Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

China is flat despite grandiose proclamations

And China's buying Russian oil at big discounts and Russia has to ship said oil which adds to their costs.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Shoot me down in flames if ye will, but I've always been a little dubious about Navalny or at least how putin deals with him, or doesn't. Now it's clear putin has shown no problem with killing off opponents locally and across the globe and pretty publicly with it to the degree that novichok is damned near a meme, and has already apparently tried to poison him. Yet Navalny is in Russia, in custody and still breathing? Why is he still breathing? Why is he still able to get his thoughts and message across? Something doesn't add up for me here.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭ZenNature

yep folks breaking news. Russia has to ship oil . Sure what hope have they .

They dont have access to the magic broom stick that the Saudis use to ship their oil around the world.

Dont worry a mod will be along to save you shortly.

You seem to have the horn for this mod thing as if that means some authority is in play. I hate to break it to you, we don't all bow to authoritarianism. I really do seem to grind your gears. I wonder why...

yep China is flat..

CNBC dont know what they are talking about, CNBC are obviously Putin bots with their figures showing Chinas Russian oil imports are reaching record levels.

" China’s seaborne Russian oil imports will jump to a near-record 1.1 million barrels per day (bpd) in May, up from 750,000 bpd in the first quarter and 800,000 bpd in 2021, according to an estimate by Vortexa Analytics.

Unipec, the trading arm of Asia’s top refiner Sinopec, is leading the purchases, along with Zhenhua Oil, a unit of China’s defense conglomerate Norinco, according to shipping data, a shipbroker report seen by Reuters and five traders. Livna Shipping Ltd, a Hong Kong-registered firm, has also recently emerged as a major shipper of Russian oil into China, the traders said. "

And in this utopian world of course there is no dodgy deals going on where Russian oil is being bought and relabeled to avoid scrutiny, its the OIL business after all a business of honour nothing dodgy ever happens in that industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,739 ✭✭✭storker

I wondered that the first time I saw a story about something that Navalny had Tweeted or e-mailed...from prison? It doesn't sound very Russian does it.

Why does America still use Soyuz rockets to put its astronauts in space?

Yep posters here think Russia cant make a washing machine , and NASA was using Rusisan SOYUZ rockets until 2022 to hitch a ride into space.

Its not even a challenge anymore to dismiss the counter argument.

Maybe posters cant distinguish between a washing machine and a Soyuz MS-19 , so I have provided a picture .

SoyuzMS19.jpg

One is a washing machine, the other is a Soyuz rocket which NASA and the ESA has used for years to get back and forth from the ISS.

See if you can figure out which one is which, and then come back and make a post about Russian technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

A lot of it depends on the specific area that they dig into. If Ukraine has longer range artillery then it will make warfare in the open country harder for the russians. But there will still be certain places where the russians can dig in and defend. The worst for the Ukrainians would be in Russians decided to fortify a large town or city.

.. a wierd artillery doctrine... is that what you call it .

" fire dumb munitions, hope they hit something " .. .gain 20% of Ukrainian territory , capture Luhansk and the bulk of Donetsk that sort of wierd and dumb action

First time I ever heard a military campaign that captured the opponents territory as wierd and dumb.

Are you imnplying they should adopt the Ukrainian not-wierd & not-dumb doctrine where they lose ground of strategic importance.

heh around here some people think paying more to fill the car is winning economical.

Face reality , dont underestimate your opponent maybe then the West can defeat Putin.

Unfortunately I think the head in the sand , dont tell me the real news cos its bad attitude prevalent around here is also in our leaders thinking. They think if they just ignore facts and reality that it will all magically get better.

Yep and as has been pointed out to you; the Soyuz system is brilliant(as is some other Russian aerospace kit*), but it is over fifty years old built by the command economy of the USSR and after that fell has been upgraded since using American money and western computing tech. Her replacement is now stalled because it relied upon the same Western cash and tech. Not unlike their homegrown aero industry. And yep, America really dropped the ball after the overpriced sideshow that was the Shuttle programme had to be put into museums, but now a company like SpaceX are doing things the Russian space agency could only dream of. If NASA's a pale shadow of what they once were the Russian space agency is even paler.

And it has also been pointed out to you the very device you're using couldn't be made in Russia. They're at least a decade behind in chip production and development and this internet you're using which has been one of the biggest changes in human history, well Russia had about as much to do with that as Malta. So yes Russia designed, built and flew the fantastic Soyuz for over fifty years, but they couldn't make the simple washing machine you pictured. "FACT" if you like.

*Russia got the drop on everybody in the early days of spaceflight with a genius like Korolev at the helm and the geniuses he gathered around him this was no surprise. A load of firsts followed, which freaked out the "West" in a big way. Then the Americans got into gear, Korolev sadly died and the US leaped ahead in damned near everything, but then lost their way(save for their probe programme), while Russia concentrated on near Earth stuff to great effect. We wouldn't have the ISS without them and Mir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,521 ✭✭✭zv2

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

They also use Space-X, in fact that does most of the work but that's a bit of an inconvenient fact. Really have no idea what this brings to any debate on the current situation. TBH it's become your approach to work backwards from a predetermined conclusion by reversing a truckload of facts over every other poster. I mostly enjoy this thread and I'm really not here to have a go at posters, even those I disagree with, or who offer up opinions that may need corrections, have something to contribute.

Your posts , however, are increasingly the same ;posters are clueless, Western leaders are braindead and have screwed us and Russia is doing some things right or a more recent favourite, is smarter than everyone else. It's not a really a surprise that posters question your motivation here.

Read a theory once about how chess is encouraged in Russia to absorb intellectuals into a harmless game. Go figure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭strathspey

Let's come at this from a different angle. This war is probably the most fantastic war America has ever fought. It hasn't had to commit a single soldier and will now manage to deplete their arch enemy slowly. I don't think America has ant desire to end this war quickly. I actually believe that America has every intention of dragging this out for as long as it takes to hobble Russia permanently.

Another win for the west coming up folks . And this guys moniker is "if your not aware your stupid you probably are " .. you couldnt make it up !

Russia is turning off the gas pipes, no more filling up EU gas storage . We have the Russians exactly where we want them now The wests winning economic strategy is kicking in.

Winning is so easy, Chemical Ali will be along any minute to explain how this is all part of the winning economic strategy.

If we in the west are lucky , Putin will keep the taps off for the winter, and then we should ask the referee to blow it up, call time on it, cos the winning will have gone off the charts.

A mod will come rescue you soon, dont fret.

yep that will be interesting.

Clearly Russia targeted civilians when taking cities, to create chaos etc, does this mean Ukraine will have have to do the same thing , targeting civilians if they hope to retake these cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Probably, but those left will either be Russian military, Russian settlers or the very few Pro Russian original residents left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭declanflynn

That washing machine is made in Turkey

Q E D

Your posts , however, are increasingly the same ;posters are clueless, Western leaders are braindead and have screwed us and Russia is doing some things right or a more recent favourite, is smarter than everyone else. It's not a really a surprise that posters question your motivation here.

Like I said earlier, I've known a few Russians and all this fits. The cultural narrative is very broadly speaking; Russia is great(and fair enough, you'd expect that), the "West" is decadent and hates us, we're victims of Western powers, Western leaders are dumb or corrupt, Westerners are too dumb to see it and their "traditional values" are being destroyed by The Gays(tm) and Gender nonsense and Russia is the defender of European values and has been the bulwark against being overrun by the hordes at the gate from the East and without Russia Napoleon and Hitler would have taken over the world. Now that's all grand, but what I have noticed as a near given is zero introspection about Russia's past, or failings. All countries have them. Now Americans can be somewhat similar in this blindspot, but you will get a lot more of them pointing out issues with their own cultural narrative. That's just not on the radar of Russians I've known. In that the Irish and Russians can be similar. We both have an insecurity at our core.

It's all part of the game. Whether Navalny is "in on it" or not is almost irrelevant. If he does go off the radar a new "opposition" will be allowed to rise to a certain level before being cut off.

EDIT: Or he might off him and just end the pretence of anything other than dictatorship.

😁 Man you are absolutely allergic to responding to points raised and just go back to the tried and true checklist of "Russia's winning! FACT!". This is fun.

Can your Mother Russia design and produce the device you're typing this on without Western tech? Yes/No.

Can Mother Russia design and produce a current technology washing machine without Western tech? Yes/No.

Can Mother Russia design and produce a modern airliner without Western tech? Yes/No.

Can Mother Russia build and fly a current gen Soyuz without Western tech and without getting a third gen out of a museum? Yes/No.

Oh and who produces the vast majority of the pumps and other tech for Russia's gas and oil mapping, extraction and pumping?

And Russia was already suffering from a "brain drain" in 2020 before this all kicked off. So much so that putin himself referenced it and how to stop it. Since his misadventure in Ukraine that has gone up in a big way.

Fair point , but what difference does it make as to the civilians political leaning.

Under the Geneva convention , you can't target civilians, so how will Ukraine work around that as they look to retake their cities.

IMHO if they've any sense they won't bother. Tie Russia down along the borders, defend the Odessa coast to the hilt and leave them to Donbas. It was a a clusterfúck anyway and an even bigger one now after Russia's "liberation". One that Russia will have to rebuild, while Ukraine looks West and never looks north to Moscow again. And the Geneva convention is essentially meaningless as pretty much every force since the ink dried on it in the late 1940's has "targeted civillians".

Chemical Ali is back wanting us to believe the nation who put the first man in in space and orbitted the earth cant make a washing machine.

Chemical Ali is back wanting us to believe the nation with the only operational floating nuclear power station cant make a tumble dryer.

Chemical Ali is back wanting us to believe the nation which had the first hypersonic missile cant produce a word processor .

The latest US Hypersonic missile test failed , the US hasnt mastered it yet and yet Russia is already using Hypersonic missiles in combat ,

and this loolah is still going on about Russian tech as if they have no hope.

cmon Im begging a mod to come safe this guy from further embarassment.

Translation - According to the Mayor of Melitopol Ivan Fedorov, the Ukrainians attacked the Melitopol airfield, 200 Russians were killed and 300 more were wounded.

Great your making good progress, you know the difference between a washing machine and a Soyuz MS19 rocket.

Next step is for you to figure out which one is more complex . The rocket or the washing machine ? Its 50 50, you can make a guess if you wish.

Then when you figure that out , try to figure out if someone who put together a rocket that orbits the earth , can figure out how to make a machine that gets clothes to go in another small orbit of sorts with some water added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Presumably they won't care too much at this stage about Russian or Pro Russian casualties, whether military or civilian. Russia has torn up that notion to shreds and if you live by the sword, you die by it etc. Ukraine is restrained from openly attacking targets across the border but anything in territory occupied by the invading force will be fair game. Not so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

If you want to play that game, they didn't put the first man on the moon or acquire operational nuclear weapons first.

Perhaps floating nuclear power plants is a stupid idea.

Where's Silicon Valley?

You got too giddy with your cheerleading and jumped too high, now we've all seen what's under your skirt !!!!

the American public will tire of it though, and the republic election message will be that biden’s war mongering is driving up the cost of gas and that average Joe American is suffering because of it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

But there is also wall to wall coverage of it, it's the big bad old Russian bear and that Zelenskiy lad is on TV all the time. Should get the year out of it. You could bet on the GOP doing that anyway but they have agreed to back the military expenditure and will probably continue to do so. Photo ops in Kiev doth make heroes of people! It's only the likes of the good congresswoman from "Joegia" who are expressing contrary opinions.