Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Better word for the stable hitch -No more "My Partner"

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭dohouch

"Stablemate "

Ah! We're getting close here.

So " my cohjockey" I do hope we're sharing the saddle, whip and the early morning "roide-outs" and all the sweaty work is not left up to just the one jockey

🧐IMHO, God wants us all to ENJOY many,many ice-creams , 🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦🍦

" manwo" gender unspecified. So " my manwo" =intimate (sic) "partner" of unspecified gender. Any non male identifying taking part in this philological ramble?

Real males tell what this end of digger arm gadget does.

IMG_20220921_191933.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,805 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I literally do not know a single person who uses the term ‘partner’ to refer to the person who they are in a romantic relationship with. I have always thought that sounds absolutely ridiculous. Especially when words, established, descriptive and completely non offensive words have been uttered and utilised for donkeys years… Anyone I know, they either refer to the person by name or… “ my girlfriend/boyfriend “, “ husband/wife “….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Is it some sort of vasectomy device for REAL men. I presume the tip is sterilised before each use.

As for partner, nah, its wife and hubby in our geriatric group. Although I have heard other words used occasionally. I think the issue is easily resolved, just get married, and suffer like the rest of us 🤣

Just now entering the border into Poland only wives and girlfriends are allowed in this proper Roman Catholic manst country not partners much to clinical.

After the Russians have left, 'n things have quietened, we or I will Pole here for popular choice replacement for (sic) partner word abomination. 3 in the running so far.

1 Stablemate

2 Co-jockey

3 Manwo

Still open for further runners & riders in this over the fences gallop🍆🍆🍆

Riders. Simply say “My rider and I are going out for the day/to a restaurant/on holiday….”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

"Manwo" already in use. Checked "Urban Dictionary" , so no longer a runner😭

@gameoverdude My 🍆 cooking never gets a good result.

Misqueeze OR Mesqueeze. I prefer the second spelling.

After 9 months of intellectual subconscious soaking, can't do any better.

If you're not squeezing him/her then use the commercial term "partner"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Daisy78

What

What if you are not married and over a certain age, i.e. over forty? Boyfriend would sound ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,936 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Other half, himself/ herself ....

the one I love is my preferred , but is TOIL for short , which reminds me of work so ruins the romance somewhat ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Yeah I say partner as she's 39 and I'm 42, girlfriend just sounds ridiculous. In Australia/NZ partner is very common you hear it more than gf/bf.

Exactly 🤣🤣kills the romance a bit of The One I Love 😂

Well spotted AITMDOF!

But I suppose Time Off In Lieu could be a romantic opportunity? 😁

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Mot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

have we had main squeeze?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Patient Zero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

My other half, : if this was posted in relationship issues.

My ball & chain , since this is AH.

I want it gender neutral, no wish to raise hackles, but as an alternate to "Partner" which to me is a bit commercial, and lacks any soul.

Surely the language has more to offer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

Portner, the minister for finance or the future ex wife. In Sweden amusingly enough, the word for a person you cohabit with in a romantic and/or sexual sense is Sambo. I'm not sure if it's sausage sambo if you're gay, but I'll ask someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

The scabbard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭dontmindme

the one I love is my preferred , but is TOIL for short 

ruins the romance anyway, it sounds like it's "the only one I love"

That would be true but then it would be TOOIL !

Not good either , lol 😊