Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Bizarre Carlow Cadaver Pension Fraud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Beatty69

I'm in even more shock that they pulled him along, I thought he was in a wheelchair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Three poor divils. These two might genuinely be lads who spent their time out of it on cheap booze. Then their 'patron' unfortunately succumbed. The other two being so far gone that, in their addled little world this attempted skit wouldn't be so far fetched. I have seen similar scenarios in the past (ok, not the bringing the body to the post office), lads who should be in the prime of their lives, are zombies because of drink - not drugs. Believe it or not, those I've encountered did have some redeeming qualities, specifically they wouldn't harm a fly. They do try to be friendly, but always the eye is on where the next drink is coming from. Someone's son or brother, gone off the rails and family continually out of their minds with worry. Somewhere, on a dresser in some house, there's a picture of a little boy in his Communion suit, smiling, and no one could ever imagine what his destiny , or should I say doom, would turn out to be.

The obvious age difference would mean nothing. Lonely old man, probably a bit of a soft touch and the guys befriend him. He has a roof over his head, and will probably not have a problem with them coming in and bringing a bag of cans in. I can say all this with confidence, I've seen it all before. Thanking God for small mercies, I can say it hasn't struck within my own family.

I would actually have some compassion for them.

edit: I've just read the details and it seems one of them was the dead man's nephew and was raised by him. Gets even sadder really.

Doubtful. If he was that sick he couldn’t leave the house to collect his pension, he’d have either died already or been admitted to hospital. That also assumes no other family called to check. 1-2 weeks maybe, but anything beyond that is highly unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Was it not one of their fathers??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭techman1

I wonder was it all sparked by Minimum Unit Pricing, the fact that these guys would now have to pay twice as much for the slab of beer now. Maybe that was the final nail back out of the coffin

If that’s the case it’s serving it’s purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,102 ✭✭✭✭fits

I think it’s sad that the man’s life ended in this way. He was a decent man by all accounts and didn’t deserve this.

If you enjoy boards like I do, please consider subscribing at this link.

Just 6 euro a month and no ads, no algorithms, no big tech.

Just make sure to use the email address connected to your profile when subscribing

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,436 ✭✭✭✭elperello

If only life was that simple.

Lots of ordinary people out there affected by MUP who never bothered anyone, just go to work and pay their taxes.

They are at home now getting ready for work in the morning after paying €5-€6 extra for a few cans and a bottle of wine at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Wife has relations in the area.

apparently the 2 involved are notorious and very unpleasant long term drug users and dealers. Not nice people to say the least.

Its not so easy to have sympathy for them as described. Probably a little more in control of their own destinies than those I referred to earlier.

That’s neither here nor there though. If the purpose is to reduce binge drinking, which is prominent among unemployed people, then unemployed people being able to afford less drink to binge on means it’s doing it’s job. Not saying it’s the right way to go about it, but it may be doing something.

Do not agree with the regular person who doesn’t binge being made pay extra because of those that do, but that’s sort of just life I guess. Insurance premiums are high cos stupid people are stupid, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

This is Ireland. Binge drinking is prevalent throughout the socio-economic classes.

It's very much pertinent to this case and many others where people who drink too much end up in trouble.

There is no evidence that MUP will do anything to improve outcomes in such cases.

"Sort of just life..." is little consolation to ordinary hardworking people having c. €300 per annum taken from their after tax income for the simple pleasure of having a few drinks in their own home.

As I said I don’t agree with it because everyone is effectively punished for people not having the willpower to control themselves.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

That yoke in the photo, looks like an absolute waste of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭BattleCorp1

I highly doubt the two lads are fully paid up members of MENSA.

How they thought they'd get away with dragging him approximately 350m to the post office, wait in a queue, collect the money and drag him approx. 350m home is absolutely beyond me.

Thought is the key word there.

i don’t think this pair have a brain cell between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

No way, I'm not having this, its not sad, these two are IDIOTS.... Simple as that and deserve nothing but prosecution and to be laughed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,409 ✭✭✭joseywhales

What they did is ridiculous but it's hardly crime of the century. As far as we know they didn't hurt anyone, the worst part is the attempted fraud but again it's not the thousand or million euro frauds that I'm sure are out there. It's not worth filling a jail cell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭BattleCorp1

It's not the crime of the century but they did traumatise some of the staff in the shop. They also caused the shop to be locked up early and as a result a lot of people would have had to go further afield to collect their pension.

I wouldn't be giving them a free pass on this one.

worse actually.

the people who didn’t get there before 11am would have had to wait until it was open again. Welfare money is physically delivered to post offices on each day, it’s not like the PO uses its own cash reserves and bills the DEASP.

i definitely think they deserve trouble, prison? Nah, not worth it, but they should not get away with it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Jez, your going to have me balling. It's just easier to write people off as wasters then to have to put yourself in emotional turmoil.

Post edited by Montage of Feck on

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

At the end of the day, what is the point of sending them to court, and then prison etc. They are strung out junkie's who probably haven't a first notion of what they are at.

Just say it was terrible, give them their suspended sentence and move on. They will serve their own penance in time - dying of an overdose or drowning in their own vomit some day.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,614 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Not necessarily. My (elderly) mother only goes to collect her pension once every couple of months these days as so much parking has been removed in Cork city it makes it very difficult for her (and other elderly people) to get a spot within walking distance. There would often be a couple of grand waiting for her.

I have to assume however you speak to your mam more than she collects her pension?

my point being, was she to have died suddenly, you’d know about it long before a pension was due to collect.

i know a lot of elderly folks live alone and that is more of a problem, but this man is well known in the community, has two siblings one who died and one alive, plus other family. So I don’t think any of that applies in this case, basically!

This is what I would like to see happen.

AGS will prepare a file for the DPP.

DPP will recommend a prosecution.

The justice will hear all the facts of the case and decide on an appropriate punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,661 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Educate her about the wonders of bank account deposits, ffs.

I haven't followed the whole thread so may have missed something - just pointing out that it is possible for a large amount to build up.

My mother is plenty well educated thanks very much! 'ffs'.

haha! Don't worry, I'm not a hand-wringer generally. Its just that I have encountered people who lead utterly wrecked lives, and in one case know his whole family and they're highly decent and respectable people (he's the child in the photo). He causes them no direct problems (nor does he interfere with or bother other people) but looking at someone descending into hell and being unable to prevent it is a hard thing.

Now, since I posted, Beechwoodspark says they're known ne'er do wells, so they wouldn't be getting my sympathy - but their families would.