If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

Every morning / evening a crash on the M50

• 17-01-2023 5:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13,313 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Are people just really crap now at driving? I don't recall a crash EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. when I used to go down the M50 regularly several years ago.

I was supposed to head down the M50 now and thought to myself "there can't surely be another one", and yep delays of 25 mins.

The road is just too busy, surprised there's not more crashes.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Nothing much you can do about it except practice defensive driving and try to make sure it's not your story one day.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,313 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Indeed.. drove around in Sicily... absolute insanity. Thought middle east or India were bad, but nope it's Italy.

Yeah probably higher population driving on the roads, but are driving tests becoming easier?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,379 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Southern Italy is bad and deserves the reputation. But against the north, they're chalk and cheese. Have driven between Parma, Milan and Turin a few times and there's a fair amount of cop on that you wouldn't see in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭TheWonderLlama

Try La périphérique around Paris some time. its like Mad Max on angry setting. Four lanes, no hard shoulder, loony driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Mike3549

25min delay on M50 is not that bad. Sadly when theres a crash, 25min drive on M50 becomes 1h 30min.

Once I spend 30mins to get from rathcoole to M50, its usually 5mins. And there were no crashes on N7 or M50. Just too many cars

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭dickdasr1234

I loved driving in Italy. They take driving seriously, not like the bozos here who hog the outside lane at 80kph and dab the brakes occasionally for no discernible reason. Phone use on the M50 is insane. Southbound has a few design flaws that doubtless lead to awkward situations. This morning there was a 'breakdown' just past the Finglas slip road- it was a small van which pulled up on the verge, taking two feet of the hard shoulder out of play yet resulting in an abundance of caution.

Monday or yesterday, rubberneckers caused a half-mile tailback Northbound. Is this a peculiarly Irish phenomenon?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,880 ✭✭✭✭recode the site

I avoid the M50 like the plague. When I was about to undergo surgery my anaesthetist got a phone call from his son telling him he had been rear ended in M50, and suffered a fractured neck, thankfully saved by a brace and not paralysed. A cousin of mine was crashed into by a driver who admitted using his phone, her sturdy SUV destroyed. Thankfully no injuries.

NKsockpuppets.com - serving exiled talent

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 47,433 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i am convinced 'rubbernecking' is an inevitable consequence of a minor disruption on a road which is at or near capacity. you drive slowly past a crash not necessarily because you're rubbernecking, but because the driver in front is driving slowly. and why are they driving slowly? because the driver in front of them is also. overloaded roads are sensitive to minor shocks. just takes one person hitting the brakes too hard to set up an accordion effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭Markcheese

It's at or over capacity - everyone is in a rush ,and everyone does stuff they know is stupid justified by they're in a rush /stressed out / loads of people do it /

And the odds of getting caught are slim .. obviously gardai can only travel in the same traffic that's slowing everyone else down ..

Weaving , wrong lane and cutting in , on the phone , aggresive driving ,fast lane princesses, and middle lane madonas, driving like a selfish Dick , they all increase the risk of a crash and decrease the speeds traveled

Even the 100 kph limit , you'd get more cars through the m50 at 80 kph than at 100 kph ,( the more accelerate/ brake driving 1 car does,the slower everyone else has to travel )

I'd love to see " Dickhead cameras " along the M50 , cameras on gantries and bridges , with a manned control room ,and either soft ware looking for bad driving ( and incidents needing help ) , or just watching , and then either a warning / fine In the post - or if really serious incident ,the gardai meet you on the road ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

I'm working from home at the moment so I don't drive daily to work per se, so it's possible things have gotten worse over past few years, but I notice on the radio each morning, practically like clockwork, there's a "crash / breakdown on the M50" (or M1)

And the one or two times I do need to use the M50 I now have to check in advance "in case" there's a delay .. I don't recall having to do that before, even 3-4 years ago.

4 out of 5 times I've done this, there's been some sort of delay

https://twitter.com/M50Dublin/with_replies

Pretty astonishing.. do a search for "collision" or "breakdown"

Almost one every day

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 47,433 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

"There are up to 400,000 trips on the M50 every day, it says, 40 per cent of which are during peak hours."

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/m50-to-become-a-managed-motorway-in-major-changes-in-response-to-traffic-volumes-1.4676155

with that many trips being made on it, maths simply catches up with you. say there's one crash or breakdown a day, out of that 400k trips.

if i made 400,000 trips in my car, let's say two a day, that's the equivalent of me crashing or breaking down once every 500 years.

and again .. jesus

• Registered Users Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Actual gardai in cars are really expensive, especially in rush hour traffic , the Garda in the car is stuck in the same heavy traffic as everyone else .. so gets to observe the same 10 or 15 cars while on the motorway ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 20,007 ✭✭✭✭neris

You musnt have come across the Italian truck drivers trying to over take another truck on the motorway while both of them are at 90km

Left the house earlier, but checked Google maps first to confirm the m50 was ok. I'm the ten minutes it took me to get there, there was a bad smash where it crossed the n2...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,022 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Pandemic/lockdowns over so it's an inevitable consequence of people returning to the roads...

Usual reasons apply; too much/little speed, poor road awareness, incompetent drivers, aggressive driving seems to have returned in spades....

Could be driving along at the speed limit on single carriageway/residential/motorway roads and it always seems to be some van driver or a lad in a clapped out 10+ year old Audi A4/BMW 320 diesel or VW Passat/cc driving these cars like they're Ferrari's with blue lights on the roof....

so.. I mean I'm not exaggerating... it's literally a crash (or two) every day

https://twitter.com/M50Dublin/status/1616140735153115139?cxt=HHwWhsC4nfPb1-0sAAAA

Could make some sort of drinking game out of it (though that's probably the cause of the crashes in the first place)

As mentioned, there are approx 400k journeys made every day, on an overloaded road. It's simply inevitable.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,238 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Closer to 500,000 individual daily trips now.

But thats irrelevant. As long as motorway driving protocol remains notably off of the driving test, this will continue.

Lane discipline on the M50 is deplorable. So are speed, distance, vehicle lighting and Christ knows what else.

Someone mentioned Italy. If you're moving slowly or poorly in Lane 2 or 3 on an Italian Autostrada, a Lamborghini will arrive pretty quickly and blast you off the road. There's a lot to be said for it and its a strategy I adopt in Ireland too. Piss poor driving must be told.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,048 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

The problem with the M50 is that as soon as it gets congested - as it does -inevitably people take out their phones. They're not paying attention, someone gets rear-ended and then that whole section grinds to a halt while they get out, argue, change insurance details etc. Add the rubber necking effect to the equation and you can see how it seizes up entirely very quickly. There are actually very few accidents on it when it's moving as it should.

Has this always been the case? Don't recall a crash EVERY DAY a few years ago?

Note.. another crash this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭accensi0n

I'm on the M50 right now and it's packed.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,008 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Agreed. We need to do something about people's knowledge of driving on 3 lane motorways. So many people think that the left lane is a 'slow lane' and instead they plonk themselves in the middle lane. On a quiet sunday morning with no traffic you will find lots of drivers plodding along in the middle lane while the left lane is empty.

I ride the M50 frequently on a motorbike and you really do need your wits on super alert. People switching lanes without indicating. People switching lanes without gauging the speed of drivers in that lane and causing an accordion effect as vehicles need to break to accommodate them. People nearly missing their exit lanes and swerving across 2 lanes to get to their exit. And people entering a 120 kph motorway at 50kph and slowly getting up to speed causing havoc to those behind them.

Saw a lad on a wee moped on the M50 this wednesday night. He could have been doing no more than 50kph on a cold icy night. Those smaller bikes are not allowed on motorways but no one stopping him.

Enforcement of motorway rules and education of the masses is needed!

And another... ok I'm beginning to see a pattern here. Feckin Blanch drivers...