Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BYD Seal

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Tesla are not a premium car. They are a mass produced Chinese family saloon car, similar to MG, BYD, Toyota, Kia, Hyundai etc

Design preference is personal. The minimalist interior really appeals to me, as it always did as my i3 was very minimalist before Tesla was a thing so no, Tesla has certainly not skewed my personal tastes.

Driving characteristics are personal. If you don’t like regen, buy a different car. I don’t understand people’s spiteful bitterness that other people like other options. Get over it. It would be nice to have the choice though.

It’s the same way people like buttons and rotating screens. Gimmicks and in no way makes a car premium despite what the brochure says. The screen in my cousins atto has been rotated once. The day he collected it and it’s sat in the current landscape position since then. Silly yoke of thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭sk8board

• Registered Users Posts: 9,934 ✭✭✭dodzy

It’s there, just not as effective as that of the Tesla. Hence my question. OTA could possibly add a third setting. STANDARD & HIGH are currently selectable. So I cannot see ‘the stripped out for cost’ logic. And as previously mentioned, it’s not for everybody of course, but it is not a ‘disabling’ of the age old brake pedal. Simply an addition to.

another question for owners. SCREEN BRIGHTNESS. Both screens. I find it a little dim personally, even on full brightness, when in bright non cloud conditions. Thoughts?

And what is this silver button for?!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,332 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Maybe to remove the cupholder for cleaning? Can't see anything else nearby that it could affect.

It will automatically send a tweet at Musk with a picture of the car and the hashtag #NotATesla

• Registered Users Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭RainInSummer

The cup holder with the arrow on it sinks lower to allow the use of bigger bottles. The button raises it again.

I set the brightness of both screens to 60 and have never needed to brighten them, only dim them.

Everything from night to full sun.

well F*** me🤣. I’d 100% never have found its function. Any insights RIS on my screen brightness query? Just plugged her in a few mins ago to test the home charger for the first time. The small screen turns on to show charging activity and it’s FAR brighter- a level I would have expected from full brightness when not charging🤔

None I'm afraid. You got the lights on full time and causing the screen to dim?

There's three modes on the pull down menu, auto, light and dark afair.

Mines on auto.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭AUDI20

Also check your lights are set to Auto, changing to other settings on the light results in the screen going darker. also was checking the brochure and that says that the V2L Cable comes with both AWD and RWD?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,443 ✭✭✭eagerv

The missus uses dark mode all the time on her Ioniq 5, she says easier to read in bright sun light.

I use dark model permanent too in my EV and the phone, for that matter.

Same here Dark mode all the time

Light mode on phones, IDE, terminals, laptops and cars.

I'll be in the dark long enough when I'm dead.

Back on topic. The inner child in me picked up some puddle light replacements. Can't get the existing feckers out though. They're buried in there.

Also got the karaoke mic. That update better drop soon so I can add a new danger to the road. Aural trauma.

cheers lads. One of you guys posted about the under console rubber insert? Where did ye get it?

And the integrated Dashcam…link please?

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭Oonagh123

I ordered this camera:

https://a.aliexpress.com/_EuIa497

shop till you drop….

BYD SEAL Champion Version 2023 2024 Gearbox Panel Navigation Screen Automotive Interior Protective Film Anti-Scratch Sticker --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DBVSEIH
    Key Case Cover for BYD Song Plus Atto 3 Han Tang DM Qin Seal Dolphin Leather Metal Remote --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DDlGcff
    Car Armrest Box Protective Cover For BYD Seal Central Control Armrest -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DeZAIN3

BYD SEAL 2023 2024 Sunshades UV Protection Curtain Sun Shade Visor Front Windshield Protector -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_Ddfxqql

Floor Mats For BYD Seal EV 2023 2024 Trunk Mat Waterproof Non-slip Foot Pad Fully Surrounded Left-hand Drive --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DBubA9F
    BYD Seal 2022 2023 2024 Under Seat Air Conditioner Outlet Vent Cover Anti-Clogging Protection Ventilation -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DczL3uz

Car Glasses Case for BYD Seal Glasses Case High-quality ABS / Suede Ceiling Sunglasses Storage Box Interior --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DmIg4lL
    Leather Car Front Storage Box Pad EV DMi 2023 2024 Trunk Mat Waterproof Bottom Protector Pad Car Interior Decor -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DEV6zUd

BYD Seal 2022- 2024 Car Dashboard Cover Mat Custom Carpet Dashmat Anti-Slip Liner Sunshade Rug Pad --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DlnwLDr
    Hand Sewing Non-Slip Suede Genuine Leather Braid Car Steering Wheel Cover For BYD Seal YUAN Plus 2018-2023 -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DddHvfb

Suede Leather Car Remote Key Case Cover Shell Fob For BYD Song Plus Atto 3 Han EV Tang DM Qin Seal --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DDFz0hF
    Car exterior decoration accessories, reverse camera protective cover, anti pollution, rain and rain -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DeEscwH

2022 Accessories 2 Pcs Car Headlight Protective Film Headlamp Restoration Transparent Black TPU Sticke --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_Dk4O1NJ
    BYD Seal EV car charging port protective cover silicone ring charging cover seal ring charging port protect -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DeQeE -- ot

Paint pen suitable for BYD Seal U ATTO 4 Paint Repair Pen Ice Sea Blue Sky Black Seal Modification --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_Dl2HpKZ
    Metal Carbon Fiber Pattern Car Remote Key Case Cover Shell Holder For BYD ATTO3 Tang Seal -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_Dk9Qitx

BYD Seal Atto 4 EV 2023-2024 Car Rear Trunk Cargo Mat Sheet Carpet Mud Protector Waterproof --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DkY0wW5
    anti snow, anti freezing, anti dust, anti peeling paint, and anti rainwater.car cover protection -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DltqPKZ

Car Sunshades UV Protection Cover Side Window Curtain Sun Shade Visor Windshield Mat --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DBAVEqN
    Car Seat Gap Storage Box For BYD Atto 3 Seal --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DDIJ9DX
    BYD Seal 2022 2023 Trunk Cargo Mat for BYD Seal Right Hand Drive -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DCH7Fet

ABS Carbon Fiber Car Door Anti Kick Sticker Car Door Edge Protective Cover Car Styling --

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DlQLHo5
    Middle grille body fender fuel tank cover wheel hub sticker For BYD Seal -- https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_Dm5pgBr

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_Dm5pgBr

Sorry for the text dump!

Post edited by Gumbo on

• Registered Users Posts: 33,790 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Fk me did you buy half the store..

€90 for the Dashcam? I thought it was nearer €50 or am i losing it?

No there's a cable or dashcam. Dash was always nearer 100.

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Mad_Lad

Not if you can't turn it off, I hated it in the BMW i3, no levels just all or nothing. With one pedal driving you foot is always on the throttle, that's irritating to me, i found it fatiguing on the foot, however I do use it in the ID3 for town, that's about all.

In any modern automatic or manual car your foot is always on the accelerator unless you're in cruise control. Which is exactly the same for EVs. One pedal driving or not.

I have the very same problem, have the puddle lights but can't get the standard ones out, they are only clipped in so shouldn't be a major problem will try again this week. While I am on how many filled out the questainaire received on the App.

I have a trim removal kit and it wouldn't even begin to budge. So I used a small screwdriver with fabric to protect the surrounding trim. No dice

Then I tried two screwdrivers. Still no dice. I have a feeling something is going to crack. I might be tempted but my feeling is to leave well alone at this stage.

No sign of a survey in the app here.