Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭The_Tank

Kylian mBuckley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

IMG_4574.jpeg

😎😎😎😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Comerman

Screenshot_20230611_225146_WhatsApp.jpg

Didn't take long 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

I feel we are really missing the contributions of some of our fellow Kilkenny posters on here who even when the under 17s have played and were beaten, give us their input within 10 minutes of the final whistle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,449 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

had pauric mannion decided to pick the ball off the ground with time up and not kick it into bloody cillian buckleys chest they would be flooding the place with abuse , fine margins as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Minors well beaten in 3 matches is one way of looking at it, minors being competitive against the eventual winners despite having a player sent off is another, they obviously weren't the best underage team we ever sent out, but I liked their attitude in their last two games, may be wrong but from what I remember Huw Lawlor struggled to make underage teams including the minor team but he pushed on and developed as he got into his late teens and early 20s, you take the current minors, develop them physically and tactically and you might get more players from this years under 17 team than this years under 20 team who were a way more naturally skilled team on their way up through the age groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,449 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

minors are 15,16,17 years of age give them a chance

declan hannon got slaughtered by his own people in 2013 after a nervous performance which ultimately lost limerick an all ireland semi final he was 22 at the time , has gone on to be one of the greatest of all time

i was very much against the abuse he got afterwards , but to give that to a 16 or 17 yearold kid is unforgivable

it happened in a u16 club game between ballyea and sixmilebridge in 2010 (i think) , tony was taking a free and someone older then myself shouted in ,go **** yourself you just cost us an all ireland !!!

tony had missed a free to level a game against galway a few weeks earlier i think it hit the post in fact ,tony was 16 at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭therealdonster

If you didn't enjoy that win yesterday then you should find a new hobby for yourself as hurling isn't for you!!! A winning goal with the last puck of the ball - I would have paid double for my ticket beforehand if I had known that was going to happen!!

Considering the circumstances with the injury situation, getting through yesterday with a win was an incredible result so kudos to the players and management team. I know that some posters on here are probably crushed today that we won but such is life.

On the game itself it was certainly a mixed bag in terms of performance. It was quite an open game in a lot of ways and end to end and I thought ot was an exciting game overall.

We had stand out players in Butler, Lawlor and Blanchfield in the backs. Cody had a great tussle with Mannion. Wally was outstanding after being introduced and showed what he was capable of with a brilliant goal. He is a force of nature when he finds space and runs into it. Midfield worked diligently but the game kinda passed this area in general. Buckley apart from the goal was really good when introduced. Mossy started well untill the injury flared up again - hopefully he can recover fully in the 4 weeks. All of the subs made a big contribution when introduced which is what you are pooking from them really.

Billy Ryan, Tom Phelan and John Donnelly all put in a good shift with it being reflected on the scoreboard which has kinda been the way for them all year. I feel (and hope) that it opens up for them one fine day soon.

Conor Whelan was a huge threat all day and is their main man and is one of the best forwards in the country. So I wouldn't be overly critical on anyone from yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Village87

Tom Phelan and John Donnelly had massive impacts on the game yesterday without really hurting the scoreboard, both on loads of possessions and put in unbelievable shifts. John Donnelly could have ended up with 6/7 from play and his last ball in from the corner was brilliantly done. Look at the impact they had compared to the 2 players in the opposition half forward line, Conor Cooney and Thomas Monaghan who were very very poor

Hard to see Billy Ryan hold onto his place after yesterday, he actually gets turned over way to much and turns attacks into turnovers, with few injured players returning and players like Walter in great form it will be hard to start him again.

Did Conor Fogarty have any possessions yesterday Cannot have him lined out v Clare

Post edited by Village87 on

Some Craic

https://twitter.com/OurGameHQ/status/1668146769887125504?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1668146769887125504%7Ctwgr%5E9394c6753045cf10e2c35ba0b3a53b04cad05b14%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.kilkennypeople.ie%2Fnews%2Fgaa%2F1192881%2Fwatch-man-on-stag-infiltrates-post-match-kilkenny-celebrations-after-win-over-galway.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭blackcard

There were a lot of positives from yesterday, we got 4 well taken goals, Lawlor, Butler and Blanchfield particularly did well in the backs, Cody was a threat throughout and a number of others did well. Donnelly could have ended up with 5 or 6 points, at least he was getting on the ball. Billy Ryan tried hard but may be under pressure the next day whilst Buckley may oust Corcoran. If Mullen is fit, it may be him and Deegan in midfield.

What will be a concern is Galway scoring 1-11 to 0-4 after we went 8 points up. Not sure if they are in better condition than us, something similar happened in the round robin match. Conor Whelan was outstanding yesterday so I wouldn't be blaming any of his markers. We gifted the first goal with 2 men going for the same ball

I expect it will be Clare in 4 weeks time. If our injuries clear up, we have a reasonable chance of getting to an AI. However, Clare seem to be physically stronger this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Grats

Excellent post. Thoroughly enjoyable win for us supporting Kilkenny no matter what! C Buckley and P Walsh have been throwing in their lot since the Walsh Cup earlier in the year and were happy to assist in any way. The young lads will learn a lot from the older players yesterday and be ready to lead the way in the coming years.

It showed the importance of experience on the bench. Fair play to Lyng and the veterans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Jock_Ewing

Conor Fogarty is a great servant but probably gone at this level. When the legs go they go.

Cillian Buckley is a year or two younger and might fit in there. If gets a run of form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 njcat

Great win yesterday despite being without Adrian, Ritchie R., Mikey C and Mossy (after 19 mins). Very impressed by the new mgt team rejuvenation of Wally and Cillian. Hoping they can do the same for Ritchie H who was very unlucky to pick up that nasty hand injury in the league semi v Cork. I notice that team always peaks at this time of year; I guess the Ballyhale boys are recovering from March. TJ very impressive workmate yesterday and Cody is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 njcat

Lessons on Underage Development from the late 60s & early 70s:

At St.John’s / OLG, we played every evening from after school to tea time from ages 8 to 10; mainly street hurling outside Nowlan Park gates or on school grounds ages 8 – 10 and at St. John’s field after that esp to age 12 under the watchful eye of Br. Michael. We won u 12, 14, 16 & minor (72). Kk won the 72 minor AI backboned by OLG and Village players. Most of us were very fast cos Br M gave us 60 yard races during breaks; or as in my case we sprinted or speed biked Maudlin St. Hill. You have to learn touch by age 15; just too fast or difficult after that. Street hurling at close quarters did that for us. Weekends was always active. In my case gardening from 7am to 5pm. We practiced off walls and handball alleys to improve our shooting and reactions speed; move in closer. In the 72 City Final v the Village (included Brian Cody, Joe Hennessy  & ‘72 AI 3 goal hero Seanie O’Brien) there were 10 Kk minors playing against each other. Kk People called it a classic.

In those days, the country teams were not good at minor or even u21 mainly due to the above. However, we noticed that the many farmers had passed out the City players by age 22. Getting up  at 4am to milk the cows, carrying  bales of hay, picking fruit etc. and moving all day gave them an energy level / engine we couldn’t match. U18 Brian Cody and Billy Fitz were the county stars. By age 21 Ger Henderson surpassed all; he had the biggest engine we have ever seen. His touch & accuracy wasn’t as good as Cody or Fitz but he won all the balls on the whole HB line and in front anyway. Just a force of nature like Frank Cummins.

From the mid 70s on Ballyhale seems to have the above foundation. Just so many class players. Tullaroan are more in the Fenians mold but Mossy’s touch is improving all the time, although Tommy (retired) Padraig & Grace are pure class with great footwork and touch.

The  60s and 70s had no phones, tvs or internet and kids were encouraged to play outdoors from age 8. As a result, we were a healthier younger population. Good nutrition, wellness, focus (& pre-match routines with no distractions) and mental toughness in sports (envision yourself scoring & playing well) are now better understood. Mick Fennelly was a Kk pioneer in that respect. At the end of the day, we should all be happy that the kids are exercising with an active lifestyle; that ensures a healthier adult. Winning AI’s is the gravy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

If carlsberg did finishes..fantastic to get to a semi-final without the injured lads..plenty to work on..

After yesterday's performance I can't help but think if blanchfield started or came on earlier in the all Ireland last year would things have been different

Jackie Tyrrell wasn’t very complimentary to Conor Whelan calling him a one trick pony,I wouldn’t mind having him on our team is Jackie Tyrrell trying to make enemies for us he also opened his big mouth about Wexford a few weeks ago , it’s an awful pity he doesn’t tackle some of Donal of Cussacks mad rants.

And then gave him MOTM baffling 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Strange comments indeed, i must say Whelan did have a poor leinster campaign prior to yesterday but has being outstanding generally over a 8-9 year period. 1 strange aspect yesterday is every goal the defending team would be hugely disappointed in my view. For Galway's 2 goals 2 men contesting the high ball is a schoolboy error for the 1st while Murphy will be disappointed not to save Flynn's effort. For your goals Walsh and Butler did brilliantly but I can guarantee if Galway scored those goals ye would be hugely unhappy with players basically running unopposed from 45 metres out, the winning goal from a Galway perspective was Keystone Cops stuff aswel but fair play to Buckley, clearly meant alot to him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭kk.man

In that game they have to throw a big statement in the mix or RTE will give them a p45...see we are all taking about it... I don't put much heed in these comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Nedflanders02

A few interesting developments out of last nights county board meeting. Phil Hogan is to head a new corporate financing committee to help raise funds for the county. He's going to use his profile and contacts to try and look at getting funding into the county from bigger companies who may have links to the county or who may be locating to the county. The funds raised for this will be used to help kit out another gym in Dunmore, develop new training pitches with floodlights, help to pay for the new Performance lead and the expense of any new programs that are put in place in relation to this. Long term then the money will also be used to put a new roof on the new stand and do other renovation jobs on the stand and also they are looking at putting floodlights up in Nowlan Park.

Also it was confirmed that Michael Fennelly is the new performance lead and that he is officially taking up his new roll next week but has in effect already started. In fairness to the new coaching committee they do seem to be very proactive and seem to be trying to modernise things and improve things, I suppose only time will tell if they are going the right way about it. One thing they mentioned they are doing over the next few weeks is bringing in players from the minors and celtic challenge squads to set out plans for them for the autumn to continue their development and help them transist to the U20 squads.

Keep the good positive news coming! As I said on a previous post, Lyng is working hard on getting his players to play smarter hurling, and M Fennelly will be doing something similar with the underage. They'll meet somewhere in the middle which should mean we get pay back sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

A minor incident in Sunday's match not sure if anyone else noticed it in the bedlam at the end, maybe it was an instinctive reaction off his own bat or maybe it was something the management had flagged up in advance on the off chance of the situation arising. Remember John Donnelly's late goal to level the game in Salthill last year and Eanna Murphy took a really quick puck out off which they won a free to win it, well he tried to do the same last Sunday except Eoin Cody ran in and blocked him down.

Post edited by babyjesus14 on

Hadn't noticed but fair play to Cody, he's learning and there are more learnings from last Sunday.

I heard this development was coming down the line,we’re probably a good bit behind but when you get started things can move quickly. I hope everyone gets behind this project and get as much for Kilkenny GAA as possible,manage it well and listen to good advice from all quarters. Companies love being involved in sport and if the success is there then all the better.

New roof on the new stand? I would hope that would be a cantilevered roof that would be some job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭blackcard

Anywhere you can get statistics from last Sumday's match e.g. wides, frees, possession, contested catches, hooks etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Slates

I'd much prefer decent seats with backs on them please like the county end.

The roof does not leak, just was the bird **** off the new seats and I would be very happy.