Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Kin - RTE & AMC

• Registered Users Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Now that's a spoiler. 😁

Expect more of these in the next fortnight if major characters are bumped off, the media catching up on the success of the show.

Anyone know what US viewing figures are? I can't find anything but the reviews are solid though none are from major papers or sites. Half-decent figures and the second series is a goer I think, they'll likely take a gamble of word of mouth (though not from Boards.ie) slowly drawing people in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭gidget

Had a look ahead & read Sunday’s episode in Sky planner

Finally get to see Brendan.

Mentions Frank going to visit him in prison

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭shatners bassoon

I couldn't disagree with this more if I tried 😅

• Registered Users Posts: 17,927 ✭✭✭✭rob316

What the **** was that, I thought Eamon was the only one really playing the part but then they do this weird hippy thing. There isn't a scrap of realism in this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

I thought she was keen to give him a car so she could track the car and find out for sure if he was ratting to the other side, I guess not !

OK.. I haven't been watching it, because, obviously, it was going to be sh1te..

But the hippie scene you speak of, it's what's wrong with a lot of television recently..

The actual art of drama has been lost, and all that's left is the slick veneer of TV..scenes for the sake of it..

Hipsters with notions thinking they're artists..

Agreed and I suppose this was an attempt at character development but really it added nothing.

There’s no tense scenes in this. Remember love/hate when siobhan went to Frans caravan to get the finger bone, and there was numerous scenes just as anxiety-packed. Well there are none really in this. The only one to come close was the attempt on Michael last night. All other hits have been wham-bang thank u mam.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭qwerty13

Yet again with this show, style over substance. Seems to have focused a lot on the look of it, and some really laughable camera angles - but they forgot to commission a script that has a scrap of realism and doesn’t leak like a colander.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Pirate Master

For lads with bounties on their heads they sure do love taking risks.

Michael meeting his daughter in a public place when he knows gun men are scouring the city for any sign of him was just shockingly stupid.

Same goes for Frank meeting some random lad for a hookup. It was obvious it was a setup.

Amanda warned them what would happen if Eric didn't turn himself in but Birdy just had to stick her oar in to put Amanda in her place. And of course everything Amanda said would happen has happened.

And these people expect to be able to sell €50 million worth of gear against all odds? Not a chance.

Even the annoying caper theme music is getting on me nerves now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,358 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I think Bren is the leader of the family (We'll meet him next Episode) and Frank was made custodian while Bren is in prison, Frank is not very strong and that's why he's constantly under the watchful eye of Birdie.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It’s funny reading the comments on early Love/Hate being sh!te as I actually found Season 2 to be by far the most interesting and exciting. Granted I’d had a long-time interest in the Crumlin-Drimnagh feud on which that season was based (Rattigan v Thompson) since it was the first Dublin feud which got extensive media coverage showing windows into the criminals’ ordinary lives and friendships pre-feud (the Limerick feud never really got that kind of coverage, I know nothing about the gangs involved apart from their being gangsters) - S2 of Love/Hate borrowed heavily from that feud, in that a drug bust at a hotel with one or two gang memebers surprisingly getting away without being charged led to John Boy declaring a rat and the gang falling apart as a result. The real life feud involved a similar set up - one of the people caught wasn’t charged because he wasn’t in the room, and his murder after rat accusations was what caused the two factions to split and start fighting with eachother.

Maybe the fact that I enjoyed LH S2 while many Boardsies didn’t explains why I’m enjoying Kin while many of ye aren’t? My only real criticism so far is that there’s far more plot armour being shown than I think most of us were expecting. If this was one of the real-life feuds, at least one of the family who are regularly coming and going from their stronghold - Amanda or Michael, for example - would have been killed by now. As others have pointed out, the Cunningham assassin is a bumbling fool, but all Frank’s talk of Eamonn being able to raise an army of amateur gunmen in it for the money has so far been entirely incorrect, and none of the real life feuds I can think of played out in a similar way.

Love/Hate is the Sopranos compared to this, don't even draw comparisons. Plenty of flaws in LH but it was superbly written, interesting, realistic and had a charm/humor to it. Where's the Fran in this? That was a realistic Dublin gangster.

Gillen is just so wooden, no emotion at all. He was a violent, drug fueled sociopath in LH, I couldn't believe this Frank character threw a punch in his life nevermind he's the mastermind behind a dublin crime family.

Maybe the Americans will lap this up but I don't see this getting another season.

I liked love/hate from the start. The opening scene was the Jack tge lad getting out of prison, chatting up a bird while he bought fone credit, only to get clipped when he went outside. It was a copy of real life dublin gangland, can’t remember if it was related to Crumlin Drimnagh but happened few years down the line from it. Pretty much every story in all seasons were copied from real life.

I think people only saying L/H started slow is because Gillen was in it and played the usual cocky prick he always does. It was when Nidge came to the front that L/H became truly great and iconic. Throw in the extra great characters like Fran, Elmo and Patrick and it is a series that stands up to any. The only thing not great about watching the box sets is the great music from original RTÉ episodes is not there.

There's not really enough characters in the Kinsella family for a bunch of them to get whacked. I can only see maybe Frank or Jimmy getting killed but surely you'd need the rest for season 2.

I imagine what will happen is they'll make peace with Eamonn. He needs his drugs back to keep his customers onside. They'll probably need to give him someone or something as compensation. There'll be a bit of a split in the Kinsella family as a result. That also sounds a little anti climatic all the same

Anyone know where they filmed the retreat?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,126 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

I was wondering that myself, very interesting looking building wherever it is

• Registered Users Posts: 28,776 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

That was a house in Avoca, I think, it was for sale in the last few years, built by some architect whose name escapes me right now

Gillen can not act..

• Registered Users Posts: 28,324 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Yeah, where is the rope bridge they crossed over?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Retreat wasn't meant to be in Spain. It was meant to be in Ireland as they drove there. Sally gap was shown as the "way" there.

Could have been Avoca Lily's cafe?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,126 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Nice job, good sleuthing!

That would have driven me nuts

• Registered Users Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Thanks, I'm not usually into house porn but that was extremely cool, very Scandinavian in style. Safe to say none of us will be bidding for it anytime soon.

Post edited by Seathrun66 on

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Going to Belgium alone to meet a drug dealer was far too dangerous, so they suggested stealing all the drugs of a bigger crime boss...now there's lads out to gun them down at every corner and they're trotting about the city without as much as a hat!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Frank saying Viking is the liability...NOW who's the liability Frank?

Have to say that despite the various criticisms being levelled at the show some of the locations have been very well chosen and compliment the scene(s) they feature in extremely well