Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best apprenticeship to do

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Agree 100% re college degree. 580 points is an unreal result (625 is maximum).

assuming she applied through the CAO system, I’d be going back to suss out the accommodation situation. Find out if she knows of anyone in second, third or forth year in the city of her first choice or whatever offer she gets, and go and talk to them about accommodation as they’ll have the lie of the land and might even have a room or be willing to take one more in to lower their own rent.

Students are very savvy when it comes to these sort of things. Best of luck to her anyways

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Anyone looking to do welding should avoid MIG batch work and look to do Stainless TIG or high purity Orbital pipe welding. On the lookout for a new job myself and see a lot of pharma companies looking for people to train on Orbital welders. A bit more to it than ordinary pipework as its welding in a cleanroom environment but rates of 40 an hour plus seems to be the norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Silverdream

My head is addled with it at the moment. I found accommodation but I think myself She's a bit apprehensive about college. I think for an apprenticeship you'd really need to know what you want before committing to it

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Don't I know, I'm one of those clowns without papers, in the office now but very difficult for me to ever change companies, and will never be in the environs you are, without going back to the start all over again. Have a pretty useless degree in a different discipline. Got in the region of 500 points in the leaving but didn't give a continental that time

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭thedart

A landlord politician.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

€27/hr PAYE were hearing there is a bit too it and its slow slow work as well and you would be expected to measure and mark out too when youre at it its not just a case of rocking up and a fitter having the pipe there ready for you and you just press s few buttons and away ye go.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Doing an apprenticeship doesn't rule out doing college in the future, she'll earn while doing the apprenticeship and when the apprenticeship is over, if she wants she can do college part time in the evenings, funded by her company, by 25/26 she'll have her level 8 plus 7 or 8 years work experience. Companies are pushing for women in engineering roles, so she'll have very little problem progressing, she'll know the business from the ground up, unlike a lot of college graduates who often struggle to adapt after college. Obviously she should only consider an apprenticeship if she's interested in it, same with college, she should only go if that's what she wants to do. She's young, now is the time to try different things to find out what she really wants to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

That's exactly the way I was thinking, it's not either or.

I did say there was more to it than ordinary pipe welding. Ive seen listings on indeed for 30+. Nothing in my post was misleading.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

That money won't be around for ever, intel has soaked up a lot of welders and fitters and once that job completes you'll have several hundred more competing against you for work, we are also in a boom cycle, when leaner time comes around and you spend a few weeks every year inbetween jobs(and as a pipe fitter you will) it does'nt be long bringing down the average.

Great job if you're young, single and willing to travel, as you get older most lads get fed up of living from a suitcase and only seeing the family a few times a year, if you live outside commuting distance to Cork or Dublin getting steady work year-round is hard.

Not trying to put you off the trade, pipe fitting is a great trade to have, when times are good you'll make money and you can branch out into other fields with it, just saying there are pro's and cons to every job and every trade.

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭farmer2018

I have done the whole college degree crack and masters, it's the biggest load of over hype. If your good with your hands or like working with your hands my advice would be to do an apprenticeship. I would recommend a plumber, electrician, car mechanic, heavy plant mechanic or crash repair.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Apprenticeships are great and I have respect for anybody who goes that route, but an Engineering degree will open many door and give great opportunities. I was apprehensive before I went to college to but now in the middle of my career where I see guys who're coming to the end of theirs getting three or four day weeks while still earning good base pay without even considering stock, health care, dental, pension contribution, etc. Also the college experience once balanced correctly is great craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,274 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I would recommend a plumber, electrician, car mechanic, heavy plant mechanic or crash repair.

You may have a degree done, but I would hazard a bet you have absolutely no idea whatsoever is involved in heavy plant mechanics, or car mechanics for that matter.

Heavy plant mechanics is an absolute **** of a job, every one of them are fucked by the time they reach 45.

I've worked as a mechanic and done the degree as well.

No contest. Trust me

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Is there any options out there for people who are interested in picking up a trade but can't give up the full time job? Green cert courses give people a chance with only having to do a day once every few weeks, but not its there for other trades. Very hard to do without financial support, evening courses are great but you'll never be welding on a nice clean table and new vice out in the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Depends on the trade. If you are interested in Building trades like Blockwork, shuttering Carpentry or plastering. All known as the wet trades then you don't need a formal trade qualification, you just need to be able to do the job at the end of the day. So if time and finance are what is stopping you then you can go working in any of these trades as long as you are prepared to be flexible and do a bit of labouring until you are up to speed.

Speaking of labouring, a good skilled labourer, one who can finish concrete, lay pipes, do a bit of digger work, drive a dumper etc,he'll earn as much as any tradesman and often are more valued and kept on by the builder long after the tradesmen are at home waiting on the next job

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭2018na

Is anyone considering the potential to employ other people and start up a company if they are that way inclined. It’s not just about a wage and a college degree. Watch the m3 motorway some morning at 6am. Look at the names on the fleets of vans. Many multiples of the salary’s some of you talk of. All began with them starting an apprenticeship

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Has the day of a individual starting up a services business employing electricians/plumbers, fitters, welders for large scale projects not finished??? The liabilities are massive nowadays in big project work.only large companies to handle such.

Just on salaries, was a man on local radio today, somewhat disillusioned with his lot in Ireland.considering returning to oz where he spent 7 years previously.

He claimed he knows of 2 lassies, currently in oz , working down the mines, earning $140,000 annually driving dump trucks.

I take those stories with a pick of salt tbh.

There is usually a catch that turns out to be bigger than the dump truck

Heard all of that craic when i was out there all pub talk really there is fair money to be made out there and the cost of living can be cheaper too in places however i was reminded of the same craic in Intel before Christmas nothing but fellas talking about money and when they get paid etc i reckon they hadnt a bob to there name.

In phase two off the job at the moment and theres a good handful of us planning on heading out there when we have the papers got. If you were to earn €2000 gross here (which is unheard of in our trade here) you would take home about €1200 i think if you were to earn the equivalent out there @$2800 you would taje home the roughly the equivalent of €1400. Progressive tax system out there makes it worthwhile plus you get a lot more for youre tax dollar over there.

There the types of mathwork this phase of training has us driven too, anywhere but here mentality is really kicking in.

Better living everyone

What is it out there, has you liking to return? Am i right in thinking they'd be a bit serious out there compared to paddy?

Real easy going spot good nightlife, a vast area to explore, work hard youre rewarded, a good work life balance is encouraged, weather, good multiculturalism in action good integration not like here, reasonable cost of living, good healthcare,, value for tax dollar and you genuinely wake up and dont feel like youre been rode sideways everyday. Like its not all sunshine either youd fall upon hard times out there too however its easier pull yourself back up out there. Some lads reckon im only wanting the city life that i cant stick rural living here, well i cant imagine youd get thst kind of life in Cork, Galway or Dublin.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭farmer2018

Well thats where you are wrong, I am a qualified mechanic and auto elect, I have worked on cars, tractors and plant so never assume...Sounds like you didn't like the work...

No I didn't enjoy absolutely awful working conditions and pathetic renumeration.

No pension, no health care, no proper overtime and doing well to get €18-€20 euros an hour using your own tools.

I'd put heavy plant and tractor mechanic as the worst renumerated roles for the work and skill required.

Whats an auto elect?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Motor car wiring - automobiles

Its not a stand alone trade though, its encorporated into the motor mechanic trade.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,202 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Any lads that do it specialise it it only. Ya there is the computer part that most mechanics do fir servicing and reading fault codes.

However specialist auto electricians are around they do a lot of work on older cars that are out of warranty

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Didn't know that. The only outfit that I know of are stand alone, a family run business with one or two other employees.

I had a run in with the owner years ago, when they switched a radio, with BBC preset,from one car to another for me. The radio had 2 rows of pre-set buttons. After fitting - on my way home no sign of the preset for BBC. At work the following day the lads assured me that crowd wouldn't do such a thing - highly reputable. I called back - he went to my car unscrewed the panel turned it around right way up - and asked is that your f***n radio?.

I went back another time with a part to be replaced - and jokingly asked him to put it in right way around. I got the bum's rush out the door. telling me never come back. As they were the only game in town - I had to get a work colleague to placate him. You live and learn.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭enricoh

Am pretty sure I saw an ad for coal mines in Oz starting on 100k euro for general operatives. If true i think young fellas would be mad not to give it a go for a couple of years.

I don't know any young lads say under 30 that aren't living at home. Years ago I rented with mates in my 20s but there isn't a gaff to be rented around now at all. They are missing out on the bit of craic imo.