Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gran Turismo 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I just splashed out on the 911 Turbo:

20241121_200712.jpg

And the Escort RS Cosworth:

20241121_200733.jpg

I hate the Jimny races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,693 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Got those 2 aswell. Thr Cossie was a joy round the ring, probably the cleanest lap I've ever done on the ring, and I enjoyed every second. The 911 is a beast, made easy work of the weekly challenge.

The Pro update is good. It's subtle, but the PSSR enabled RT preference mode is noticeably sharper. The lighting is amazing in it, and weekly challenge 5 seems set up to show it off. I tried the performance mode, but for the first time I'm saying the graphics mode is better. I'm not noticing any real fps improvement as the graphics mode runs at at least a stable 60fps, but the sharpness is noticeably missing in performance mode. Will give the VR mode a go Sunday or Monday when I'm off.

Whoop! Whoop! After so many attempts, I just won the 30 minute 700PP race at Le Mans driving a 2006 Ferrari F430.

20241124_001526.jpg

It feels so damn good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,020 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Playing those races in a road car is verging on masochism because of the tiny fuel tanks they have compared to racing cars

Running on hard tyres and fuel on lean was my success to victory. I stopped three times and it all worked out.

Weather helped a lot too, because if their was heavy rain, I wouldn't have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,514 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I wish there was more road car orientated fuel/tyre wear races. I prefer road cars, especially when it's a modified car with 500-600hp, I've been trying to keep my cars on sport tyres just to make it interesting, sometimes race tyres are too grippy but a modified road car getting twitchy on sport tyres is great craic.

If I'm not mistaken, engine swap cars also changes the fuel tank, so if you put a race engine into a road car you get the bigger tank? I must have a look to see what cars I can mess with.

I'd be with you on that. The Cossie is way more fun to drive than most race cars. But, I did thoroughly enjoy my weekly challenge 5 with the Sauber C9 and mid range turbo. Beast, and stuck to the road. Plus the added power of the Pro made thay race look amazing, especially at the start. That new 911 is quite a fun drive too. Didn't expect Porsche's to be so grippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Lads any race events you'd recommend for just fun. Reasonable fast and easy to drive car and an event with lots of cars on a good track?

Any race round the Nürburgring with a 90s boy racer car!

I tried the one hour 800PP race at Spa. Started well before a disastrous pitlane entry and two penalties for crossing the pitlane exit line.

The worst thing though was the blue flags being waved at me. I felt ashamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Enjoyed watching this. I’m not getting a PS5 Pro but it’s fascinating to see the attention to detail that Polyphony aim for.

I think if they had built a fully fleshed out single player campaign GT7 would be the greatest console racing game ever made.

https://youtu.be/l3cZ8IR1zPc?si=213p968Xz1b-kfDd

The Hyundai Ironic 5N is coming in the next update.

I see a lot of people complaining about the Ioniq being an EV but I'd rather have a beast of a yoke like the Ioniq 5 N which has genuinely proven itself on the Nurburgring than yet another Porsche or GTR. It would be nice to see the i20N, i30N or Elantra N or even the bog standard versions to modify the hell out of.

It will be interesting to see if they mimic the gearbox option, it's cool how the car has a power band when simulating the gearbox and it's not just fake gear shifts.

Post edited by DaveyDave on

I enjoyed this week's weekly challenges. Nothing too difficult.

If we're doing Hyundai N cars, it has to be rhe N Vision 74! I'd give a testicle for that car... but I wouldn't say no to the entire N range from Hyundai. Between them and the GR range, the there's still some nice cars about!

I love this:

20241213_190201.jpg

One of my races went sideways.

20241224_205414.jpg

---

Post edited by Jordan 199 on

My last two buys for this year.

1984 Ferrari GTO:

20241231_180612.jpg

1956 356 A/1500 GS GT Carrera Speedster.

20241231_180631.jpg

I finished the 900PP race at the Nurburgring going backwards. It was lashing rain, I was on slick tyres so when I accelerated the car spun around and went backwards over the finish line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Folks, has this been considered a disappointing game? I just finished the main part of it a few nights ago and really, it doesn't feel like I've been at it for all that long. I held off getting it as it was basically full price since it launched. Picked it up about 2 weeks or so ago in Smyths when it was cheap and yeah, I've finished the main chunk of it, it would seem. I have two cafe menus to do and I think that's about it.

What has the consensus been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

I dip in and out of it I'm pretty disappointed with this drip feed not enough to keep me interested!

If it wasn't for the weekly challenges and the one lap challenges, my interest would have significantly diminished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭chonix

I agree. Got the game a while ago as a gift. Discovering the Daily Races and Weekly Challenges has really boosted my enthusiasm. I've been spending a lot of time on them lately and even joined a racing league, which has been great fun so far (creating cool liveries, learning how to be faster…etc. Of course, PS+ is necessary for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,020 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Completely disagree, even in single player there's at least 80 hours in there to get allbth gold license tests and circuit experiences, and then there's online which constitutes of about 10 hrs pw of gametime

I definitely would have liked a proper campaign and I do think the expensive cars is a joke, I'm also not a fan of the drip feed updates but overall I'm happy with the game. I have logged almost 250 hours in single player, I've gotten my money's worth.

The weekly events help but I would prefer a second tier of weekly event for a specific car. I.e 5 weekly races and a second lot of 5 weekly car specific/special events. Plus the new menu books need to be doubled or tripled. Give me more 200-600pp races, more night races and a few 600-700pp tuned road car races.

We don't even necessarily need new content, just give us new series of races. A 4-5 event for hot hatches, 60s/70s, US Vs Japan etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭chonix

Now Daily races US vs Japan (or similar) is something I would definitely like to see instead of the Gr categories.

Going backtrack on the earlier comment i made; I totally forgot there is lots of content in the game besides the usual grind; such as Music Rally; Mission Challenges; mastering the Licenses…. there is tons of content there to "drive you crazy" (bad pun, I know). So I am not dissapointed; but I mean; if I were to think a bit; GT7 is not a game you 'end' in 2 weeks time.

While I do agree that the game is a bit dull in certain ways (single offline player bit boring after you do the main menus); when you find something that clicks and engages you; then it's a blast. I don't think of it as a game I have to 'finish' (says a person that plays EA FC offline quite a lot).

PS: if anyone has interest to do a regional (US vs JP, EU vs JP, etc) BoP event online for boardsies; I'm more than happy to host and race away for fun. Drop me a message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Recently bought (thanks Santa!) a PS5 pro. Don't have the Ps5 version of GT7, but I downloaded the free version, My GT or whatever it's called.

My god, the haptics are incredible. The subtle changes in vibration as you change road surface are superb.