Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you ever think you could be a bit autistic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,842 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

They might think it's bizarre that you remembered something that they didn't. But you can bet that they've remembered stuff that's passed you by too. Some stuff just sticks in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,822 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There kinda is. With any type of condition like Autism it's always "You display a number of traits to X degree" therefore you have Y.

When I was tested for ADHD they tested me in 6 key areas. I scored high in 3 but to be ADHD you have to score high in 4. So I was left thinking, "I almost have ADHD?? What does that make me?"

People can have some of the traits and not have the condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,570 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

To use the much wider definition of autism that is used to day, spectrums and variants and what what-not, everyone is a bit autistic. Everyone.

I've often thought the recent creep in such things do a great disservice to people with debilitating autistic disorders, finding themselves compared to Stefanie Preissner and Anthony Hopkins and Steven Spielberg.

I mean give them a break FFS.

Being a bit shy or having a genius talent for some creative art or other, is not autism.

If you want to know how much the term is abused and actual sufferers are disserviced by society now, take a look at this headline in various business journals only today!

Autism Spectrum Disorders Market is Expected to Expand at a Healthy Growth Rate by (2022-2032)

If that's not rank greed and exploitation, I don't know what is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

"30 out of 50. Some autistic traits ( Asperger's)."

The whole process of my daughters ADHD diagnosis some years ago, allowed the penny to drop with me as why my life had been so complex and distressing to both myself and others.

I consider myself self-diagnosed ADHD and function within a box of social rules ( to avoid mess-ups), along with some tools to aid organisation.

I’m like OP, restless, fidgety, impatient, but I’m pretty sure it’s ADHD rather than autism in my case. I have exotropic strabismus, where eye muscles cause my eyes to diverge outwards, sometimes characteristic of ADHD. I never slept much as a child either, and my mother always suspected I had ADHD but testing just was t done in the 1960s.

I'm not talking about remembering the event or incident, I'm talking about always knowing the year/month. I'm not trying to diagnose myself - it's not like I WANT to be autistic (and I know I'm not) but I'm just wondering whether I exhibit traits on the very low end of the scale (given that it's said we could all be somewhere on it). My "OCD" tendencies about clutter, cleanliness and attention to detail are more than just wanting tidiness (but it's not all consuming either).

Yeah, I reckon I'm pretty artistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Your score was 27 out of a possible 50.

Scores in the 26-32 range indicate some Autistic traits (Asperger's Syndrome).

Checks out imo. 6 more and I'm autistic? (Did anyone get above 32 so we can know if there's another range...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

no sir I am altruistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,059 ✭✭✭✭fits

Read about the broad autism phenotype. Ie meeting some of the traits but not to an extent to have an autism diagnosis. https://www.verywellhealth.com/what-is-the-broad-autism-phenotype-260048

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I'm very autistic but noone takes you seriously if don't have a certificate from doctor. I cannot obtain an official diagnosis as they require you to bring in an older family member to me interviewed about your childhood if you are an adult and I wouldn't allow this. It is an unfortunate hand I was dealt in this life as I don't have a normal life by any means and can't hold down job for longer than few months and without an official diagnosis society certainly don't give you any sympathy. Not that they would give you sympathy any even if you had a diagnosis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Not to take from this thread, but in case it helps any readers, there is an excellent thread in Long Term Illness section regarding Adult ADHD. Supports, diagnosises

(my ADHD will bring me back to edit that once I hammer down the correct plural for diagnosis 😁),

individual experiences and recommendations.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057610250/adult-adhd-advice

You don't have to. Some require it but some don't. Some assessments can be done remotely as well.

This place for example says you can bring someone but you don't need to. https://www.adultautism.ie/adult-autism-assessments

I just redid the test.

Your score was 38 out of a possible 50.

Scores in the 33-50 range indicate significant Autistic traits (Autism).

The first time that I did the test I scored about the same. So i redid it and tried really hard to be less autistic and scored higher. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

this is a fairly offensive thread

I received my diagnosis when I was in my early 40s

People making light of this condition need to have a word with themselves really.

what does "a bit autistic" mean, is this a joke? do you like making jokes about autistic people?

sad bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,059 ✭✭✭✭fits

Who’s making jokes about autistic people? I’m sorry you are offended but do read that article about the broad autism phenotype which is common particularly in family members of people with diagnosed ASD.

Doesn't "a bit autistic" just mean low on the spectrum?

there is no spectrum diagnosis anymore.

you are either diagnosed autistic or you aren't

I'm not here to argue the rights or wrongs of that - here's what my diagnosis letter states

I can confirm after these investigations that you are autistic and

meet criteria for autism as per the DSM 5 and ICD 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Glaceon

Took this out of curiosity.

Your score was 37 out of a possible 50.

Scores in the 33-50 range indicate significant Autistic traits (Autism).

But there are those with autism who are high functioning, and those who need care. There ARE differences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Sure look, at the end of the day, aren't we all just looking for a spot to park closer to the door.

I know that, and again I'm not trying to argue against you here, but the fact at the moment is that there is no differential diagnosis anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,564 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I think that’s a very unfair assessment of this thread and calling people sad bastards is anything but helpful - no one is dizzying autism here but the forum is AH so some light hearted comments are to be expected.

Whether spectrum is still there or not doesn’t matter , I do believe there are many adults out there who have mild versions of autism or other related conditions undiagnosed. Some careers have disproportionately high levels of people with autism - mainly roles and careers that limit dealing with people or focus on very black/white things like data/figures etc - I believe people with such conditions naturally gravitate towards roles that maximise their strengths ( maybe numerical computation) and minimise their challenges- social engagement for example .

Whether people are “struggling” or not in adulthood with undiagnosed conditions I guess depends on person to person

Reminder to attack the posts not the poster(s).

I'm not talking about remembering the event or incident, I'm talking about always knowing the year/month.

That's what I mean too. People can often remember the exact time that something happened. Even trivial stuff. For some reason an event, some of which will be of no importance whatsoever, will get seared into our memories. It happens to everyone and there's nothing autistic about it. It's perfectly normal.

As to clutter and the rest, we're pretty hardwired to clean our shite up. Humans tend to respond better to uniformity rather than chaos. Plus, with upbringing that basic necessity becomes more or less important depending on the person. In fact I'd say being untidy and living in a mess is less normal.

As for attention to detail, that's probably you just being a bit pedantic. It's no proof of autism though. Everyone can get that way.

Exactly.

We need to get away from this silly idea that we're all a little bit autistic. We're not. To be autistic you have to have the condition and the vast majority of people don't have it. Odd idiosyncrasies that a person exhibits or tends toward doesn't qualify as autism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,650 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

In answer to the question in the title - no.

I did have to laugh yesterday though when one of the lads came into my office for a chat and was wearing what looked like a pretty snazzy looking lanyard (I can just about make out colours, couldn’t make out the text),

”What’s with the snazzy lanyard?” I asked him,

”Oh, this? It’s for autism awareness”

”I didn’t know you were autistic? Explains a few things”

”I’m not!” he responded quickly, before he copped the rest of what I’d said. He stared me out of it and would still have been staring at me if I hadn’t asked him “are you sure?”

Turned on his heel and stormed out.

what a hilarious anecdote, well done you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

There are some typical autistic traits that I have which have made me suspect it but they are also things that overlap with anxiety, which I do have.

They are also not permanent traits, e.g. if I'm not having a rough time with anxiety, they fade into the background. They only come on when I'm in a more 'active' state of anxiety.

There was a good show on Netflix called Love on the Spectrum which haf a good look at autistic people managing romantic relationships. I'm sure they chose more extreme cases of people with autism but it gave a very good idea of how people with autism approach life.

Being a bit shy or introverted isn't autistic. Watching that show, I actually found a lot of them don't have trouble approaching people and starting conversations, its more building two-way interactions that seemed to be a problem for them.

that's part of what my own autism manifests as - now I'm married and have friends, but I haven't made a new friend since I got married I'd say. I find it incredibly difficult to know when it's appropriate to join in a conversation, and when I'm in a group setting with people chatting around me I invariably just stay quiet unless and until someone addressed me directly - the rest of the time I'm following the conversation in my head, even thinking of responses or things to say in relation to the topic, but I can't pick up on the social cues of when it's my "turn" to speak. I hate talking over people, it's very rude, but it appears to me that that's all people do in a group conversation setting. I never know where the natural gaps are for me to get involved.

If that makes any sense.

So...people then assume I'm a quiet, shy person, or worse some aloof dickhead who doesn't want to interact with them. Which I'm not.