If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Westernview

Ideally both will start but if OHora is going around making reckless tackles id sooner he sat it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,639 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

back in Mchale park for round 2. Good crowd for such a miserable day, more than first game I’d guess.

wow goal for Westport when I had barely sat down after the anthem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Great first half for Westport. 6 up.

Westport in a great position. Hopefully they can keep it going and give Leeroy another day out at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

he is getting his fill of it today. No harm tbh. Should have been sent off the first day

I'd say they are giving him a few hits for Keegan alright.

gone off now. Goal for ballina, could the comeback be on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭HBC08

Goal again for Ballina!

4 points in it,4 mins left

point for Westport, ballina likely need another goal…

2 pointer to equalise, unbelievable

and the turnaround is complete wow!

Fair play to Ballina. Never gave up. Regan outstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Jaysus, that's some result for Ballina when they were dead and buried. Westport will be sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Round tower

Well done Ballina, great comeback, 10 down with 10 minutes left, lets hope they go on and do well in Conacht this year.

Tomorrow it's the junior finals

B Final

Killala V Kilmove Shamrocks,

after a pretty poor A championship where Killala lost all 4 group games, they have some of the injured players back. Most of the players would have played underage for our soccer club while 3 of them played soccer this season.

Allso a large number of the players would be from our parish of Cooneal, so hopefully Killala can do it.

A Final

Easter Gaels V Kiltimagh

Having come down from intermediate may swing it for Kiltimagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Some turnaround from Ballina. I genuinely felt they deserved nothing from the game when they were so far behind. They were immense in the last quarter- completely deserved winners for that alone.

leading in injury time twice and couldn’t close it out. Would say experience tone for ballina but they looked like headless chickens for a lot of the game

Westport missed Keegans leadership to see it out but would have thought they had enough experience without him.

Hard to know how to review the senior championship. Some exciting talents coming through in Crossmolina and other places but a lot of senior teams had very disappointing seasons.

Regan the best forward on view today and other games also and probably deserves another shot with mayo. But he didnt impress much previously when he was in his prime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Absolutely Keegan was missed and EML going off as well. In regards to Regan, he couldn't do it in his prime for Mayo and lacked upper body strength, I can't see him doing it now tbh. I don't know his age but he must be well over 30 and he has kids now as well. It would be a regressive move and better to try to develop some younger guys and try to build a team who can challenge in maybe two/three years.

Agreed, he is probably too old to be looking at again. Its just when he can pull scores like that 2 pointer near the end with the game on the line you wonder what he could have done if he had been properly gym conditioned in his prime.

On a separate point I had a look at the highlights again. It appears that over the 2 games Ballina identified a weakness in the Westport full back line/goalkeeper. Over the 2 games 3 goals came from high balls into the square. Ballina seemed to go that route when the game looked to be going away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Pat734

I'd be fairly certain the crowd was well down on the first game. Maybe by half, but if not it wouldn't be far off that. As for the game? Westport lost Moran and McLoughlin, legs went and the rest is history. Still hard to believe they lost it and fair play to Ballina. But, there's alarm bells in there for the victors and for 45 mins they were beaten all over the field. I'm a neutral, but a bit of luck won that for Ballina. Enjoyed it, and credit where it's due, at a tenner for ould wans it was great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭muddle84

The talk of Regan being given another go. If I remember rightly, I don't think Regan was dropped, he gave it up as he accepted he wasn't cut out for the physicality? At least that was the talk around the place at the time. The 2 point rule changes things a little bit as we are short people who can kick them in the closing minutes of a game like against Galway this year! But the fact remains that he wasn't physically able for it at the time and I believe he's 31/32. Far too old to be essentially starting out at intercounty surely!

I can't remember the exact reason he left but I do remember thinking he wasnt up to winning his own ball and breaking tackles. Seeing players like him prosper now is further vindication that the new rules have had a positive effect. It may be too late for him at county level but im sure we will see similar players coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭GBXI

The new rules are some success story. When you think back to Ballina's first of 3 county titles against Breaffy, I think the final score was something like 0-6 to 0-4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I know he probably won't get another chance at intercounty (and he may not want it anyway). But how many of the current squad could do this in the final few minutes of a game.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=826870889766448

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,783 ✭✭✭irishgeo

one of the worst county finals ever. I think even John Maughan on mid west co comms wanted to leave.

Very few. Hopefully the era of the half forward running machines will come to an end. Athleticism will always be needed but a forwards primary talent should be scoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭GBXI

Especially for Mayo. The case for Regan even just as a sub is relatively strong - he's left footed and reliable for frees too which take pressure off Ryan. And he is by a mile the best two point kicker from play in Mayo. We didn't have one player on the panel last year that was reliable for 2 pointers, maybe Boland. Whether he plays county again or not, Mayo need to develop some two point shooters as a priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I wouldn't have Regan on the panel - while he was excellent in the last 15 min on Sat (and over the past 3 years at club level), he's not the answer IMO. Similar to Jason Gibbons, he's a brilliant club player and maybe if injuries had worked out differently, he could have made the level required but at his age, it's not something I think Andy should consider. I'm not sure how many games he played for Mayo but I can't think of a single one where I thought he was good enough at that level. At county level, he's up against top class corner backs and he's not capable of making space for himself to get those shots away.

I think someone like Ronan Clarke would be a much better prospect for a panel spot where he still's still young enough to get to the level required for intercounty football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭muddle84

I was holding off on saying the same thing because it just feels so wrong to talk somewhat negatively about Regan after the weekends ending. Gibbons, Conor O'Shea, even McNally from Garrymore could be included in there too, weapon of a left boot but it never happened for him at Intercounty. The fact is Intercounty is a step up from senior club and everyone on the pitch is playing at a higher level!

We absolutely need someone who can do what Regan(and the Ballina team) did in the last 10 minutes of that final on the county team. But pulling a 30 something into the team that never did it before at that level isn't going to work! We should be focusing more on the youth that are showing signs of the same talent and develop them!