Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo has lost his lustre

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Let's face it ,Leo's litre was only ever a cheap lacre.

All he is is soundbites, contradictions and inconsistency.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,520 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

and the forest industry is deliberately collapsed by his friend Pippa Hackett

I must say that's a very niche grudge you've thrown in there in the middle of that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,169 ✭✭✭Good loser

I like Leo. He's doing a good job. The forestry is a mess but wouldn't blame him for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Risteard81

I've stated it before - he's a failed politician, a failed doctor and a failed person. He is vile and makes my skin crawl. Genuinely I would consider him to be one of the worst people the world has ever seen - he has absolutely no redeeming qualities.

You don't have a private life in a public nightclub.

Incorrect and prejudiced. The guy's alright and has done a good enough job to date.

What's prejudiced about it? He's fundamentally evil.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

It’s an intergenerational embarrassment. Blaming Leo is a bit strange. I’m disappointed with him but not over forestry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

But not a consultant politician. What we can do about our partners’ behaviour these days? Not much.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭kerry_man15

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

This is absolutely extraordinary. It’s the blind hatred characteristic of populists everywhere.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Facts or heavily biased opinions? You appear to be unsure of the difference between the two

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

I think that forestry is the least of his problems.

Housing - there have next to no Local Authority built houses (or flats) for over forty years. In the 1950s and 1960s, the DCC built Ballymun, Finglas, Ballyfermot, Walkinstown, etc etc. The councils were building all over Ireland. Why did they stop in the early 1980s?

Health - why did the not build hospitals in the 1990s and the noughties when we had the money? Private hospitals managed to get built - Blackrock clinic, St Vincent's Private, Mater Private, The Hermitage, plus others around the country. Others have closed when the HSE coul have taken them over. The National Children's Hospital is a scandal. Why only now are the HSE trying to go to seven day operating of public hospital? Is it only now they have realised that people get sick every day of the week?

Infrastructure - The M20 and the Metrolink have been hanging around for over 20 years, and lots spent on plans, and newer plans, but not a single spade in the ground.

Defence - we still do not have primary radar, so we cannot see any would-be hostile aircraft coming. Not that we could do anything to stop them as the only jets we have are on fire hoses.

Gardai - we need 20,000 Gards, and we need them to be visible, but also in specialist roles like cyber fraud prevention. We cannot even fill the training classes at Templemore. Why do we not use cameras to detect traffic light and bus lane violations? Why do they not use Average Speed cameras on all motorways? A tiny test on the M7 near Nenagh - is this new technology that has never been tried anywhere in the world before? Put a gantry every 20 or 30 km on every motorway and connect them. Fit cameras on buses to detect cars in bus lanes. You do not need extra Gardai to do some of this enforcing.

Law - The courts are bunged up with cases. The news reports on cases that have taken six years or more to get through the system - and those are just the personal injury cases. Why do cases start at 11 AM? Do judges not get up early in the morning? Leo should have a word with them.

It is not just Leo that has lost his lustre - so has the political system - even the opposition are just shouting from the magic money tree - 'We would have given more! We have fully costed a way to give everyone more!'

Perhaps I am expecting the silly season to give some light relief.

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

I came across this clip recently – a bizarre, friendly-fire attack on Garrett Fitzgerald. But it’s striking how much more engaging he was than now. Laughing, speaking off the cuff, modulating his tone. Now he speaks in a monotone, guarding his words and constantly umming. When people talked about him being a breath of fresh air, etc, it was based on interventions like that.

Your post was so over the top that it's trivial to disprove your allegations:

he's a failed politician

There are politicians up and down the country who never get beyond county council level. There are others that get elected to the Dail but never get beyond the back benches or lose their seat at the very next election. Varadkar cleared all those bars in his 20's. He was party leader and Taoiseach in his thirties with multiple cabinet ministries before that. By any objective measure he's been ludicrously successful as a politician. Has he been a great party leader? Probably not. That's not the bar you set though with your statement.

a failed doctor

Is he? Seems like he left the profession to go into politics full time. It's not like he lost his license after a severe malpractice incident. He was still capable enough that he was able to return to the job at times during the Pandemic and could probably return to practice if he chooses to leave politics.

a failed person.

What does this even mean? He's got a successful career. He's in a long term relationship. He's got a home. He doesn't appear to have any obvious addiction issues. No failed marriages, bankruptcies or abandoned children. He hasn't assaulted or murdered anyone. All in all, very much not a failure as a person.

I would consider him to be one of the worst people the world has ever seen

Really? Right up there with men who oversaw the murder of millions of people like Adolf Hitler, Joseph Stalin and Pol Pot. Just as bad as the likes of John Wayne Gacey who lured young boys back to his house, raped and murdered them? Up there with Joseph Mengels who carried out twisted experiments on children in concentration camp?

You're a joke. Grow up and talk like an adult.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,113 ✭✭✭twinytwo

A good job? at what? Country is falling apart and he and the rest of FG/FF do nothing and every thing they do touch turns to sh1t

• Registered Users Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

He slags off his former party leader, Garret Fitzgerald (when GF was alive). I remember these attacks on Cowen & Fitzgerald at the time and didn't pay too much attention to it but, good Lord, looking at it now I realise how incredibly juvenile Varadkar was. . . . and I doubt he's changed in the meantime. Playground stuff.

WTF were FG thinking making this fraud their leader? I'm well aware that the members had him well sussed in that they voted significantly in favour of Coveney. The FG parliamentary party must be one of the dumbest parliamentary parties in Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,807 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Think his constituents would have gone for an ABLE tactic... vote ANYBODY BUT LEO EVERYBODY

Seriously even if he is proactive and helpful on local issues which I hear firsthand he is... a bigger picture.. he's a disaster for the country ... really compromising the wellbeing of irish citizens...completely at odds with ordinary people.

I'm a constituent of Leo Varadkar. I have probably wrote 4 or 5 times to politicians in my entire life. I wrote a very polite letter to him a year or so ago on a personal issue. Never received a response despite the fact that he has a team around him to deal with such issues. He is never out visiting his constituents, unlike former taoiseach Bertie Ahern who took his TD role as a local representative very seriously indeed. I'd suggest this is exactly the reason why he couldn't bring in a running mate with him in 2020.

Varadkar is using FG as a means of obtaining personal power and the only thing FG are getting from him are lost seats, lost jobs, 18% in the polls and opposition in 18 months time. Emer Currie got no transfers from him in 2020 in Dublin West because LV, as taoiseach, couldn't get elected until the fifth count. That doesn't happen to a senior politician who is "helpful on local issues".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭salonfire

Why's the airport car parks jammed with cars with people going on holidays and bars and restaurants packed weekends if the place has fallen apart?

You probably one of the many Irish people who wallow in misery. It's a well known stereotype, hence the Father Ted skit of Mrs Doyle "maybe I like the misery".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,113 ✭✭✭twinytwo

What has people going on holidays have to do with the issues facing the country?

Housing in the toilet, leading to yet another mass exodus of our younger generations.

Health services consuming an eye watering amount of money - yet its impossible for a large % of the country to get a doctors appointment.

Judicial system has become a farce, Guards and IPS on its knees.

Defence Forces allowed to waste away into nothing.

Children's hospital going to cost over 2 billion.

1000's of homeless families

The list goes on - but the pubs are packed so we should get down on bended knee to MM and LV? Good one🤣

It worked for them so clearly the right decision

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...for the moment, property prices arent doing too bad, and some major economic entities are doing fairly well, large corporations etc, everything else is irreverent!

Leo's result for FG in the 2020 GE was their worst performance (in terms of % first preference votes) since 1948. FG are only in government because FF wouldn't go into govt with SF. LV literally has SF to thank for his job.

The airport is jam packed because it's too expensive to holiday in Ireland. Tourist industry has been ripped apart by Leo handing over hotels to Ukrainians and other immigrants. As a consequence the remaining hotels are price gouging.

Failed state.

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭techman1

Law - The courts are bunged up with cases. The news reports on cases that have taken six years or more to get through the system - and those are just the personal injury cases. Why do cases start at 11 AM? Do judges not get up early in the morning? Leo should have a word with them

The legal system is like the Irish aristocracy, that's a good one about the courts only starting at 11am, maybe because most of their clients on free legal aid would only be up at that time.

The judges always interpret laws in the most Liberal way which allowed the compo culture to have taken hold over decades in the first place. The fact that the government after all these years is only bringing in the "duty of care" legislation now in order to rein in the compo culture a bit says it all. Our laws are based on the UK common law yet their compo culture is a fraction of ours. So it is obvious that our legal eagles are interpreting everything in the most Liberal fashion in order to generate huge business for themselves