If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

Better word for the stable hitch -No more "My Partner"

• 13-09-2022 12:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭dohouch

Partner is altogether entirely grand for firms of solicitors & and similar shysters but I find it a very poor fit when we are talking about emotionally involved intimate relationships.

I've had this itch, for finding a less emotionally cold word to replace "My Partner"

Let's go. 🤔 A new word brings a new world.!

Me squeeze, me heat, me heat-him,

me heat-her, . Me hug-her/-him.

Not great, but am all ears👂🦻🍆

We're not suffering, only complaining 😞

• My better half /thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,633 ✭✭✭dotsman

The ball & chain

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

The ol'e doll

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

The old ball and chain

My old lady

The old batalax

• Registered Users Posts: 22,102 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The conscience?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭dohouch

Seriously though. If not PC than at least neutral.. We are out to alter the social mind of the world's most widely spoken language. Me 'ol doll just won't cut it in Boston and LA.

Will have to try harder 🧐

The 'ol Germans at least add the the word Leben's=life to the term , but in English adding ' life" to "partner" would have you reaching for the manual.

Turn on the 'ol brain's afterburners!

• Bit more complex here given there is three of us. Vast majority of the time I simply use their actual first names. But in most conversations where a word was required "partner" and "partners" has always sufficed. When I am a bit more tongue in cheek and philosophising I would call them my fellow travelers. Mainly based on my life motto about the meaning of live being that "The Journey is the Destination". Occasionally based on Dr. Seuss I would call them "Thing 1 and Thing 2" because of "The Cat in the Hat".

Would have once considered moving from "better half" to "better thirds" but with a mild Irish accent it sounded too often like I was calling them turds. So that was abandoned fairly quickly. If I went with "ball and chain" I would have to work out which one was the ball and which the chain.

They would both refer to me in conversation as "himself" and each other as "herself". Is that more an Irish thing than used in UK or US? Not sure.

Other than that - nothing useful occurs to me.

Whatsup here, feeling a bit dumb(founded)?🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭Furze99

Me Mot or De Boss.. seriously partner is a fine term as it implies you're in it together for mutual benefit for some period of time.

Picking someone up on Tinder or in Coppers for a one nighter is not a partner.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,053 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

If I remember correctly, the guy with Fr Ted, in the picture, is the organiser of the song “contest” and refers to the show’s host, played by Jon Kenny, as his partner. Ted assumes he means business partners but it’s clarified he means life partner.

Awkwardness ensues.

The tide is turning…

• TBH "boyfriend" sounds a bit fukcin' stupid when you're 45. Grand if you're a teenager I suppose, at the end of the day it's only a word anyway, but I see nothing wrong with "partner" if referring to adults.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Lol, do you mean Battle Axe? As in 'face like a...'

I think side-piece works well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

• Registered Users Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

"Ah hi, this is my [dun dun dun] wife"

I know, it's completely unheard of. No one could ever have thought it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

Wife / husband is fine

How about " Devileen" can be either sex. Has Irish sound, and the ending makes is diminutive or affectionate .

Would be happy for other philological contributions to continue developing the thesis. A friendlier word than "PARTNER" is of the utmost urgency, before the Russians come up with one☄️

• Registered Users Posts: 24,057 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The quare wan, or the quare fella…

On a serious note there is really nothing wrong with boyfriend or girlfriend. Partner is a bit formal sounding I always thought.

@Strumms Partner is a bit formal sounding I always thought."

I think "Partner " lacks emotion and reflects a more capitalist approach to the most important human relationship. If the intimate relationship does not meet its primary

" Raison d'être" then then start a limited company or, dare I say it " a partnership"

😭

• Registered Users Posts: 9,809 ✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

She who must be obeyed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 58,925 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Mo stòr is an Irish one I like a lot. Doubt it would take much to bring it to more daily usage.

• Registered Users Posts: 42,782 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Her indoors

So the women & gays say "his indoors". Something new 🤥

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 89,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

SWMBO

Need the pronunciation, or are we being mysterious? "Noun. SWMBO (plural SWMBOs) (humorous) Initialism of she who must be obeyed: one's wife or female partner.. In

Do you want to c the yellow card?

Only gender neutral pronouns on Boards. .ie!

Must be them, those, d'other, or dudder . I do suffer a poverty of gender neutral pronouns in my vocabulary 🍆