Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Disagreement over having a child during Covid

• 01-12-2021 8:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭

My girlfriend and I had agreed just before Covid that we would try for a baby in the next year or two. She is now asking me to start realistically considering it - as in - very soon.

I am completely against having children during Covid. I feel like this pandemic has had a very negative impact on children. They have been robbed of some important childhood things - not able to go to schools for months at a time. Having to stay away from grandparents for months at a time. Now looking like mask wearing coming in for children so socialising is different. Told not to go on playdates. Basically children are not allowed to have normal childhoods at the moment.

Bringing a child into this environment is something I feel would be extremely selfish. I would not willingly force anybody to go through this pandemic and what has gone on.

With new variants, and restrictions being reintroduced in spite of huge vaccine roll out, I feel like there is genuinely no end in sight to this. I would be very uncomfortable bringing a child into the world in these circumstances.

And then, who knows what restrictions will be like in terms of hospitals when it comes time to give birth - maybe I won't be able to attend scans or check ups. Maybe I'll only be allowed to be at the birth for a reduced period. Maybe I will only be able to see the baby at certain times.

Anyway, that's where my head is at in relation to this. My girlfriend is saying it will be fine, and she has friends who are having or who have had babies during Covid. My opinion on them is the exact same as what I've written above - I think it's a bit selfish to be honest.

I feel quite strongly about it and I haven't quite let her know just how strongly I feel about it - but if I do that I'm effectively saying I am not willing to have children for a completely unknown amount of time. And I did make a promise that we would, which I take seriously, but I just can't shake that having a child right now is wrong.

Thoughts?

Try for the child now. When they are entering school in 5 years time it will be in reeling in the years only.

Fertility particularly for women drop as they age, what may be an easier conception now may be v difficult or impossible in a few years

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭Fred Astaire

I'm aware of fertility and that it will get more difficult to conceive (also I have no interest in being in my mid to late 50's running around after a teenager) so if it's something that she is set on then it may come to a point where we have to break up so she can have children like she wants.

I just can't, in good conscience, bring a child into the world right now while all this is going on.

You've said the bit about reeling in the years - and I would have been inclined to agree with you 2 or 3 months ago - my stance was definitely softening, but the new restrictions, the new variant etc makes me think it's hard to see a time in the next 2-3 years when this will not be a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭enricoh

What ages are ye? My sister in law put off trying for a couple of years- wanted to visit Oz etc, and is regretting it now coming up to 40.

I am 32 and she is 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭growleaves

I think your gf has the right instinct and you have been (understandably) demoralised.

It is never wrong to have children imo. At the moment, moreso than at other times, it is like making an act of faith in the future.

You can organise playdates, refuse to mask your child, visit grandparents - you're not a hostage to official meddling and overreaction.

There may be disadvantages ahead its true but there may also be a lot of joy and love ahead.

I think it's older, school aged children that have/will be mostly affected by this pandemic. Our second was born two weeks before the March 2020 lockdown and she is far more sociable than our first. That's down to us being more experienced and relaxed parents.

This pandemic will likely be over by the time your child is ready for school, which is the age when these things really start to have an impact. Also, you'll have no real life for the first few years of the child's life so you may as well have no life in the middle of a pandemic.

We have a third child due in March and I have zero concerns about the impact of the pandemic on the child.

• Administrators Posts: 14,384 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Covid hit in March 2020. So you are now coming up to the 2 year limit on when you agreed to start trying for a baby. As mentioned above, if your gf gets pregnant tonight it is still going to be 5 years before they are starting school. And you have to think about socialising.

I have 4 children and the one piece of advice that I regularly return to with regards being a parent is deal with what's in front of you today. The future doesn't exist yet. Deal with now, not with what might happen. So making a plan now to not have a child because you are concerned about the child socialising and having to wear a mask in school in 5 years time is a fruitless exercise.

Deal with the now. Now, you are allowed attend scans. Partners are allowed attend the birth. They are allowed visit the mother and baby in the postnatal ward. Yes Covid is still here. It may be here forever. Numbers are high, but people are less sick.

If you don't want a child right now, when do you think you will want one? If Covid never disappears completely do you want to remain childless forever? This is something you have to be honest with your gf about. If you decide you don't want to have a child, possibly ever, then you have to tell her that and give her the opportunity to decide if she wants to stay and wait in hope, or move on and take her chances elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭YellowLead

OP do you want children or are you agreeing to it to keep your partner happy?

My friend had a baby earlier this year and she is the most thriving happy baby I’ve met!

While it’s true your partner is only 30 so if she has no undiagnosed issues she isn’t under time pressure just yet - if you agreed to have children with her it’s time to get to it or leave her to find somebody else who does. Covid sounds like an excuse in my opinion - covid won’t really impact a potential baby for years plus it might take years to conceive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I get where you are coming from, there's so much uncertainty.

However there are some things you can't put off forever.

You don't say how old you both are. While obviously the older you are the more at risk from fertility issues and other health issues. I had geriatric pregnancies and conceived both on the first attempt so the "rule" doesn't always hold true.

That said it could take a couple of years and what happens if you find out there is a problem and need to start ivf etc.

Realistically you are at least a year away from a physical baby , I really hope Covid is under control by that time. Even if it's not, the first year of a newborn is usually spent fairly close to home anyway, lots of babies in normal times wouldn't be having playdates. As for grandparents visiting etc they've been vaccinated so unless the grandparents have massive social lives mixing with everyone, it should be save enough to visit.

If I were you I'd tell your girlfriend exactly what you said here,and try to reach a compromise maybe start trying in 6 months.

What's your end game....do you plan on not trying until covid is a thing of the past? There is a possibility, hopefully slight, that covid is here to stay...so do you plan to be childless?

I remember after I had my first Syria started erupting and that photo of the drowned boy was on all the front pages etc. I was so overwhelmed wondering what have I done, why did I bring a baby into this. Etc. Then I was watching reeling in the years ....the Vietnamese war, the Cuban missile crisis, various recessions were everything looked so grim and thought if our parents thought the same, that it wasn't worth the risk to bring a baby into stormy times, none of us would be here......the point is there will always be some uncertainty, always some doom that can happen, you just have to take that leap of faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Tork

Fred, are you sure this is about Covid? It sounds like an awfully convenient excuse for opting out of having a child to me. Unless you're one of those people who lives in places like the Covid forums here, revels in negativity and has convinced themselves that this is never going to end? It is true that things aren't looking so good at the moment but path out of the woods rarely runs in a straight line. The vaccines will improve, as will the drugs that are used to treat those who are ill with covid. There are also signs that this latest variant may not be as nasty as the previous ones (this last line may not age well...) This isn't the first pandemic that has come along. Most people didn't know or care about the Spanish Flu until covid came along. Yet it killed 25-50 million people and lasted for over 2 years.

BBOC made some good points about having children. For most people there is never an ideal time to have them. They'll always wish their job/house/financial situation was better but they manage just fine when their children come along. Nobody can say for certain what the future holds for any of us.

BY historical standards we are living in the best of times. A Pandemic of this kind hitting previously would have resulted in large scale warfare, doomsday cults and famine.

One of the most difficult thing with a new baby is the endless stream of visitors and relatives etc that really wear you down. Covid has kept them away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,779 ✭✭✭✭kippy

You will always find a reason 'not' to being a child into the world. The world is always a tough place and if you are to believe many getting tougher.

In reality your child is at least 4 years away from 'missing out' due to Covid. Assuming covid is still a thing then.

Perhaps you need to ask yourself if this is truly the reason you are putting this off as it is a pretty weak one relative to the other considerations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭bodyguard1

Maybe you are not ready to have a child yet but don't want to come out and say this to your GF afraid that it will hurt her feelings or make you come across as not committed to the relationship. Worrying about something that may or may not effect the child attending school in 5 Years or more should you be lucky enough to conceive is unrealistic. If we spent our life worrying about what may or may not occur in the future is pointless we have no control over these issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,692 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I think your concerns are not really all that rational to be honest.

Yes, there may be hospital restrictions and the like during the pregnancy and birth, but on the other hand, working from home would give you the kind of daily interaction parents in the past would have loved.

You are six years away from your child going to school. Yes, I suppose it's possible that Covid could still be impacting on schools then, but if you think like that, it could be impacting in any way on anything, and how would you ever live your life or make any plans at all.

More than anything, anything else at all, a child benefits from a happy and stress free home environment and loving parent(s). If you can provide that together, you really have very little to worry about.

But if you really are set against it, tell her now, she has all the facts at her disposal to make the decision that is best for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,874 ✭✭✭standardg60

This has nothing to do with covid for me either. The OP agreed to have a child 'within the next year or two', so nothing too concrete, but now it's come to the crunch on the girlfriend's side he's running for the hills.

OP why haven't you married this girl before you've started discussing children? I'd be asking myself this question first and if i didn't have a good answer i'd be letting her go and find someone who is actually committed to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Why do people need to be married to each other before they can start a family together?

Ignore that advice, OP.

To thine own self be true

The marriage question isn't relevant in my eyes. I am committed, that really isn't in question in my eyes, I have issues with marriage for other reasons.

As for children - I won't lie and say that I'm crazy about having children, but at the same time it's not something I'm against doing.

I think I would be a good father, I've had plenty of experience with babies and children, I was the eldest child with a massive age gap between me and the youngest so I would often have fed them/changed them, winding, nappies, put them down for bed - all the usual.

We have babysat a few times in the last few months and it's me who usually is the one able to get the baby to calm down when upset, or sleep. She always says that I would be an amazing father because she thinks I am great with kids.

I'm not looking for a way out, I am committed. We have a good relationship and I'm quite sure if I said that I wanted to wait another year or two that she would, but that isn't fair and I already made the promise - my word is important to me to keep.

The Covid thing is a real concern of mine, it's not something that I've just thought up as a deflection tactic - I don't like how children have been treated during this pandemic and it's not easing up. It's not an environment I want to bring a child into if I could help it - I would rather they have a normal childhood as opposed to one where they maybe couldn't go to school or creche at times and have to wear a mask the whole time, or be told they shouldn't be playing with other children.

There have been some valid points made about the length of time between now and when this would really be a problem like I have described. I take on board the point about always being able to find a reason not to bring a child into the world too.

Because nowadays it's much more of a personal commitment between two people rather than something that needed to be 'seen' to be done by others to make it acceptable to have children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

OP you're coming across fairly genuine tbh.

It's not going back on your word to reevaluate a situation. For all you know she might be having a little wobble too.

The only thing I would say is if she's working from home the pregnancy will be alot easier on her without the commute. The commute almost "killed" me but then I was sick right up until I gave birth. I would have absolutely loved to have been able to wfh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Some great advice above.

I'm the same age :)

We wanted kids for years, We had a tough couple of years we, unfortunately, had a miscarriage and a stillbirth before we found out my wife was pregnant a week before lockdown! Saying you want kids mightn't be as easy as looking at the GF in that way and boom she's pregnant. So think about that.

Our bundle of joy came in November 2020, Cases were rising but it was grand. It was great no one bothered us at all, We got to relax about becoming a family instead of family/friends 'helping' yet they need more looking after than the new baby. I'm now WFH and it's great seeing her grow up! I would of been out of the house at 7am home at 7pm. She would be in bed so she would never of seen me. I spoke about this with friends who had a kid 6 years ago and the second in Dec 2019 and they have a completely different relationship with their kids. For me covid was actually a blessing, So to think that from your point of view I was selfish I would have to disagree with. It has given us a lot more opportunities to be involved with our kids a lot more.

As others have said you adapt when they arrive, I think there is something else going on here and you are using Covid as that excuse to stop it all. Do you really want kids? She has waited 2 years for you, Time to get in the pot or get out.

It honestly sounds to me like you don't really want to have a child and are using the pandemic to make a lot of excuses to as back track on the promise you made to your girlfriend.

Maybe sub-consciously.

Especially when you are even considering breaking up with her over it.

Sorry.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I think you are over reacting. It is a great time to have kids as working form home looks to be here to stay. I have spent more time with the kids in the last 20 months than the rest of their lives before that.

The schools being shut was difficult but the government seem committed to prioritising schools above everything else.

If anything (in our case) I would say it was more selfish having kids when we would be gone 10 hours of every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,125 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I think the Children going through this, who are old enough to remember will be much stronger and well adjusted because of it. I'd say they will also be happier in the long run than those for years before or after COVID.

My child was born this year, she'll only ever hear of COVID in stories. If you have a child next year, will they ever even know what Covid is outside of history class?

I was a directionless loss at times before her, I'd remake the world now to protect and help her.

The sheer incredible joy I get from her squeezing my finger, pulling my beard, her laugh and on and on, I never thought such joy or fulfilment was possible.

I don't mean to be cruel, I only want to help and for you to be happy but your post is toxic and sounds like you are very depressed, been there too.

Children grew up previously in much tougher times where COVID wouldn't have even registered as a serious disease, that's within living memory and there is a lot to suggest they were much happier.

That last line is a very good point which I hadn't really considered yet.

You do come across as genuine so perhaps I may have been a bit harsh on you.

But at the same time I think your fears are irrational. There's really no such thing as a 'normal' childhood. Your childhood is normal to you and that's about it. And I would say there's never an ideal time to have a child. You will, if you really want to, find a reason not to go for it now. Kids are born into various scenarios and are remarkably resilient. Once they are brought up in a caring family unit, you cannot really control much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,465 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It's a very practical point OP.

I personally would wait until Covid and restrictions are in the rear view mirror.

A baby is hard work without cabin fever due to stay at home orders etc from government.

It's also important to remember the pandemic and restrictions have been life changing for many people. I could certainly understand how someone's views on life, and their partners, could have changed massively over the last 2 years.

If your "not sure" about kids, do not have them

If this is the case OP then your fears are misguided. There is nothing more important for a child than to be raised within a loving relationship. As mentioned above they are extremely resilient, and also take into account that while covid is leading us to lead different lives than we're used to, someone being born into this scenario doesn't know anything different, so all or any restrictions will seem absolutely normal to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,461 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I get where you're coming from OP. I get the occasional twang of guilt thinking about climate change and that I'm not being as green as I could and what they will have to deal with as a result. And I massively agree with "there is no perfect time" to have kids. I'm only a few years older than you but I've four, ranging from 17 to 3, and I have to agree with the poster above who said you get unparalleled quality time with kids during work from home. My 3 year old is obsessed with me much to the chagrin of her long suffering, front line mother.

Having the foresight to consider the state of the world is not the sign of an uncommitted parent. It doesn't necessarily mean you are making the right or wrong choices but a few things that are truths to consider:

1. As you get older, it will be harder to conceive
    2. As of now, you do not know of any potential fertility issues, you could have longer delays ahead of you if these are uncovered.
    3. There has never been a "perfect" time to have a baby.

Best of luck OP, kids are a massive undertaking, but you seem to be planning appropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Sounds like you either aren’t mature enough to have children, don’t really want children, or don’t see a future with your partner.

Or maybe COVID is just affecting you more than you are aware. You shouldn’t get so stressed about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭colly10

I’d forget about the hospital, I had my first child in January when things were much stricter and while it wasn’t ideal, it also wasn’t a major issue (and i’m saying that despite the alarm going off in the early stages). There’s little or nothing you can do in hospital other than provide support and if she’s happy she can manage with the current situation then there should be no issue there. From your own point of view, you’d consider not having a child cause you’ll see it a little less while in hospital.

On the future, it’s about 6 years before your child will be in school. Even if elements of this will still be around then there won’t be any shortage of people that will ignore them. My son has been seeing his grandparents since he was 3 weeks old, he will be going on play dates and won’t be wearing a mask when I think he’s too young for it.

The pandemic has been ideal for my son. If it hadn’t happened I’d hardly have seen him with work. I’ve been working from home since March of last year though so have got to spend lots of time with him and he’s a very happy child

As someone who works with children, I can assure you, school-aged children won't be happier in the long run due to Covid. I see kids with anxiety, addiction to devices etc etc all due to lockdown.

The post is honest rather than toxic, and suggesting the OP is depressed is irresponsible.

As for providing life with direction, I don't think that's a good reason to have kids. So many people think having children is a way of dealing with things they have going on in their lives, looking for fulfilment or papering over cracks in relationships, but these are all absolutely the wrong motivation for having children in my opinion.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I think it's a very personal thing for yourself and your girlfriend to discuss OP. For decades we always heard the phrase 'who'd bring a child into a world like this', so I bet you're not alone in how you're thinking not in these current times or any other!

I can't blame you to be honest. Lock down hasn't been that bad on us and the work life balance is incredible! For every downside we've experienced parenting wise there have been a fair amount of positives too. Will our kids suffer long term because of their experience? Maybe but I bet some will benefit from the lessons they've picked up. How it will turn out no one knows. But I think some with younger children have found it more difficult than we have.

We all have a choice, press pause on our lives until Covid passes or carry on (within safety guidelines/advice) with them. Only you can decide what's right for you and I don't think anyone can tell anyone else the way they're facing it is wrong.

If you have decided you absolutely do not want children until covid passes, yourself and your girlfriend need to have that conversation so that she can consider her options too.

Interesting points. There will be long term psychological effects for a proportion of kids after Covid. The same with adults no doubt. I don't think it's a reason not to have a kid however.

As for kids papering over the craics, true in some cases. Kids are a distraction from a lot of things. Some of us need distractions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Sounds like your girlfriend already has a child.

if she got pregnant tomorrow it’ll be 9 months before you see a baby and another 5 years after that befire you have to worry about it wearing a mask to school.

ive 3 kids they’ve had a good life regardless of Covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Your GF is right do it now.

Things were bad back in march 2020 and Jan 2021 but they improving, Luke O’Neill said in the radio that pandemics historically take about 4 years to end so I’m guessing we have at least one more year of this. Covid is here to say but it will fall into the background like the Spanish flu did. But what if something else happens after that, a recession, a sick parent…

Don’t let COVID be the decider, was it you that wanted to wait a year or two or her? Do you want kids, if it wasn’t for Covid would you haven one now? If you don't want kids you better be honest about it with you GF.

Kids need one thing above all Love and been home more with work from home covid has silver lining I’m a Dad of twins and they rock, I was 39 when they were born, been 33 and a dad well you have more energy, don’t put it off. 

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭TheadoreT

In historic terms there's really never been a safer time to bring a child into the world. Your reasoning is so irrational that it's either a deflection tactic or you've fallen so deep into covid angst that you need professional help.

I know of several babies born in covid times and familes all doing well, if anything the "new normal" has given people much more quality time with their kids. They adapt to whatever environment they're born into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,376 ✭✭✭facehugger99

If you don't want to have a child it sounds like you need to come up with a better excuse than Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭rob316

We agreed to have our 2nd back in Feb 2020, fell pregnant just as the pandemic started. Yes it was different, I couldn't go to scans, couldn't be their for long at the birth. Couldn't do the usual visiting with the new baby, didn't have much family over but ya know what? I couldn't care. Covid stuff is only all noise, life goes on. I still go home to my baby and wife everyday as normal and spend the same time together. Don't let this shite come between you and your partner making a family now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Piollaire

My thoughts are that you know the answer yourself - you are leading her up the garden path. At her age she really wants to get on with having children. She will be devastated if you flake on her now - your rationalisations won't cut it. She won't know if you will ever go through with having children. Starting over for her will be tough but the longer you leave it the worse it will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

I think whatever way i say this its going to sound mean, but jesus dude, sh1t or get off the pot!!

Covid is such a crap excuse NOT to want kids. Also as someone else said, do you think you are going to fire one in and boom she's pregnant? Sure that can happen but how about she comes off contraception (assumming she is on something) allow time for her body to regulate, get a normal cycle going and start trying. It could take a month, it could take 2 years, you don't know!

I was 46 having my first, my wife is a lot younger. I am tired all the time, have little free time, and spend spare cash on the kid and I wouldnt change a thing for a minute!!! 3 years later, we decided to talk about having another one and actually hit the mark on the first go. I am delighted! Hearing the words 'daddy' from a tiny human you made is amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Covid will have no impact on your hypothetical baby,

thoughts:

you don’t want a kid

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Uptheduff

We had our first in March 2020 just as the first restrictions came in. We cocooned ourselves at home for the first few months without every Tom Dick and Harry knocking on our door wanting a gawp. It was lovely.

Between maternity leave and PUP and WFH, our child has had one of her parents with her every day up until very recently when she started crèche at 20 months old. She's a sociable, content little person whose only knowledge of the pandemic is knowing the word "mask". I have no worries about her. I very much doubt she'll remember the pandemic. I seriously don't expect there to be restrictions ongoing by the time she's ready to start school. (I could be wrong of course but I think that's an overly pessimistic expectation.)

I think your fears are fairly unrealistic.

A baby doesn't do anything that would be affected by covid for the first few years of their lives.

Given that, as everyone has said, it's gonna be 6 years before the kid is going to school, I think there's something more going on here. Your refusal based on covid just doesn't seem likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

OP I went back from maternity leave 6 weeks before the first lockdown in March 2020. And honestly, I'm so thankful in a lot of ways because I got time at home with my little boy that so many parents did not before me. It was great. The main effect Covid has probably had on him has been testing (coz he's prone to chest issues a bit), us not really knowing the other parents in creche the same way as would have been before & a little less socialising. That said, he's 2.5 years old and it doesn't seem to be bothering him at all! He's in creche every day so he gets to socialise with other children. Mask wearing for him is a long way in the future if at all & mainly he's just learnt that washing his hands is important (not a bad lesson).

Yes there could be restrictions in relation to hospital visits etc but honestly my partner didn't come to any bar the scans with me. It was just grand to do them myself & neither of us felt the need for him to be there fore them all.

There is never a "right" time to have children - there's always something whether it's this, or money, or anything else. You just need to see is it right for the 2 of you right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

The marriage question isn't relevant in my eyes. I am committed, that really isn't in question in my eyes, I have issues with marriage for other reasons.

I'm sorry, but you can't brush this off that easily, and is probably a big part of the challenges you face with your girlfriend now. What are the "other" reasons you have with marriage?

The whole concept of marriage is a commitment to be a family. I'm not talking about the hocus-pocus religious side. Nor the "big-splurge" wedding. I am talking about the legal. Why are you against signing a piece of paper to say that you are committed to this girl for the rest of your lives? Why are you against it being "official" that the two of you are a couple? Especially when there are massive legal and financial advantages to doing so?

Children are for life, not just a "few good years". And while some marriages do break down, the fact that you are not willing to marry her in the first place means you are really standing on very thin ice when it comes to planning on bringing a life into this world.

There is a very simple checklist before deciding to have a baby

• Do I want to have kids? (not "are they fun for a few hours/days?", or "isn't it exciting/fun?", but "am I happy to have kids 24/7 throughout all the age ranges for the rest of my life, and who will dominate said life?")
    • Can I take care of myself independently (not relying on parental support or state benefits etc)?
    • Can we afford to care for a child independently?
    • Do I want to spend the rest of my life with my partner by my side, where I am tied to them emotionally, legally and financially?
    • Am I happy to give up 90% of my social life and personal plans etc, at least for the next 5-10 years?

If the answer to any of the above are "no", then you are not ready to have kids. Because that's all that matters and anything else is just BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Humria

OP what struck me about your post is that you said your girlfriend is unaware of how strongly you feel about it and that it means that you are not certain of when you'll feel comfortable about having children.

You owe her an honest conversation about how you are feeling about it. The pandemic could last years. You may never feel comfortable bringing a child into the world and that's legitimate. You are entitled to feel that way and if it means you don't want children, then that's your decision.

What you're not entitled to do is be vague about when you want children and string your girlfriend along for a few years. My guess is that you haven't told her because you're avoiding a difficult conversation and there's an urge to push it out for another year. You owe her the truth - you don't know if, or when, you'll want to start having children because of the pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭3DataModem

A public health nurse confirmed to me that children born in the first half of last year have thrived better than most, largely because the parents were left to get on with it without friends / family interfering, dropping by and disrupting things, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

The lady is always right in these matters. Assuming you are otherwise generally happy together, go with the flow.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Kids are great life coaches.They don't give you single second to worry about future or past, you are in the here and now with them because they want you RIGHT NOW all the time.☺

Parenting a teen in your 50s is one thing but I can tell you now that we are programmed to be fertile young for a reason.Kids are exhausting.Honestly, the younger you start, the more energy you have.The more energy she has to get through a pregnancy.I had mine at 31, 33 and 35 and by number 3, I was struggling.I am 39 now and on the go constantly with them.

My eldest was halfway through Junior Infants when this started.It's been pretty rubbish for them.But the other side of it is that very early on we had to accept there was just more risk in our lives than for individual adults.Kids touch stuff, they get in people's way, they are all over each other and you know what, by now, I just let them.It brings a lot of this into perspective and makes you realise how ridiculous it all is.

Working from home has been a godsend for many parents.My kids were more traumatised when I started to go back to the office once a week, they couldn't remember when I had been there 4 or 5 days.And I don't work particularly long hours.They simply could not understand why I would need to be gone most of the day when I just hadn't been for the 20 months prior to it.

I do think you need to ask yourself what this is really about.Covid isn't a reason - if anything, having kids will teach you better than anything else that everything is temporary.You seem to have doubts but be clear with yourself why they are actually there.It may not be Covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Myself and my wife started to try after getting married, literally straight away she fell pregnant, but we lost it(well it was an empty sack pregnancy so we never had anything to lose)...and been trying since with no joy...that's 10 months now