Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best way dealing with neighbour throwing stuff in your garden

• 18-12-2022 11:01PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭

A bit of a funny one here, new neighbour randomly throwing stuff over my garden wall. I know they are doing it, why I don't know... Bits of wood, bits of plastic, fecking it over and landing in the middle of my garden... Small little bits n bobs. Once week or so it seems to happen. It's private house, not social housing tenants. Wouldn't you think a new neighbour who only moved in 3 months ago with probably a 25 year mortgage would want to create good neighbourly relations around him. Not sure how to approach this, this guy is obviously a bit of a dikhead. He will probably deny it but what should I say to him when I confront him to make him think twice. I don't want to end up have a feud with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Save it all up and in a few years dump it all back in one go.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Throw it back or pass it on to another neighbour. Carry on with your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,338 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I would definitely just throw it back once I was sure of the origin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭mondeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭blackbox

If you really want to know why, maybe you could ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,338 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Then just throw it back. It should stop arriving after a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Ginger83

The neighbour on the other side wouldn't be able to throw it where it lands, they wouldn't do it anyways. It's the new neighbour no doubt. My garden is very exposed to them to at the side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,305 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Much smaller scale, but I had new neighbours recently tossing cigarette butts over onto my patio - I just fecked them back into theirs.

I was working up to putting some into an envelope and posting them into their letterbox, or if I ever met them handing them back saying "I think you might be missing these, you're welcome", but they've either copped on or moved out (I suspect it was a short term rental)

OP, are these the same people who threw the tree cuttings back into your garden?

If so, all joking aside, you might need to actually try to make contact and establish boundaries - this sounds like something that could grow legs and get way out of perspective/control, needlessly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,640 ✭✭✭Xander10

Have a dump outside his front door. He will get the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Tinter Box

Had a similar issue myself a year ago. It turned out it was neighbours very young kid who liked to throw things over the wall (legos etc). I just collected them up in a bag and brought them over. Didn’t make a fuss and it all got sorted amicably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Strange way of carrying on for a new neighbour, have you chatted to him at all? From his actions it sounds as if he doesn't like you. You could hide a camera in one of one of the upstairs back windows, and record him throwing the crap in your garden, then show him the video evidence.

Ye same neighbour, although he was doing this shortly before the tree incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Just throw it back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Is it possible there may be a mental health issue?

Have you spoken to the man?

No haven't spoken to him, was hoping to avoid him if possible. He seems to be a working man and married. Really hate having to deal with a neighbor doing something so deliberate. Old neighbour who lived there before him was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Deregos.

I totally get how you dont want to make the situation any worse. Maybe yourself and your partner call to their door with a bottle of wine and welcome them to the neighbourhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,426 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Take a shyt in a paper bag, place it on his front step and set it alight, then ring the doorbell and walk away.

If you start messing with him, he'll soon get the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

That's a good idea.

Maybe a Christmas card, it's a good time of year to break the ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I started a thread here on this issue:

There appears to be nothing - legal- that you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,011 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

are you actually serious? he is dumping stuff in the ops garden.

Tell him you will report him for dumping if he dares do it again, and have cctv evidence.

Right, taking another posters opinion there I have setup a wee camera on the bedroom window sill aimed out into the garden. It is comfortably covering the whole garden so it will clearly show him if he does it again. I hate having to end up resorting to a camera like this but I'm really ticked off by him messing around and not giving two fcuks about my property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

Let us know how it goes! I'd love to catch some pr**k in the act doing something like this and then present it back to them having no leg to stand on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Hooked

A good idea... Next time it happens - confront him.

When he denies it - show him the camera image BUT don't pass it to him.Tell him that the next time it happens - he will be hearing from someone other than yourself.

Should put an end to his antics. If he can hold down a relationship and a job he shouldn't be throwing rubbish over your wall. He's a grown man FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭purple hands

Be careful not to go down the rabbithole/get hooked on the camera. You'd be surprised how much those things can consume your thoughts (speaking from experience after setting one up due to neighbour issues as well). If you can't sort it out directly with the neighbour, start making a log of the issues and go speak with your community Garda for advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,640 ✭✭✭Xander10

You say bits of wood and stuff.

Is there any chance he thinks he is throwing back bits that have blown over from your garden, trees etc ?

A piece of wooden bored was one thing and two rocks were another thing. You wouldn't find these up trees and blowing around the place easily. Someone dumped them in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I had this happen recently enough, the scumbag threw a load of fag butts in a laneway which is part of my property. In my anger, I threw them all back over and roared at him that if it happens again, he'll be f*cking eating them. He must have been home at the time because it never happened again. Your anger is a gift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,871 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not sure of the legality of filming any neighbour's back garden...

Edit: I posted this in your other thread:

I would collect the rubbish and leave it on their doorstep.

Not your ornery onager

I don't want to film at all but to put an end to it I want proof of what they are doing. Once I have that the camera is off.