Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2023 **No Ticket Sales / Requests ** - It'll be grand

• Registered Users Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭Fanirish

It’s the initial announcement it’s going to be heavy pop hitters. I’m sure there may be a handful of interesting acts buried in there by time september comes around

Yeah they have to keep chasing the 20-30 year old age group in huge numbers hence solid bookings of Billie and Lewis.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭endainoz

It's pretty much following the same vein as 2022, it's no surprise the way it's gone. There's is an astounding amount of tickets available for so many different acts for 2023. The question is though; is there enough of a market out there for all of them?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,691 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

That seems to be the case for a while now. Lewis is popular but plays here fairly regularly.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,508 ✭✭✭Penfailed

IDLES and Amyl are the only ones I'd have any interest in.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

Whatever about Lewis would have thought Billie would attract a younger audience. Niall Horan too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭rubick

Yeah, and hopefully bodes well for other acts of that type across the weekend. When it comes to EP I honestly don't expect to be seeing any Main Stage headliners, Tame Impala were a bit of a bonus this year. We'll see what happens, I'll be there this year anyway.

They'd all cater for the same key demographic to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

They're chasing the 6-12 and 18-25 year old age group here.

18-25 year old one is the key for the festival.

Key to ticket sales sure but thought some would skew more towards 18-25. Not a whole lot of difference to be fair, just making an observation.

Forgot that EP doesn’t have over 21’s like ATN etc

• Subscribers Posts: 41,224 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

im not sure the 18-25 age group is the most loose with cash these days, and maybe even less so come sept next year.

Hence why the Christmas announcement/ticket sales. Trying to capture Christmas gift market

I think it's a case of everyone else is doing it so they joined in too. Whos left? Forbidden fruit maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭SachaJ

My 12 year old would be delighted by that line-up. Mid-40's self is not though..... Maybe I'll take her Scratch that, she'll be 13 then so not allowed in.

I guess Jamie XX has a new album out next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭Paddy2012

Meh I think it's an alright lineup, Billie Eilish is probably the best pop act just now and I've been hoping to see idles and Jamie XX for a while. Announcing Nick Cave or The National isn't going to shift as much tickets unfortunately.

Never saw the EP thread so subdued after an announcement, are most people on the acceptance stage by now?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Ah, I'm a bit depressed by the whole thing. My sister's in Glasgow. She read that announcement and told me to accept that it's individual gigs and nostalgia fests from here on in for me. Maybe she's right. Herself and the husband just back from this.....

300 yoyos for the tickets, 3 nights in a lovely chalet, sit down meals, walks on the beach in the morning, stroll in for an afternoon pint in the town, plenty of decent music. Do I want to be battering through the hoardes of Lewis Capaldi fans in the mud to the handful of decent acts spread over the weekend in Stradbally again? Right now, **** no. Early days, of course but my gut reaction is that it's no country for old men anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

There's some alright stuff in that weekender but a large whallop of pure shite too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭fafy

Whats very unusual here, is not, the acts announced, but the fact that the “Final” batch of tickets go onsale in early December, this is normally around March/April. What does this mean ? It means, there are so many acts touring in 2023, literally- everyone, they want to get the tickets sold sooner, rather than later.

Very stiff competition for gigs now, and no Croke Park gigs have even been announced, from a strategic ticket sales viewpoint, a great move

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Mucker46

What's the view of first announcement. Very happy to see Idles and a few others I would go see. And a few definitely not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Ah no matter how much you try and brace yourself it is not a nice feeling being let down by the Electric Picnic lineup - but that is definitely today's feeling. Acts such as Lewis Capaldi, Niall Horan and Billie Eilish come as no real surprise but it's the lack of any real act that interests me so far. Two acts I might go and see are Jamie XX and Fred Again. But it is super odd that Jamie XX is announced here after being announced as an ATN headliner last week, that has never happened in my memory? Then Fred Again.. is he really a headliner? Seems popular at the minute but find it hard to believe he is someone who would headline the main stage of a ~70k capacity festival. Not to mention he only played at it 3 months ago so not the most exciting booking.

It's had to compare to previous years as usually we have about 40 acts announced in the first announcement, hopefully we will get a big announcement as usual around March and it will begin to fill out a bit then but left very uninspired right now. If @Fanirish is correct and Ellie Goulding and Imagine Dragons are the other two headliners they have up their sleeves it is going to mark a true end to the festival it used to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Ok time to investigate.

Steve Lacy is decent.

Fred again is not,

Amyl and the sniffers are fun

Thing is you can't expect huge acts for the tents.

Who's the wolf Alice/st Vincent/pixies/interpol level act that's touring next year? Who's heading the Electric arena?

Thoughts and prayers

• Registered Users Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Remember the halycon days of September 2022 when we were bemoaning a lineup that couldn't be worsened? I guess we set them a challenge.

First time I caught them was on the 100th Window tour at Brixton in 2003. If felt like a band plugging a mediocre album for whom graphics were more important than tunes. Three years later at EP I thought they were phoning it in, it just felt lifeless. 2010 was so torrential that I headed to The New Pornographers (great btw, full of energy and an ideal way to end the weekend). 2018 was my fave of their EP slots, for me they had their mojo back and Young Fathers also seemed to reinvigorate them. All subjective of course, and I'd be happy to see even a sub-par MA every last year of the fest.

Idles are a stunning live band, the best band for me at Glasto this year. Amyl supposedly stunning on stage also and Billie E has a handful of great tunes. But that's very slim pickings. That main stage already looks incredibly foreboding.

Still 70k, no increase for a couple of years according to Benn. Its audience are scattered across age demographics and I believe it to be more of a case of FR creating a festival for a twenty-something demographic rather than the attendees demanding the acts that are presented. Glastonbury manages to accommodate almost all ages and tastes. EP has probably decided to abandon that sort of curation we're used to.

A pity, but if it's the end of the Stradbally road for many of us then we've got great memories.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I never even noticed Steve Lacy on that announcement. In fairness, he's good.

18 years of EP threads, and finally Yeats gets a mention. Who's next with Seamus?