Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Anyone with an Irish independent subscription, would you be able to tell us what pat Spillane reckons is the one reason mayo haven't one an all Ireland in 63 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Probably don't need a subscription to guess it's not enough scoring forwards. Used to be that we didn't have a Marquee forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

This is it. Clicked out of it again straight away

surely this is cant be true

Maughan and holmes/connelly mentioned.

Mayo GAA not ruling out a Holmes/Connelly return | Connaught Telegraph (con-telegraph.ie)

not sure if the author is in the known or making stuff up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

You probably used the right word in "author"... Sometimes, it's real fiction.

It looks like a non story to get clicks. The chairman/Mayo GAA aren't going to rule anybody out (in public) when questioned, before the process has even begun.

Judging by his now famous injury updates, Henry wouldn't be exactly considered "in the know".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭HBC08

Look at who wrote that article.

Connaught are embarrassing themselves for years now.

They actually had a follow on article based on the Facebook comments from the other article. Real bottom of the barrell stuff.

I've stopped following them altogether now.

Anyway, big day for the minors. Hopefully they can finish off the job this evening. Slightly fearful that Galway will come good at the right moment after the two previous defeats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭HBC08

Yes I stopped following them primarily because of that buffoon Aiden Henry and then in the last couple of years their fb page which is so bad it's nearly funny.

Looking forward to heading off to the game later.I too would be worried,Galway have improved as the competition has went on and have momentum,also its hard to beat a team for a third time in a campaign.However Mayo have momentum too and are in the winning habit,they're also a better team,if both teams play to their potential then Mayo should still win.

Big crowd heading,out of our usual travelling group of 15 or so about 10 are going this evening, for context none went to kildare game,there's also a special train running.I think it's going to be a famous night in the Hyde!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Yeah, would be a real sickener to lose to Galway after beating them twice but these lads are so young that anything could happen and you'd expect Galway to have learned from those two defeats. Hopefully they'll give a good account of themselves and claim our first U17 title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭SeanJ09

Anyone know a pub that would be showing the minor game in Dublin city centre this evening ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭lillielad

Ref seems to be riding Mayo so far

Not looking good at this stage. Prob need a goal

Need to just run at them, that ref is giving soft frees all game for decent tackles.

Edit: need to be able to kick a free.

Galway dropping very deep early doors, game is still there to be won

That is diabolical reffing

Game over now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Galway the better team, but the ref seems to be giving them everything.

Galway full credit for the win, some of our lads went missing.

How do you avoid a group of 16 and 17 year olds believing they just need to turn up when they have beaten the same team easily twice already. Complacency set in. Still a handful of very talented players there

Well deserved win for Galway, their sweeper worked very well, esp in the 1st half.

Disappointing for the Mayo lads but there's a few future seniors there

The blanket defence was the difference. We just dont seem to know how to counter it. Getting tired of writing that.

Saying that I felt the reffing was a big issue. Some seriously bad calls in that game. It's not fair on young lads in an all ireland final. The standards should be higher.

As an outsider looking in, I feel that the Mayo underage development squads are being poorly coached. There is a serious coaching deficit when it comes to kicking and poor shooting, and I'm comparing the development squads of those of the likes of Kerry and Tyrone in particular. I wonder is that the thoughts of other Mayo posters here? Ref had a shocker which didn't help ye guys this evening. Hard luck lads.

You might be right if it's ex senior players doing the coaching. Some of them couldn't kick it over the bar either.

The problem is we can't seem to score long range points when they have everyone behind the ball. We need to get it close to goal to have a shot.

Other teams seem to have the players and ability to get the ball have one look and over the bar from long range.

Maheady kicked 3 such point and Clarke a couple more. As a team they did not work as hard as Galway. Simple as

Wouldnt agree. Galway were playing with a packed defence and then counter attacked into the space left behind. It is easier to look like a hero when there is an ocean of space around you in a 1 on 1 situation. There was basically 22 bodies heading for the galway goal for many of our attacks. It is never going to work.

We had plenty ball but we kept running it up the middle and crowding bodies in there - the exact opposite of what we needed to do.

We needed to spread them as wide across the pitch and use angled runs to punch holes, like a game of rugby basically. Dublin do it and dismantle packed defences. All it takes is a few scores and the cracks start to appear. Confidence in the system drops.

if we did that with even half the possessions we had we could have won the game.

The longer we insist on soloing the ball out of our halfback line the longer this will go on, be it minor or senior or anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I thought exactly the same and a cocky feel to them. Hands in the air after kicking points and **** like that. I really don't know what is up with the total drop off when finals are there to be won by not only 16/17 years old but our senior teams. Ref was poor today but most looked cocky imo. They got what they deserve and finals don't come around easy so you have to make them count but we fook them up every time. Soul destroying **** tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

It's hard to do with a set of established seniors never mind 16 to 17 year olds. All the pressure and expectation was young Mayo lads shoulders while it was the opposite for Galway, went into that match with nothing to lose and went home with the cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

After yesterday I was thinking these guys are been programmed for the same **** that the seniors have delivered for the last 10 years or so. Good but not good enough. It could be coaching failure or the kicking is coached out of them. I look at it another way and think these are nice footballers but mentally weak and will repeat the same stuff throughout their footballing time. The only guy who I could say is a proper 100% footballer with the killer attitude is Keegan. Why is this... Well who knows but he came into mayo setup not touching underage mayo teams afaik. Maybe it's his family who instill this belief in him as a kid,...maybe nothing to see here but it would drive you to drink tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Seems to be a fair over reaction to what is essentially a group of kids playing a game on a Friday evening. Mayo hadn't lost. Expecting management to change a plan or have a different gameplay before a ball was kicked is fantasy stuff. Easy after a game.

Hindsight is the foresight of a gobshite.

Mayo didn't change things? Yes they did. And quickly. They went with plan A: quick ball into the full forward line but Galway had learned from this and Farthing gave an exhibition in playing the sweeper. Forget about what he intercepted anyone at the game could see Mayo players further out the field looking to kick quick ball inside but Farthing was consistently in their eyeline so they recycled. It's tough when option A is squeezed off and option B is to break through a wall of maroon. They tried A and B but neither got much change.

Galway also felt starting this year they had exceptional fielders and in two games against Mayo went long expecting Jack and Shay to dominate midfield. Mayo wiped them in both games. Add that to Derry doing the same they completely reinvented their kickout strategy. Hours upon hours the last few weeks trying to get it right and it came together last night giving Galway a platform. Kyle in goals was close to my man of the match such was his influence on the game.

Changing things and learning from defeats are part and parcel of sport. Galway got two free shots at Mayo and came our last night playing and doing things differently. Basically the equivalent an orthodox boxer going southpaw for a rematch. Despite what people think thats very hard to counteract. Reminded me of the first game in Tuam. A lot of the "In the know" crowd in underage football im Galway had crowned Galway All Ireland Champions before a ball was kicked. First two games in the round Robin only added to this. Mayo reset that mentality the first day out and reinforced it in the Connacht Final. Galway hit the reset button and began to process a more rounded game plan against Dublin and Derry. And close to perfected it last night.

Mayo are a great team. And this team shouldn't be left carry the woes of Mayo football. While only so young plenty have the skillset to progress to U20 and beyond. Loss like yesterday may only fuel that desire. Hopefully the team get some sort of reception in the next few days to recognise their achievements this year.