Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cineworld cinemas to file for bankruptcy.

• 21-08-2022 8:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,431 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

So it seems Cineworld cinema's is going to file for bankruptcy in the US as they have struggled to get customers back into there cinemas. Is it any wonder with the extortionate prices they charge.

I used to go to the one in Dublln all the time but then they went and ruined it with the 3D gimic and by over inflating there prices.

I found better prices and cinemas elsewhere.

So when is the last time you have been to Cineworld wherever you live?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Stopped going to Cineworld ages ago; notwithstanding the fact I don't live in Dublin anymore, but when I still did found the "suburban" cinemas much superior prospects.

Chiefly, Cineworld was overpriced and filthy. The screens themselves just minging half the time, even if their screens weren't bad.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Worth noting that it's not just "not enough customers" - before the pandemic kicked i they were well into a proposed takeover of a chain of North American cinemas; they're now backing out of that but it's costing them something like $1Bn to do so.

I cancelled my Cineworld card when I found out that in the UK they sacked all their staff at no notice immediately on lockdown being announced, rather than waiting for any details of the govt support programme. Between that and how they handled their takeover of the Picturehouse chain in the UK (forcibly changing lineups to minimise any competition between them and largely hobbling the more arthouse-adjacent focus of PH), I have no interest in supporting them as a company.

Their collapse is still a bad thing overall, though - unless someone (ideally not Disney or the like) steps in to buy them out, that's a lot of cinemas closing/jobs lost and towns potentially losing their only local cinema :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

There has been a lot of chatter that with Disney owning so many IPs and market share of pop culture, the next step would be to open Disney brand cinemas.

However that's currently illegal in America, with laws preventing studios from owning cinemas, introduced decades ago to promote an open cinematic market for audiences. A mix of free market and ensuring a diverse artistic landscape. Laws that are very actively being hunted by politicians now. Not sure if it ever came to pass, but Disney etc do want to nuke that legislation.

it could open up stronger local independent cinema ownership too in many places

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,286 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

We’re already seeing this I think. Ever since cinemas reopened (and re-reopened) after lockdown independent ones had a pretty vibrant slate of films, and could of course fill in gaps with their usual retrospectives, re-releases etc… Whereas chains that are much more reliant on Hollywood struggled for quite a while until they started getting a more steady stream of blockbusters. Even this summer has been quiet blockbuster-wise and we’ve seen big chains struggling programming-wise again.

At the same time, you have the likes of Disney pumping more resources into streaming and denying cinemas some of the mid-tier content that would tide them over between mega-blockbusters. One of the problems of a handful of companies having so much control over film distribution is they also control the fortunes of cinemas who rely on said companies’ films.

To be clear, Cineworld’s problems run far deeper than that - as @Fysh mentioned their acquisition spree and the associated debt seems to be a big, potentially fatal factor in their financial precariousness. But there’s definitely been a bit of a divide in terms of how cinemas have recovered post-lockdown, and while I don’t think the multiplex model is mortally wounded yet (see: Top Gun Maverick, Spider-Man) they’re definitely in a more precarious position than genuinely independent cinemas with a loyal audience (and, as also previously mentioned, a loyal and well-treated workforce doesn’t hurt).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Taking the business side of things away for a moment, I've had plenty of good memories in that cinema on parnell Street.

But that is the way of things I suppose, before it was a cinema it was a ballroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,431 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Really. I only vaguely remember the Cinema that used to be there before Cineworld and loved it then it and the Imax Cinema closed and Cineworld came along.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,239 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I still go occasionally at weekends.

The seats had a bit of a refurb in a lot of the screens which is good. I go in the AM when tickets are cheaper and screenings are quiet. Loos are shocking.

IIRC Cineworld used to be Virgin Cinemas, I wanna say early 2000s? Vaguely remember it being that when we went into town from DCU fadó 2000 or thereabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

It was indeed a Virgin from about 95 till about '00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Aye should of said way back in the day it was a ballroom before it was a cinema.

Official

BBC News - Cineworld confirms it is considering bankruptcy

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-62629932

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,318 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

They'll be grand if they can just sell another few bags of Pick'n'Mix.

Ms

If the Dublin one did close which Cinema group would replace it?

I would like to see an Omniplex there or Odeon there or Vue either.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

At least part of the issue has to be the complete dearth of movies to see. I love going to the cinema but at the moment about 95% of the movies coming out are silly superhero movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Years ago I heard that Dublin was comfortably their most profitable Cinema. Ticket prices were higher than their UK average, attendance was higher than their UK average, and film rights were cheaper.

And maybe add in some flavours for popcorn if they're feeling nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,160 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

As the first person ever fired from cineworld Dublin 17 years ago, allow me to say ha......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The building was new when it opened as a cinema - there may have been a ballroom in a previous building on the site - but I think much of it was factories.

Originally it was going to be an MGM cinema; but opened as Virgin. IMAX was there as a seperate cinema at the same time. Virgin became UGC; UGC became Cineworld; the IMAX shut and was converted in to extra normal screens.

Here is the next year's upcoming films in cineworld:

Films in yellow are superhero movies, so 9 out of 17 movies. The red ones are installment >= 4 of a movie series, 4 out of 17 movies. So in total we have 4 movies which are not superhero based and not the 4th or higher installment of a movie. In fact 2 of the others are installment 2, so there are only 2 movies that are original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,798 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Is that not just a reflection of the type of films that are making money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

To be fair, I don't think we can blame comic franchises for cinema's failing. They make BANK and they're basically cinema spectacles so people love them. My problem with them is that they're so profitable that they actually push out less profitable movies that I would like to watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,970 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

In the past everything had to be seen in the cinema. Nobody is going to the cinema to see the 2020s version of Philadelphia or Rainman.

People are only gonna go a cinema like that for big effects blockbusters. The only way a cinema will survive with any other type of movie is to be a high end "wine and cheese" cinema like Curzon or be a full on sing along Rocky Horror, Arnie marathon cinema.

Well you can have big effect blockbusters without them being part of Marvel/DC. I don't know, I understand the movies are making money, but they have pushed any other type of movie out. That would be the reason why I (and I presume others) have no interest in the crap that is being pushed out. There is of course a place for them but do we really need half of movies released to cinema to be of this type? I would also say it is short term thinking as eventually people will get fed up with these AI generated scripts. There are only so many side character origin stories etc that even the easiest entertained will watch.

But what movie should be there instead of them ?

Superhero and Sci-fi are what sells in cinema now. If Marvel go bust tomorrow you still won't be getting the Palmer D'Or winner you will just get a closed cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Apiarist

I think that the era of large cinemas occupying the best real estate is over and they will go the way of Xtra-vision and HMV. Personally I would only trouble myself with getting out of the house to pay €15 to see a movie if the film is exceptional. Otherwise, I will watch it online later.

Cinemas need to evolve. Instead of huge theaters that need to pay huge rents, how about smaller screens with very good sound. Heck, how about screens for 5-10-20 people where a party can come and watch what they want, be it a new release or some older movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

the studios are making Superhero movies because they make money. When they stop making money, they'll pivot to something else. I've no interest in seeing any of those films, but I'm in my 40s so not the target market.

I think long-form TV has killed a lot of the of drama, thriller type movies you used to see in the cinema (which has it's own problems IMO - I enjoy watching a good 100 minute movie, I don't necessarily want to commit to watching 50 1 hour episodes of whatever the latest "must-see" series is)

I am not suggesting arty type movies, I am thinking more like Dune/Blade Runner 2049/interstellar/1917 etc etc. I think the comic movies have become an easy way out for the movie makers. They are taking up a larger and larger share of movies being pumped out. If this was a good thing surely cineworld would be in great health? I certainly don't go to the cinema very often anymore, mainly because of the offering. I will go and see Avatar 2 even though I thought the first one is crap, it is at least reasonably original.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

85 per cent plus of what the major cinemas show these days is complete derivative rubbish - as the others here opined, the "superhero" films make a lot of money for the Hollywood studios.

I also think Covid and the lockdowns/restrictions had a major negative impact on the cinema sector. Many people who would gave gone to the cinema before Covid simply aren't now. I go to the cinema about six times a year these days. I would go more often if there were better and more interesting films on offer, but there aren't.

Cinemas will have to evolve to better meet their customer's preferences or else close down. We've been here before. They survived the emergence of mass TV ownership in the 1960s, the video player/DvD in the 1980s/90s and will survive the Netflix etc options, but will have to evolve offer the cinemagoer a good (and appealing) reason to go to the pictures.

On a side note, the last time I was in Parnell Cineworld in Dublin with some friends it was filthy dirty, staff were clearly demoralised and much of the clientele left a lot to be desired.

Ms

Na that sounds boring. OK if you know that many people to party with not if you don't. Besides you can do that in some hotels that have there own cinema room.

We did that years ago in 2012 to be exact for my sisters 30th Birthday celebrations.

Went to see her favorite film. A comedy.

I disagree with cinemas going the same way as HMV and Xtra-Vision.

I think they will still be around for a long time.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

All the movies you listed were in the cinema so what's the problem ?

Superhero and sci-fi is what I said and it's what all those movies listed are.

Are you by any chance my age or older ? Maybe its just the movies are not for you anymore. When I was young Limerick had 1 cinema then 2 and it now has 3 so I think cinemas are doing alright looking at it that way. Never been to a Cineworld but they sound like its not the Marvel superheroes that killed them.

Tbh there aren't even that many of them recently! And the ones that have come out have been poor.

The recent Thor was bloody awful.

But even the stuff on the more arthouse side of things has been pretty uninspiring recently.

Is that not what they tried to do (badly) with the Savoy? It's a bit of a disaster some of the screens are like sitting at home...so pointless

I am early 40's. There are very few movies like the ones I listed anymore. In the past the superhero type movies were around but would have made up a much smaller proportion of the output. At the end of the day they are producing a consumer product, it isn't for me, so I have no reason to go anymore.

Ms

Is the Savoy still going? I can not imagine it is going good.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭SheepsClothing

I'd love to see the big suburban multiplexes acting more like art house cinemas even if it can't be their core business. I would regularly go to see older films or art house fair if they were offered, as it's very inconvenient to get into town to visit the IFI or the Lighthouse. Even setting aside 1 or 2 screens where these films could be consistently screened could attract a regular audience.

If they are going to survive, I think fostering communities of film fans and member programmes, with forums, exclusive screenings and polling that gives regular cinema goers a say in the slate could to be key.

As I said in the past people had to use the cinema to see the new comedy, drama, romance etc. Movies that you didn't need a big screen and sound for but now they can enjoy those movies at home.

That's not the cinema or Marvels fault and even if there are no more superhero movies that won't change.

I loved Dune but even for a movie with 2 huge young actors and a supporting cast of Marvel and SW lads it still didn't blow the film world apart.

As far as I know. I haven't been for a wee while. But it has been fairly quiet. You can get 2 tickets for 10 euro via three (Sunday to Thursday)

Screen 1 which was a genuinely good place to see a film....was split up into multiple smaller screens.

I do think more niche is maybe the way to go for a new cinema. Retro screenings, plush seating, food (like Stella etc - despite the pricing being so high they are busy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,874 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I assume the studios see that it is mostly teenagers going to cinemas, there are a continuous stream of new teenagers all the time. So, they know they can keep producing these movies at a low risk of failure. I would guess the main market is teenagers anyway as adults wouldn't have much interest in movies about mermen etc.

Ms

Me either and when Screen 1 was a proper bìg screen I used to love going there.

Yes maybe they will all have to like that to survive.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Really. The only one I know is down at the point. All the others too far out for me to make sense going to and I rearly go to the one in the point now either since there prices became extortionate. A pity as I did like that cinema. It was my favorite at one stage.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I know it's big budget sci-fi not art house but Star Trek:The Motion Picture is playing across the country this week in Vue and a few others.

One issue for these big places is any successful art house or niche cinema I have been to does booze and I'm not sure it's something the big screens want to do in Ireland (they sell it in the more liberal UK)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Shred

Vue has been like that for a few years too; a mate booked us for Alien: Covenant in something like screen 11 when it came out - about 20 seats in there - they can shove it afaik, I'm not paying €12/14+ for that crap! I haven't been to the Savoy since they split up screen 1 also, fair enough they did it for 'business' reasons but that's not what cinema should be imho.

These circular conversations about movie quality/genre diversity come up all the time. Maybe if lots of people hadn't been so tight fisted in downloading every bloody film going for years the bigger studios wouldn't be so risk averse and stop playing it safe? 🤷‍♂️

The music industry has gone to shít for the same reasons - people want everything for free ("sure studio/label x, y are making loads of money why should I pay for it?!") but then complain when the quality nosedives as a result.

Post edited by Shred on

Ms

quality/genre diversity come up all the time. Maybe if lots of people hadn't been so tight fisted in downloading every bloody film going for years the bigger studios wouldn't be so risk averse and stop playing it safe? 🤷‍♂️

The music industry has gone to shít for the same reasons - people want everything for free ("sure studio/label x, y are making loads of money why should I pay for it?!") but then complain when the quality nosedives as a result.

I suppose it was just there was do many movies coming out and people have busy lives too.

Streaming came along and people took advantage of it.

I agree about both of the things you say there. I honestly would not have a glue who or what is popular in new music anymore and nor do I care. I used to nearly know all the songs and singers at one stage. Not anymore.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I don't go that often but it's been ages since I spent more than a fiver for Vue.

The problem isn't the genre - those come and go and if it wasn't Superheroes it'd be disaster flicks, westerns, Star Wars knock-offs whatever - the problem is where the industry has gone in terms of how it makes its money back.

If the financial focus of studios are a small number of $1+ billion behemoths, rather than a larger number of mid-range crowdpleasers then of course things get skewed one way - and quality becomes one of hitting as many demographics as possible to meet those outsized projections.

Our specific era of capitalism has become one obsessed with Infinite Growth (oh Hi Netflix), or one where only mega-successes mean success. Probably doesn't help that studios are run by corporation types, rather than moguls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Shred

Oh hey, what I called out isn't my only experience at Vue - I've had some good experiences there too over the past few years and I also paid €5 to see 'The Many Saints' of Newark' when it came out. What I'm moaning about is the appearance of these tiny 20-30 seat screens at multiplexes and charging top dollar for them. Maybe if they were sold at a continuously reduced rate to the larger screens I'd accept it for people without the means to go to the cinema regularly to chose.

It's not just here either, I had a similar experience in Cineworld Leicester Square in London back in 2018; Creed 2 in a tiny screen for something like £13/14 (I was in town for a gig with a mate and we decided last minute we didn't want to stay on the lash all day).