Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v Ulster build up thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,862 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Its petty to suggest someone is a troll when you dont agree with their viewpoint, if you come from a different point of view then be mature enough to articulate it.

Im sure if i was arsed it something thats reportable but im old and bold enough to not give a fiddlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,594 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Well I've read all you've had to say and I don't think anybody should take you seriously. Your opinion on Baloucoune is just retarded so you've got to be joking.

Nope not joking, i just dont see that he has what it takes for international level, hes ulsters version of Adam Byrne, all fur coat.

• Administrators Posts: 55,084 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

He’s twice the player Adam Byrne is, not sure why you insist on digging this hole for yourself deeper.

Thats hardly great is it.

My postman whose handling is better and consistently turns up is twice the player adam byrne is.

• Administrators Posts: 55,084 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Best young winger in Irish rugby right now.

He’ll get a ton of caps and you’ll get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You haven't got a clue Lawrence. Earls wasn't picked at centre ahead of Hume for any of the games. Earls was picked at 23 for all 3 games in the Autumn internationals. The centres that were picked ahead of Hume were Aki, Henshaw and Ringrose. Not Earls.

The wingers that were picked ahead of Earls were Lowe, Conway and Balacoune.

Using your logic Balacoune is a better player than Earls because he was picked ahead of him.

Earls was picked. Hume wasnt.

Therefore in the real world Earls is better than Hume.

Not that difficult a concept really.

Earls was picked ahead of Dillane so therefore he's a better second row than Dillane.

Again....you haven't got a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Hume really stood out last night. Very good player. Hadn't seen much of him before.

But not as good at centre as Earls.

*Moves goalposts* player as Earls

Earls didnt come on as a sub in the second row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭Harryd225

I don't follow rugby at all so can someone explain how the hell Ireland are playing ulster?

That doesn't make any sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭eclipsechaser

The real match was Leinster v Ulster but since so many of the Leinster team are on the Irish squad, it was a tongue in cheek effort to wind people up.

Naturally Ulster won the game, almost certainly as a direct response to the disrespect shown on boards :)

Earls was picked at 23.

Some simple questions for you.

Is Lowe a better winger because he was picked to start and not Earls?

Is Conway a better winger because he was picked to start and not Earls?

Is Balacoune a better winger because he was picked and not Earls?

Is Henshaw a better centre because he was picked and not Earls?

Is Aki a better centre because he was picked and not Earls?

Is Ringrose a better centre because he was picked and not Earls?

Just because Earls was picked at 23 doesn't make him a better centre than a player who didn't make the squad ahead of the 3 established centres who were all available for selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,594 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Amazing how you are all against two black wingers. Do I smell a bit of racism here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Ulster could have something going with a 9-12-13 combination of either Doak or Cooney, McCloskey and Hume. I'm still unconvinced by Burns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,673 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

It’s not so much that he doesn’t have a clue, imo. It’s that he doesn’t argue in good faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭TRC10

Ulster>AllBlacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭TRC10

hes ulsters version of Adam Byrne, all fur coat.

Of all the wingers in Ireland you can compare him to...

Anyone with half a brain could tell you they're very different players

Cop on honestly. Everyone knows what you're doing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,013 ✭✭✭✭bilston

To be fair Burns played very well last night. But personally if we want to compete at a similar level to Leinster then we need someone better.

Doak is the future at 9, Hume is the present and future at 13, McCloskey is key to how Ulster play, but Stewart Moore is one to watch at 12 as well, but 10 is a problem. Burns will take us so far. I would be interested to see Doak at 10 at some point if the opportunity ever arises. But then again why mess him around.

As poor, inaccurate and ill-disciplined as I’ve seen Leinster in awhile. Molony, Henshaw and Connors possibly the only ones with any credit from that? Disappointed for Dan Leavy, any word on his injury? Seemed to indicate a HIA. Hopefully nothing too bad for the guy.

Think Harry Byrne needs to be starting a few games. Luke McGrath seems to have some horror passes like that in his locker from time to time but Henshaw did brilliantly.

Ulster were good value for that, tho. Hume and Timoney particularly good for Ulster, for me. They seemed very good at identifying which rucks to go after and which to leave entirely, getting as many back into the defensive line as quickly as possible.

Doak was getting some serious elevation on his box kicks, it was Beauden Barrett-esque at times. Ulster probably felt that it should have been more comfortable than it was, given the possessions and territory they had, and the fact he Leinster try came off a poor exit attempt from them. Lowry whipped off pretty quickly after that, I wonder if that was a pointed substitution.

Thought Hume’s fend for the try was good, but Larmour’s tackle attempt wasn’t great.

Also thought both sides had reason to be irked with the ref, but didn’t think he was anywhere near as bad as made out when reading back on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

And yet everyone keeps responding as if he does.

ACAAF956-8ED4-4FA7-8B5D-1C59F3358A47.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

I was surprised by the Leinster team sheet. A blind side at 8! Max Deegan on the bench? An openside at 6?

Not surprised at all. Ulster would have been kicking themselves since their last outing. It's bizarre that someone thinks that Balacoune is similar to A Byrne. Byrne is a Krispy Kreme. He is very soft for a man of his size. My opinion only. He's a liability in defense. Balacoune in my opinion, is the most rounded wing in Ireland, along with Conway.

Hume is into the squad with an injury to Henshaw or Ringrose! He's young and he's good! Very good.

Leinster are going to have to take a look at some of these lads and think about the contract situation. Treacy was poor. I'm a big fan, but he was poor. Ed Byrne too. Very poor showing. Toner is well past being a starter. Anyone of Dunne or Deeny would be a better look.

How was your weekend Awec?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Ah here. Lawrence is entitled to his opinions, however ridiculous they may be, without people drawing inferences of racism.

Yes,yes,both were picked, yes, yes, yes.

Yes it does, unless your suggesting the squads picked didnt have the best players available in them.

If hume is good enough he will be picked. If hes not he wont. Simples.

And lets not forget Earls was picked to cover midfield against Argentina (not hume) when there were other experienced options available to cover the back 3 - Carbery & Henshaw.

So had farrell considered Hume superior to Earls he could have made the bench and we would not have been stuck for back 3 cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Of course, in our last game, Baloucoune was picked. Conway wasn't.

Therefore, in the real world etc etc...

Lets not be getting to far ahead of ourselves here and bring it back to reality.

Beating leinster in the RDS is a great result, that can be qualified with a few statements but lets just leave it there.

Away to the Ospreys next weekend is a big test for Ulster, putting in back to back performances will set them up for the Clermont and Saints game and will tell a lot more about where this team is and where its going than the RDS this weekend.

A win at home to saints is expected and required and they would want to be getting a point away to Clermont and a win in wales.

But I dont see that happening and would be surprised to see Ulster win 3 of their next 5 games culminating in a rematch against Leinster which could be tasty.

As far as balacoune goes i think he has a long way to go, and a lot of people to play his way past before he will see meaningful caps for ireland.

Your optimistic that will happen.

Im not.