If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)

This is my Redemption Arc

• Registered Users Posts: 10,019 ✭✭✭✭ Murph_D

Apologies if you've discussed this already but what's the thinking behind the consecutive days, as opposed to scheduled rest days? I've been taking fewer rest days myself recently, but not sure really whether it's a good thing or not!

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭ babacool

I definitely hear ya. I remember a few years back seeing you running 3 weeks in a row and asking “why would you do that” and you said something like “I usually only take rest days before a big race” and I was like “wow. Mental but wow” until you got me into starting that too and sure the first 8 days feel horrible but after 10 days I usually stop counting and 10 become 20 and 20 become 40 and so on. All of a sudden your fitness improves (if you take those runs slow), mentally you are stronger and you can eat more 😁.

in short: I definitely take an easy 5-8k run over any rest day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭ squinn2912

Hmm this is making me rethink a bit. Yesterday I took a rest day after feeling drained on Tuesday. I could well have run and was a bit grumpy I didn’t. Also the legs probably feel heavier than if I’d crawled out a 5 mile spin of the legs.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭ Swashbuckler

Feck. Hope they're OK and hopefully you avoid it. Plenty of examples (my own house included) of not everyone in the house catching it.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭ _gir

Good luck OP! Same boat as me, unfit dad of 2 weins and maybe a third on the way, so have no idea when I’ll have time to devote. Still trying though!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ Wottle

Dad of 3, the eldest is now 18, one foot firmly in the freedom camp :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭ E.coli

Thanks P, like I said not the highest of hopes with the youngest being symptomatic and still so young that he is in my arms through the night when not sleeping but sure doing what I can to mitigate chances so all I can do, herself floored with it but seems to be on right trajectory day by day feeling a little better

very similar boats so.. Think there comes a point when have to be a little selfish with time to yourself for your own mental sanity, I made mistake previously of dropping everything at slightest inconvenience to others and ultimately in long term was more detrimental in terms of energy levels etc for being there for kids and family

Haha lucky you, our clock resets in July 😬

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭ _gir

To be honest, they are both under 4. I think once they’re 5 or so, I can start getting more freedom to be fitter. So I’m trying atm but recognise there will be a time when it becomes much easier

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ Wottle

Congratulations to you guys, very exciting times ahead. Have you tried 5:30am runs yet?

Ah congrats man.................all i'll say is three is "different". Good luck! I'm always here if you need any coaching. 😂 Time for you to cash in on favors owed 😀

Haha thanks man think we are resigned to the fact that it means no one gets a break with the other looking after the kids haha

Just hoping fact I never really got back into a routine after the second will stand to me haha

You'll find a way to get the runs in. When our third was born last September I struggled to see how it would be possible but look at me now - training for a marathon at the most unsuitable time possible! Don't underestimate just how much newborns sleep. I've been lucky in that our first two are supersleepers. Pretty much not a peep from them from 8pm to 7am most nights (the odd hiccup here and there).

Getting back to work will help too - that lunchbreak will quickly become the highlight of your day 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭ Lambay island

Great news and best of luck. I'm sure you will find a way to somehow get the runs in!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

Aww big huge congrats L 🤗

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭ Annie get your Run

Ah that's lovely news, congrats to you both 😍

• Registered Users Posts: 10,019 ✭✭✭✭ Murph_D

Another one! Congrats.

not too worried about the 3rd sleeping, it’s the second haha. To be honest I think it’s just more about being smart about when I run and not expecting kids to play ball with regards making plans, something I definitely did in the past putting runs off till they were asleep and assuming they would stay that way. In terms of work doesn’t look like I’ll be heading back to office any time soon in any meaningful way, it’s looking like going forward may only be going into the office a couple of times a month.

Thanks D, definitely have better buy in this time around from the OH as she saw what a cranky git I am without running since last year haha

Cheers folks, yeah D but of a surprise to us too so soon after Finley

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭ Back in Black

Congrats on number 3 - that's the full back line sorted!! Half backs next 😀

Half back line only ever got in the way on the overlap (I think you can tell who only ever played left full)

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭ Back in Black

All the kids nowadays want to be half backs or maybe that's just a Cavan thing!! We had 20 lads at under 13 last year and on the first day out we asked them their best position - 14 said half back!!! 😮

To be fair my GAA days are about 15 years ago an awful lot has changed, had the luxury of a 1500m All Ireland champion/Celtics Steeplecase champ playing in front of me in half back so we gave each other a good bit of cover to roam

Shades of "Swashbuckler 2019" levels of stress for you at the mo. Impressive you're managing to keep the ship at least pointing in the right direction even if its not going at the speed you would like.....yet... Congrats on the clear house. Must be a relief. I was solo parenting for a day last week and I knew all about it. It's very much a stress/recover/adapt process though 😂. Give me all three for a day. Then a week later having two seems like a walk in the park.

Interesting your definition of Tempo-Marathon pace being 2hr effort. I always just assumed marathon pace was marathon pace rather than associating a race effort time with it. I always did like the way you distinguished between threshold and tempo. I'm very much from the "tempo = marathon pace" brigade.

When you say "Steady - approx. 20/40 sec per mile slower than LT/MP" do you mean 20s slower than LT or 40s slower than MP? If so should they be the other way around? I know nothing is as rigid as that to the second but just interested to see if my understanding of what you're saying is right.