Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

single sex vs mixed schools

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 15,381 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

On a practical level, in a typical small town in Ireland there is typically a girls convent, a boys CBS and if the town is big enough a vocational school (usually mixed, often skewing towards more boys). Two to three small schools in the town, duplicating lots of resources (three principals, three deputy principals, often no more than 500 students between them), and not able to offer the full range of subjects in any school.

I work in a school which was an amalgamation of a scenario similar to the above. Boys had woodwork, metalwork, tech drawing, accounting, physics. In the girls school they had art, music, home ec, business, phys/chem. Other subjects like geography, history, biology available in both. When all three were amalgamated into one community college, the full range of subjects and new subjects were available to all.

I can see the logic in not wanting to establish new single sex schools... if a campaign was successful in an area for a girls school, well what's the knock on effect from that? Does the local school (maybe full to capacity, hence the campaign for a new school), get overwhelmed with applications from boys and effectively turn it into a boys school, or still be mixed but the numbers end up extremely lopsided? Or do you end up having to establish a new boys school also, if the existing school is full to capacity and boys are not going to be accommodated in the girls school. How viable is a new single sex school to provide a wide range of subjects?