Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2021 US Open

Bookies have it

Raducanu 11/8

Sakkari 5/7

Fernandez 3/1

Sabalenka 1/3

Zverev 11/5

Djokovic 4/9

FAA 23/5

Medved 1/5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,560 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It's like ...

Ivan Drago v Apollo Creed .... out there

Fernadez is out of her depth at the moment.

Fernandez has been blasted off the face of the court so far

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Fernandez getting blown away right now. Will be interesting to see if she can adjust to the power somewhat and cause Sabalenka any kind of trouble. Cause if Aryna's level drops off somewhat and her A game starts to falter she doesn't usually have a plan B.

Always thought this would be a step too far for Fernandez, but hope I'll end up wrong. Have to go to bed now, but think I'll be waking up to a Sabalenka-Raducanu final. Famous last words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭josip

Went to bed one game too early :), Fernandez has broken back.

FAir play, she levels it from 4-1 down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,968 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

About to go to bed but it was looking ominous there for Fernandez as sabalenka was on fire.

Sabalenka lost her composure completely.

Had set point and netted a forehand under no pressure.

Only herself to blame.

Incredible

First set Fernadez !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭klr87

Fernandez wins yet another breaker, 5-0 now in this tournament.

I know I said I was going to bed and I am but as you say Sabalenka lost her bottle. They showed a camera shot of Sabalenka looking around when it had a dead stare for the rest.

Stats have Sabalenka way up on everything, yet a set down. Faith could be at play.

Next game huge, Fernandez on top now.

Emma game won't be startin until 3.15am at this rate.

Sabalenka levels, and Fernandez is looking a bit off the pace the last couple of games.

Second set Sabalenka

Game on

Huge chance for Fernandez, broke, but then got broken straight back.

Ferny only one game away, will need to break though.

SAby smashing rackets, two double faults in a row, 3 match points

FERNY WINS!!

Wow. An atrocious final service game from Sabalenka, and Fernandez wins 7-6 4-6 6-4.

Let's hope the second semi is as dramatic,

Fernandez sTEALING Emma's thunder.

Time to tap out, really wanted to see the other semi, but dam this game dragged on, and it will be past 3 am for the other game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

I'm not ready to go to sleep just yet, unlike last night, when I could only manage the first set of Pliskova-Sakkari before conking out. Odd that ...

Fernandez's path to the final has been absolutely brutal:

Konjuh

Kanepi

Osaka

Kerber

Svitolina

Sabalenka

Sakkari squandered 7 break points in her first two return games, Raducanu won the set 6-1. The Tennis Gods rarely show mercy. We move closer to the dream final, and the the first ever qualifier in a Slam final.

6-1 6-4 to Raducanu. Still not a set dropped, and all sorts of history made. She should have won the second set much easier, wasting 5 break points in a single game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,376 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

It is going to be some final!

Fernandez has had a seriously tough route, but Raducanu has dealt with two tough rounds extremely well..who knows with the final!

Making a grand slam final as a qualifier (the first person ever in the open era) amazing

Well Fernandez won in three sets but I wasn’t so sure after the first set and Emma Raducanu still hasn’t dropped a set which is amazing. The final is on at 9pm Irish time Saturday which is a nice convenient time.