge to every government; pre-Ukraine, we all had the same complaints about the Irish government. If immigration would drop tomorrow, they'd continue for the foreseeable future.

You don't have to see how ugly it is as far away as the US; the UK is even denying asylum seekers any way to ask for asylum and spending hundreds of millions of pounds on this. The money spent goes nowhere (except into the coffers of the well-connected).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Sweden sure had a great time with the let all asylum seekers/refugees we can take and silence anybody speaking out. So much of a good time that their left wing neighbours in Denmark have actively turned against taking refugees/asylum seekers. But keep spinning the all immigration is good line when we have a country that can only manage to build half the houses it currently needs for the people that are already here and has problems with healthcare/public transport provision etc.

Nothing you posted contradicts; your problem's with the Swedish government. And did Denmark's government say, "See what happened in Sweden? That can happen to us!" or give other reasons for whatever policy you claim they've undertaken?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Sweden did exactly what is happening here now. Allowed in almost unlimited asylum seekers/refugees and dumped them in areas that couldn't sustain it. Here's an easy one for you to answer - are you in favour of just letting everybody in? All immigration is good. If so, explain how that will work beyond hopes and dreams and virtue signalling. Bonus points if you don't mention far right or racism.

Who are the Irish first party? I've never heard of them, any elected representatives?

I've heard of the MEPs Mick Wallace and Clare Daly, although the Irish media didnt seem too pushed about grilling them on their extremist ideology and support for whoatever dictator de jure happens to be at war with the west.

It's a matter of resources, obviously. Ireland spends in a lot of areas, some too much (the dole jumps to mind, plus allowing the RCC to agree to penalties for their crimes, then never collecting them.) But the budget has a regular surplus, so the money is there to solve some of the structural problems.

Anyone eligible for asylum should be allowed in. I don't think criminals should be eligible, do you? Those coming in with false identities shouldn't be allowed in. Those coming in with no papers should be vetted by immigration/gardai and a decision made.

Apparently that 'party' just started. With voters like you, they'll soon have seats.

Mick Wallace and Clare Daly should be recalled, odious Putinbots that they are.

How did we only find out that Mick and Clare are unhinged extremists AFTER they wound up in Brussels? It's almost like left wing extremism is normalised in Ireland. We still have smurphy and rich boy barrett swanning around the Dáil, no hard interviews on their extremism.

Ireland First are a brand new entity.

Doubtlessly looking to capitalise on the enormous groundswell of support for existing right/far right parties in Ireland who made up a whopping <1% on the vote at the last general election.

Meanwhile we have actual sitting TD's of various shades of left/far left in the Dail right now, some of whom are demonstrably insane and whilst reasonably benign whilst in opposition could wreak havoc if they were to ever find themselves in a government coalition.

I've got no time for the far right, but in Ireland we have actual far left politicians sitting in our parliament right now. By any reasonable measure any potential threat to the stability of this country from extremist ideologies would be coming from the far left as it is far more likely to be the cause of such issues than the largely hobbyist far right chancers we have in this country.

Glazers Out!

As entertaining as it would be to see a glorified whatsapp group win seats in the Dáil, your prediction is unlikely and indicitive of the hysteria around right wing "extremism" while we have actual communists and narco paramilitaries hoping to form a government after the next election.

Actual communists? Who would that be? Name names. As far as I can see, the Ireland Communist Party is something that exists in name only.

And who are these narco paramilitaries? FWIW, typical narcos (the real-life south american ones) aren't on the left at all. They like the status quo with them in charge.

All of people before profit and whatever AAA featuring splitter murphy is called now are communists. Unless you want to pretend that Trotskyites are not communists

The surveillance recordings of SF councillor/amateur torturer and hitman Dowdall showed that the Shinners are still up to their necks with drugs gangs in Ireland. No other western European country would have an oppostion party where the leaders protege turned out to be a murdering gangster and they still remain as leader.

So, no facts, just opinion with communists under every rock. And Dowdall's off to witness protection as far as I can tell, where do you get that he was 'a leaders protege?'

Are you denying that these parties are trotskyites?

Are you denying that SF councillor dowdall was convicted of torture and pleaded guilty his involvement in the murder a rival gangland figure and was subsequently recorded discussing all of this with gang leader Gerry Hutch en route to meet with "IRA" godfathers, also discussing SF recieving money from Hutch?

Are you denying thatt dowdall was selected to run in McDonalds constituency and was endorsed by her in the media?

Because if you are then you're a great example of the wilfull myopia in Ireland when it comes to left wing extremism, so thanks for that.

I'm denying your characterizations; calling them 'communists' is lazy until you actually provide proof - just your opinion. I'm not familiar with them beyond the PbP **** with their 'water should be free' nonsense and have no use for the lot. But I've no use for the 'communists under the bed' meme you and others who seem to post around the same times you do trot out.

You described the criminal Dowdall, no question he's a bad actor. You words were protege, did she train him for the role? Or was he the one on the council that she personally chose? I imagine she's endorsed a lot of Sinn Fein candidates, if Martin or Varadkar endorsed someone you despise, would that person be their protege by your reasoning.

You mean proof like wikipedia describing them as Trots?

You take issues with describing dowdall as her protege? Do you think any councillor in her constituency is put forward for election without her blessing? she described as “a very popular and respected member of his community and he will be missed in his elected role by me, the local party organisation and by local constituents”. That's my reasoning. I don't think Martin or Varadker have ever endorsed a gangland torturer so we can ignore that red herring.

On another thread there was a big deal made about the fact that Communism was/is the final achievement of a socialist regime.

It was argued by left leaning commentators that regimes such as the USSR and Maoist China were never truly communist but rather attempting to achieve communism as an end goal.

In a Democratic society like Ireland where a socialist regime is not in place but the freedom to espouse any political view is acceptable a political party with communist ideals could reasonably be described as socialist/Trotskyist etc and vice versa.

People Before Profit are a party that self identify as Trotskyist so therefore could reasonably be described as Communist. The same is true of the Solidarity party who also have a TD in the Dail currently. These parties are affiliated with RISE who are also self described as Trotskyist and want to bring an end to "capitalist private property".

That's before we get to Sinn Fein, the party with the most support in the last general election. Left wing and with proposals for economic reform that would plunge the Irish economy back to the 1980's. And that's before the "associated issues" that come with them are discussed. Let's not forget that Dowdall was a serving SF Councillor when the shenanigans he was involved in with the Monk occured.

But yeah, the piddling amorphous blob that is the Irish far right are what we should be really wary of.

Glazers Out!

We could talk about the Paul Murphy organized anti water charge protest in Jobstown, where he, a left wing politician of note led an angry mob to trap Tainiste Joan Burton in her car and threaten her amongst other general anti social behaviour.

Something Paul Murphy has no regrets about and feels was a productive day at the office. This from a champagne socialist who attended the most expensive secondary school in Ireland before studying law at UCD. A real relatable man of the people.

Or how about Ruth Coppinger who has no problem throwing accusations around like confetti without thought for the consequences (see the carlow school uniform debacle) and making sweeping statements about whatever group is in her sights at a given time.

Then there's Hazel Chu (Greens) who spent her time as lord mayor of Dublin shouting as loud as she could at every opportunity about how Ireland is so institutionally racist that she quite easily managed to do very well for herself as an elected official. She also attempted to accuse the Gardai of institutionalised racism after the George Nchenko case which she contended (as did all of the people in this post) that the Gardai routinely harassed and shot black people.

These people are, or have been holders of public office in this country.

Justin Barrett is an angry little racist who is the Head of the National Party. He routinely speaks to crowds of often two dozen people and quotes Mein Kampf and is rightly ridiculed and despised. He is not and has never been a holder of public office in Ireland.

Which group is 1, larger? And 2, more of a risk to this country?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Jobstown Verdict: Six defendants found not guilty

Jobstown trial: Six cleared of Burton false imprisonment

Paul Murphy and five co-defendants cleared over 2014 water charges protest

Jobstown trial: Six found not guilty of falsely imprisoning Joan Burton

The jury of seven men and four women returned the unanimous verdicts after just over three hours of deliberations

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

There is no left in western society. What we have are a few stragglers shouting at the clouds.

Every European country has had a right wing government since the fall of the Berlin Wall ranging from the neo liberal Nordic countries and France/UK/Ireland to the overtly fascistic administrations now ruling the likes of Hungary and Poland. Parties that once were defined as left wing like Labour here and the UK moved to centre right in the 1990s.

Sinn Finn are populist too. Religion plays a key role in their identity and religion plays no part in hard left politics so they can easily flip from populist left to populist right like Trump and Putin have done.

Calling Paul Murphy and Hazel Chu communists is downright laughable. Yeah the next Stalins or Pol Pots no doubt

The far left are in the Dail right now. Not a bunch of stragglers by any means.

The far right are nowhere near it. They are a bunch stragglers.

We have a centerist government. Not a right wing government.

Paul Murphy describes himself as a socialist (far left) politician/activist. This is a description People Before Profit and their affiliates also choose for themselves.

Nobody has said any of these people are the next stalin or pol pot.

Glazers Out!