If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello All, This is just a friendly reminder to read the Forum Charter where you wish to post before posting in it. :)
Hi all, The AutoSave Draft feature is now disabled across the site. The decision to disable the feature was made via a poll last year. The delay in putting it in place was due to a bug/update issue. This should serve as a reminder to manually save your drafts if you wish to keep them. Thanks, The Boards Team.
Hello all! This is just a quick reminder to ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere.

You only get what you give

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭ Wubble Wubble

That's a very productive week's work. I wouldn't have been mad about a 10k run after all that, but fair play to you for getting out and doing it, even without having to deal with angry (or overfriendly) dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭ diego_b

Thanks J, least the weather was dry so that was a comfort to push myself out the door. Just put on my running gear quickly when I got home and job done! Would have been annoyed if I'd not done it.

Week 6 of Adare 10K plan continued

Sunday 13/02/2022

Met up with some running mates for an easy beach run this morning to wrap the week. 6.5K in 38:37 @ 5:56min/km.

Two weeks until race day.

47.2K for this week.

268.1K for the year so far.

Post edited by diego_b on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭ DeepBlue

As I got up near to him I recognised the guy as someone I run with in a group pretty regularly so gave him a shout to get going again and come on with me but he said to me he was in too much pain. I had a brief thought here what to do and I said f it...running in the last 1.5 miles or so hard as I was planning to do wasn't going to prove anything only a lot of sandbagging with my approach to the race and I could do him a favour so I stopped and walked with him for a few seconds.

Fair play and in keeping with the title of your log. Hopefully the karma bounces back.

2681.K for the year so far.

That's quite a jump from the previous week. 😜

Thanks @DeepBlue !

Indeed a substantial jump there, bit more than the recommended 10 percent, ta for the spot...have corrected it.

Week 8 of Adare 10K plan

Monday 20th February

5K easy in 27:50 @ 5:33min/km, done after work...another bad evening in store...such has been the way with the weather of late.

Tuesday 21th February

5K easy in 27:51 @ 5:33min/km, same as the day before. Different out and back route.

Wednesday 22nd February

Last speed session on the plan for today, 5x400m. Used the same section on the road as have been doing all of these on, so with the wind it would mean some with be with the wind at my back and the other ones would be into the headwind. Target pace of 1:44 for the 400m (5K pace, based on 23min 5K). After a 15minute warmup and some drills it was into the intervals, 1:37, 1:44, 1:41, 1:47, 1:36...pretty easy spot which ones were into the headwind. It didn't feel that bad for much of it but for the last 50meters or so it almost felt like going backwards at times so the effort on the slower ones felt higher. 5.8K in total in 30:15.

Thursday 23nd February

Last run on the plan, another 5K easy. Did this one at lunch time, same out and back route as my run on Tuesday. Awful grey looking sky for this one, tiny bit of hailstones but they managed to hold off till I got home. After this would be two rest days before the race.

Enjoyed the plan over the last 8 weeks and was good to get some structure going again. The hal higdon one has been pretty basic to follow, I do find the 5K runs a bit short for general easy midweek runs and regret not having done a 5K time trial during the plan. In the past I've had phases where my shortest runs would be 10K in general. Mileage for this plan has averaged out around 38K a week which fit in with life at the moment. Last year I was generally trying to have a minimum mileage of 50K a week but wasn't following a plan for the first half of the year. If anything I'd prefer to up the weekend mileage a bit, longer runs on a Sunday so will look for a more advanced plan next time.

Friday 24th February

Rest day, off work for the day which was nice. Training session in the track in Castleisland that evening with the juveniles so bus over and back. Pretty good session and something we hope to continue with over the coming months. Like to get them used to the track and surroundings so that when you talk about going to a competition it's nothing new. A lot of our training is done on astro or indoors at the moment so you have to get people out to the tartan and so on.

Saturday 25th February

Rest but spent around 6-7 hours on the mobile and laptop trying to sort out relay teams for the Munster Juvenile Indoors next weekend. So far we have 6 teams ready to go, maybe 2-3 more. A lot of work putting it together as mentioned before I find you have to contact parents directly to get response. Broadcast messages, social media posts, emails...none of them really work. Old fashioned calls and texts with the personal touch.

Race report to follow.

The headwind there today from approximately 6 to 9k made it very tough and probably more so if you're coming into the race carrying a slight bug.

Also for a race with seemingly very little elevation there's an awful lot of little short drags.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭ Swashbuckler

Was disappointed to see this on my Strava yesterday and apologies I had meant to wish you luck on here Saturday but between one thing and another, plus compiling an essay of questions for AMK in his log it totally slipped my mind.

Wouldn't overthink it too much. Probably a few factors at play. Life stress is a massive one. Most of the training lately has been in very tricky conditions - certainly not ideal conditions for 5k paced sessions every other week.

The plan itself is basic. Looking at it, I can see how it might not give you the endurance you need for the latter parts of the race. By the way , by all accounts the last few km of the race yesterday were very tricky with the wind. Plus the second half of Adare is not flat!

Rest, recuperate and get back at it. The 5k race championship might actually suit you better , given all the 5k reps you've done over the past 8 weeks.

As for other 10k races, Ennis 10k is cancelled is it? The Milford Hospice 10k is on March 13th in UL. There's always your local 10k in June (probably too far away) - a nice flat route 😂

Yeah it certainly didn't help at least, was a few spots there where a decent wind came in. The coughing and spluttering overnight and today confirms a bug alright. How did your race go?

Indeed I had read through a course preview on the Running in Munster website beforehand but there was plenty of ups and downs...nothing major but testing enough. Great to see course records in male and female categories there. Impressive stuff.

No worries P, it's a minor wobble and definitely a cold in the system anyways so I'm going to put down the majority of things yesterday down to it. Training has gone well so hopefully be able to pick things up again next week when this passes. That will give me a 4 week lead in for the road championships which should be enough as before the wheels came of yesterday much of the first 5K went fine. Back to the 400's then I guess, speed wise they had gone well and I can get a bit more endurance work in too. I like the idea of trying a fast parkrun mid March maybe two weeks ahead of the race if I can fit it in.

Not sure about the Ennis 10K, not one I've came across before. I see the Milford Hospice 10K alright, do you know what the course is like for that? Guessing some long drags, I went to UL for 4 years but never ran a step in Castletroy. Indeed that local 10K is a challenging route, my best time on that route is 47:27..I reckon due to the elevation I lose anything from 90-120 seconds on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭ Swashbuckler

I've sent some texts in the meantime. Ennis 10k is cancelled.

Milford hospice 10k is apparently not the worst route. SOme of my buddies have got PB's there;

I can never make out those Strava elevation profiles but the net elevation per km doesnt look too bad.

I have fond bad memories of Ballyheigue 10k - an awful route. But once you leave thoughts of a pb out of your head and just enjoy the sufferfest its a bit of craic. Finished fourth there one year I think. Always nice to get it done, jump into the sea and head to Flahives.

I'd reckon that route is a pretty quick route, I just realized I lied about running in Castletroy...I did the parkrun in UL about 3 years ago...about 1K of that route is the same as the race route above. Will have a think about that, thanks for the details on it. Gonna say they got value for money with the 10.31K for 10K race though!!

Haha yeah, anyone who gets a pb on those race routes in Ballyheigue is either new to running those distances or else has a very soft pb. I got a half marathon pb there back in 2015 but it was only my third ever half marathon.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭ Annie get your Run

Sorry to hear the race didn't go as planned D. Kudos for sticking with it as it sounds like you had multiple very good reasons for quitting. The good thing about 10k's is you can go again and again...

There might be something in this calendar of events to suit https://corkrunning.blogspot.com/p/calendar.html.

Thanks AM, it was nice to get it done for sure. Fingers crossed for the next one! Ta for the link, keeping an eye on that alright and seeing where I can slot another race in.

Catchup before getting left too far behind...

14/03/2022 - 17/03/2022

Nothing, sore calf...bit of swelling but no bruising so figure it's minor enough and a few days off would hopefully help. Could feel it at times during coaching when doing demos to kids but nothing major. Was hoping it would be someway right for my next target race on Sunday 27th, the Kerry road championships.

18/03/2022

The extra day off, be nice if we had double bank holidays like this more often. Decided to try an easy 5K out and back....running a little bit gingerly around 1K in and thinking would I turn around and go back home but kept going just to see where it went for the remainder of the run. In the end it was no worse than it was before hand so figured it's on the mend. 5K easy in 27:39 @ 5:30min/km.

19/03/2022

No parkrun but I got to watch a parkrun...Athlone. I was up at the National Indoor Juvenile Championships to support/coach one of our juvenile athletes. Arrived there around 9am so to assist with warm up and her getting her mark for her long jump (scheduled for 10am). Outside the window of the facility I could see the parkrun, looks a bit of strange course Athlone running around sports fields for the most part...can't imagine it being much fun in the winter but all the same would have been nice to do it. Maybe the next time I'm due up there the schedule will work better. In our athlete's case, bronze medal in the U12 long jump. Great stuff! Hung around until lunchtime to watch a few of the events and then back home to Kerry (took a different route home on the drive to keep the brain happy). Once home just did another 5K easy in the evening in 26:44 @ 5:18min/km. Pace a bit quicker than the day before but felt good on a flat enough route.

20/03/2022

3rd day in a row, the comeback is on. Few options this morning, a running mate was running a local half marathon route early so there was an option to join him , his training is looking very nice for the Great Limerick Run half so fingers crossed for him. Only for the calf niggle I would have joined him as the pace would be easy (5:40/5:50K) even if I haven't run that distance for a few months. That being said had another option to meet some clubmates in Tralee for a run so went with that....a few of the other club coaches were on the run so bit of a debriefing chat on the competition from the day previous and planning for the months ahead. It's a busy period now in the athletics season with competitions for various age groups coming up rapid. 6.7K easy in 37:30 @ 5:36min/km.

Weekly total 16.7K

Yearly total to date 395.5K

We started watching Drive to Survive, I must get back to it. I've been watching F1 for as long as I can remember. I still remember the horror of Senna's crash (and indeed Barrichello and Ratzenberger - who was also killed that weekend). Controversially, while I'll admit is was one of the all time greats, I never liked Schumy! I'm a huge Lewis fan, my nails are still trying to grow back after the showdown last season! Top tip for anyone who's not a Tifosi - don't go to a race in Italy 😀.

Anyway, F1 aside looking forward to the race report.  

Very good AM, it's a sport that more popular than many people realise despite little traditional press coverage. I know lots that watch it but it wouldn't always been in general conversation like other sports. Jordan did a lot for the sport in Ireland at least and many have kept interest up from then. I don't have much of a memory of that weekend of Senna's crash, certainly watched the Senna doc a few years back there were lots of things I didn't know or recall. That's one of the toughest watches ever in the cinema knowing what was to come. Gut wretching.

I don't hold it against anyone who didn't like Schumacher but his career was at it's peak during my teen years so an impressionable time....and of course he drove the Ferrari. I can recall seeing his Benetton F1 car at a stand at the ploughing championships and just standing looking at it for quite a long time. Think I might have touched a tyre even. Have only been to one F1 race to date, Barcelona in 2007. Not sure I've ever heard a noise as loud in my life as an F1 car....can recall walking to the track from the train station and hearing what was like a scream and then it clicking that is the noise....wow.

As for Lewis, I'm kinda 50/50 there. As a Massa fan he broke my heart a little back with his first title win and he's generally been on the opposing side of who I want to win the driver's title. I'm a Ferrari fan so have been disappointed in many title races by Lewis against Alonso and Vettel (can't believe neither of those guys managed a title win with Ferrari especially Alonso). Lewis's longetivity and taking of records that seemed unobtainable (many set by MSC) so credit to him for the career he's had and from where he's come from. 7 titles is enough for any one driver though!!

Must get to another F1 race sometime...now where is that race report.

Nope, he has to get to 8 to prove he's better than the best!!! I have a few years on you so was watching the greats before Schumy came along - did you know EJ gave him his first F1 drive? Perhaps why I never warmed to him as he jumped ship to Benetton the second his arse was out of the car seat, leaving a bitter taste in Jordan and Anderson's mouths - even Senna got involved!

Well done on the race and the medals, especially taking over for a VI guide in the final stages. Very impressive stuff D and it seems like the calf woes are on the way out too.

Haha I don't think he'll win another title tbh, not with the regulation changes now. I did indeed know that about Jordan and Schumacher alright, Michael was never too far from controversy his whole career really.

Thanks AM, a good day it was! Seems like the calf issue is pretty much gone now so will have to figure what to do next. Another race plan that hopefully goes better than the last 10K or else some base building. There's a marathon coming up the end of October that is in my thoughts a bit.

I have also taken on the task of recruiting/cajoling/twisting arms for it at a club level to try get as many runners as possible, this year we had 19 runners on the day (1/3 of the club's eligible runners) which is quite a good turnout and it's increasing year on year both in membership and people going to competitions to represent the club.

Well you did a great job there. If I'd had to guess I'd have said St Brendans had the most runners at the event as the place seemed to be a sea of blue. Turns out An Riocht had slightly more but they were the hosting club! Great job on the turnout and well done on your run.