Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,696 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Drink should be allowed be sold at any time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,113 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Box ticking exercise for the corporate world, have the rainbow lanyards come in yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,744 ✭✭✭Cordell

Not as much as in the past year, everything pride related is quite toned down this year. Some would say it's the fatigue, some others will say that the world is healing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭New Scottman

I find the attitude to Corporate Pride strange.

For years, some angry left wing people have been complaining about corporates being involved. They don't seem to realise that some LGBT people who work for corporates actually appreciate the fact that their employer recognises diversity and many of these are proud to march on that basis.

One of them said to me recently:

"It's nice that my employer recognises me for who I am. It's sad that some people I thought were allies don't want me involved in Pride because of who I work for."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,410 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Non nationals who aren't working should have no entitlement to social housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

"It's nice that my employer recognises me for who I am."

What does that mean actually? Sounds like someone very self-involved.

We all know companies get involved to sell more of whatever they're selling.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

Of course the next step will be putting pictures of crash victims on cars along with the banner 'Driving Kills'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,113 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

If it didn't make them money, they wouldn't do it. See how they don't do the rainbow thing in "certain countries?" They're dropping it like a hot spud in the States because they got f all backbone.

Your employer is not your friend.

Post edited by whisky_galore on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭New Scottman

I don't doubt the companies' ultimate motive - to make money - and anything that helps that is going to be encouraged.

There was a time when LGBT people were afraid to come out in the workplace. So, from their perspective their employer actively taking part in Pride is a sign of progress / further acceptance. I think that's what their comment means.

What's your take on the nay-sayers view that "we accept you - but only if your employer is not an evil corporate." ?

Not very inclusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,948 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

What's your take on the nay-sayers view that "we accept you - but only if your employer is not an evil corporate." ?

It’s not difficult to understand where they’re coming from though - the original idea of Pride has, in recent years, been overshadowed by a desire to make what was previously a parade into a festival into a series of events into a month long effort. The organisers sought to make each year bigger than the previous one, and they became reliant on corporate sponsorship to do it.

There’s nothing preventing employers from recognising diversity, there never was, there’s nothing preventing employees who are proud of their employer from promoting their employer. It’s using Pride to promote their employer is where people might understandably have an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭purifol0

This is not really true anymore, the sad reality is that publicly owned companies are majority owned by Blackrock, Statestreet and Vanguard. They have agendas that they can push via all the companies they control. Which is why every single big company "went woke" despite it not making a lick of financial sense.

I don't understand why anyone would feel the need to 'come out' at work. I think you mean that they used to be afraid of being 'found out' for want of a better phrase. And yes, it's a great thing that they don't have to fear that anymore.

Regarding your question, to be honest, I'm not interested in the internal politics of the gay community, as it's none of my business.

Foreign individuals should not be allowed to buy land in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭randd1

I think the high point in road deaths was the 1970's, over 500 a year every year for 14 years straight, 3 of them 600+, with 1972 the deadliest year with 640 deaths.

It's been less than 200 every years since 2011, and less than 160 in five of those years. That's the lowest since the 1940's when horses and carts were still very much a staple of movement in rural Ireland and what vehicles there was maxed out at 40m/ph in most cases, and were a tiny fraction of what we have now.

Take into account there must be 10 times the vehicle on the roads today since the start of the 1970's as well, it's a significant drop off in road deaths from their height. With multiples more vehicles we've gone from nearly two deaths a day to nearly one every two days.

And I think it's a fair comment to say that for all the flack they get, and some of it deserved, that various of governments of various hues have over the past 40 years, have brought in various measures, plans, awareness campaigns and improvements, whether we agree with them or not, that have helped reduce road deaths considerably.

It's the one aspect in successive governments that has been consistently proactive in trying to reduce carnage, and I actually don't think they get enough credit for the changes in safety they've brought over the years. Not perfect by any means, and some things could have been done quicker, but credit where credit is due.

Credit also to the Irish public, I think in general we've developed a bit of cop on that obviously wasn't there in decades past.

Agree about the media, it seems they spend their time constantly promoting the idea that thousands are dying in road deaths every year, it's pure tragedy porn with them. A bit of perspective from them once in a while wouldn't go astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭purifol0

You know it wouldn't be so bad if it were individuals. We have literally no idea and no right to know who is buying up the entire country from under our feet and renting it back to us.

Joe Rogan interviewed Ian Carroll - an absolute nobody who rose to fame simply for trying to figure out who owns everything via checking public records for shareholders and got himself blacklisted from just about everything because of it.

In short: It's investment companies owned by shell companies all the way down, the actual real people ("retail" investors) are a tiny minority of stockholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭randd1

I don't mind the flags, they brighten the place up a fair bit. It looks grand this time of the year as well, sunshine, trees and flowers in full bloom, towns full, and kids enjoying the summer, the splash of colour adds to the festive feel of the summer in my view. And any parades there are, are few and far between and just look more to be a bit of a laugh and more of a party than anything, and I've never heard of any problems at a Pride parade. In essence, it's completely harmless fun.

Where it annoys me slightly is TV and radio constantly going on about it. Not every programme schedule has to be LGBT based. Not every film shown has to be LGBT based either. Not every ad on the radio has to end with "proud to supporting pride month".

99.9% of the time it wouldn't bother you, or affect you in the least at all, as I said it's mostly completely harmless fun, but there's only so much of it being thrown in your face any time you go to do something before you go "not this again" and roll your eyes. A sort of indifference through excess.

There's nothing wrong with the rainbow symbolism or supporting gay causes or having a bit of a laugh and a parade or whatever, it's harmless, but sometimes you just want to switch off from the world for a few minutes or for an hour or two in the evening without seeing or hearing virtually the same thing for the hundredth time that week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 38,134 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

some others will say that the world is healing.

Yes, bigoted wánkers who really need to get the fúck over themselves.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

I think we got the meaning of tolerance and bigotry wrong: tolerance means accepting the other side while completely disagreeing with them, bigotry is calling them names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭aero2k

I'm anti drink driving but that was a lazy attempt to be seen to be doing something. I don't have a source, but I recall reading that most alcohol related crashes involved levels well above 80mg. It's a bit like a fatal accident with a car doing 120km/hr in an 80 zone, and people calling for a speed limit reduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭aero2k

After cancer and heart disease, prescription drugs are the third biggest killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Bob Vylan has been going for years but I have only heard clips of his music lately because of his IDF chant.

He is just a RATM clone minus the talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,379 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Some of the multinationals have toned down this year

It's two of them but yes, just as them fake socialist multimillionaires it's very easy to say what they've said from the safety and comfort of capitalist western world.

And I suppose being tone deaf is a prerequisite of attending their concerts, but to be as tone deaf as to wave the same flags waved by those who killed innocent concertgoers like themselves is something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,482 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

There has been no war/conflict/disagreement ended in the history of mankind by musicians taking to the stage to 'speak out'.

Do you really think Putin/Netanyahu sit up and take notice when some obscure artist starts preaching on stage and think 'you know what? That guy is right'.

Sure the crowd are only there because its Glastonbury and a huge event, not specifically as some form of music protest.

All virtue signalling nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,171 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

People organising has changed things like showing their own government a portion of the electorate is really opposed to something they're doing.

It doesn't have to be a simple binary or a light bulb moment for Netanyahu. The Glastonbury displays were aimed at the UK government, not Netanyahu. I can't believe you misunderstood that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

That is what Glastonbury is all about now. The singer from The 1975 actually apologised to the crowd because he wouldn't be talking about politics during their set. 🤯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,379 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Did vylan bomb an Internet cafe or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,850 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

I thought Kneecap single handedly brought attention to the little known Israeli Palestine conflict and freed Palestine, all on the back of bringing a small non-profit called Hamas into the limelight. Say it aint so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭GavPJ

I like the look of the Hyundai Ioniq 6.