Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Because you need a backup keeper.

And even though he is currently not as good as Hennelly he is better than what else is available.

As I said the management probably have a fair idea of his worth right now and giving him game time right now is not part of their plan to increase that worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭MacDanger

So he's not good enough and we're not going to give him any gametime to assess how he'd fare in a pressurised situation. Jesus, I hope Horan & Co have a better grasp of how to manage a team than that 😂😂😂

I hope Hennelly isn't afraid of competition for the jersey like some people appear to be on his behalf.

I find the defensiveness on this subject fairly odd tbh but I'll leave it at that for now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,708 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Its like lads think that theres no difference between training and playing actual matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

But why are people so obsessed with Hennelly having competition for the jersey, why are these constant calls for his backup to be played instead of him ?

It's pretty simple really I think.

People still don't have faith in Hennelly, regardless of how far in the rear view mirror he puts the 2016 replay.

You don’t know why people would want a good back up keeper?

Genuinely?

What did you think of Kelleher playing for Liverpool today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I was in your corner earlier but the more I think about it, maybe we're over emphasising the need to have a substitute keeper ready for action.

Is it really a requirement or just a great bonus to have.

Maybe we've been "spoiled" by having Hennelly and Clarke there for so long. Most other counties don't prime their sub keeper during the league do they? Dublin did late on in Cluxton's career, but it's rare afaik. It's a relatively short season (very short vs what Liverpool play, as you've mentioned it) and keepers are generally ok on the injury front.

I'm trying to convince myself here, more so than yourself.

Maybe the best plan is to have no plan.

Edit: hadn't read Fr Tod's post, maybe 2016 is a factor in people's minds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Did we learn anything about Byrne today that wasn't already known? I don't get the obsession with giving him game time for the sake of it. Pretty obvious that hennelly is first choice for the year.

It's far more beneficial to us for hennelly to keep his run of good form going by playing regularly. Also for the inexperienced outfield players on show to get used of Rob's kickouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Seems like Diarmuid was good again today, the turnover of a goal chance from McDonagh followed by a DOC point was a huge moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭muddle84

If it was just 2016, I think that would be long forgotten!

Either way, it's apparent Hennelly is the best option we have and he is having a fantastic year so far so good luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Good win in the end for Mayo yesterday. Looks like we have some good depth avilable from the bench too with AOS making another game changing impact. I would be concerned with the half forward options though. Standard is not very high other than DOC..Its early days yet I suppose. Impressed with Orme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Hennelly is playing his best football now and fair play to him. He is the best option now.

I would have always taken Clarke every day of the week over him. The problem with him is that on the biggest day he makes mistakes that cost games. Saying that he has been really consistent and making some massive saves. He has moved up a gear and while his skill on kick outs, frees and saves could never be questioned, his decision making to come for a ball and the reading of it was questionable when the pressure was at the highest.

It is crazy to say we don't need a back up keeper. The league is the time to run these new guys out for the same reason what happened yesterday with Hennelly. You cannot underestimate the value of playing in real competive games to bring a guy on. You always need a back up plan for when Hennelly goes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Jordan Flynn is going very well for Mayo. Has some engine on him for a big man

Temperament was always the issue with Flynn, was he sent off in two or three of Crossmolina's championship matches this year?

Was delighted to see that in the Dublin game he got an early yellow and saw out the game. Hes a serious operator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Flynn is rough in the tackle and that is his biggest issue. If he could come up for a few more scores and do more around the middle, he would be serious then. He would remind you of Colm McMenamin.

Would have came onto my radar when he had the meltdown in the u20 final as im a kildare man but ive watched out for him ever since when i go to mayo games with herself. He moves forward with so much power and can kick too. A better version of oshea?

I do wonder is he always a bit more on the ref's radar too because of that incident in the final.

Yes i think your right but i think hes starting to get over that now. Ye need a few videos of him sweeping dressing rooms lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭spakman

ah he has a better boot on him than Colm McManaman!

Post edited by spakman on

I don't know about that, Kevin McManamon's boot is the stuff of legend!! Colm is a different story😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭neiphin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭spakman

Haha, meant Colm! I remember a great banana kick point, but the ball could go anywhere when he took a shot. Some athlete though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

First time trying to buy tickets on gaa.ie and this is what im seeing, does this mean it's sold out?

kerry tickets.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭dobman88

Working fine for me. Was able to get as far as paying for 2.

am.ticketmaster.com/gaa/kerrymayo1203

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Got a couple now. Pity they dont accept paypal, i always have hassle using my debit card online but got there in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭dobman88

Mighty. Enjoy the trip, but not too much....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Anyone wondering/worried about Cillian? Was listening to James O'Donoghue on the Football Pod and he was commenting on Con O'Callaghan and James McCarthy and their levels of fitness at this stage of the season. He was suggesting that if they aren't reaching 80% fitness and getting competitive games in now, they aren't going to be sharp enough in time for championship, due to the shorter season this year. Got me thinking about Cillian and where he's at or if he's going to be ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭eastie17

At this stage you'd have to think our hope would be having a Cillian O'Connor who could give you a second half of Cillian at his best football, a great option to come off the bench. I cant see him getting back to being a starter this season with that injury and where we are with the year.

I think thats a great option to have, the only balls of it is, that if we had Tommy Conroy then we'd be in serious shape with Orme playing so well, DOC back to his best and J DOC doing really well from what we have seen of him so far. Still need more forward power though, we cant have another year with such an underperforming half forward line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Yeah, the forwards situation still isn't where it needs to be to win an All-Ireland imo. If one of Cillian or Conroy was right, I'd feel a bit more optimistic, but I just don't think we're going to have enough fire power ultimately when it gets to the business end of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

When they talk about a player returning, isn't it always on the basis that they'll be ready to play. As in, they obviously wouldn't be 100% but if they're saying he'll be ready to return for Kerry, he'll be near that 80% and it'll be gametime that gives him the match fitness/makes up the gap.

If there's anyone cute enough to manage their way back it'll be Cillian I'd say.