Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who always manage to feck up any event / party they go to

• 15-06-2021 12:47pm

Somebody who starts arguments no matter what. Like 21st 30th 40th 50th birthday parties. Leave out kids parties, I'm feeling kind that incudes 18th.
    Who had to be put in a taxi and sent home?
    What stories do you have?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

• Registered Users Posts: 9,509 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

The UK tripping over a kids toy pram whilst drunkenly backing out of Europe shouting “you’re all a pack of k*nts"

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

People who offer to do something awesome (put a slideshow together, arrange a band/marquee, etc) and then completely phone it in 48 hours beforehand, making it worse than not doing it at all.
    "My 16 year old nephew's been playing guitar for two years, don't worry he's awesome".
    "I've brought the slideshow on my iPod. Does anyone have a USB cable, laptop and projector?"

Or people who offer to do something important, like bring food or music, and then turn up an hour late or not at all.

Wheety wrote: »

21st in aalsa sports club years ago:

Hugh waste of food. Sloshed people.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Anyone who can't hold their drink and those who brings and plays acoustic guitar.

Both are my cues to leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Somebody who starts arguments no matter what. Like 21st 30th 40th 50th birthday parties. Leave out kids parties, I'm feeling kind that incudes 18th.
    Who had to be put in a taxi and sent home?

you mean the folks that have psychological issues, and actually require professional help and guidance to deal with them!

A colleague. Has gone viral online twice already with public blowouts and is a risk at any social thing. He knows it himself and has developed hobbies that are calming and is mostly fine the last couple of years.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭amacca

Anyone who can't hold their drink and those who brings and plays acoustic guitar.

I've yet to hear anyone attending a party with an acoustic guitar that was worth listening to.

Disclaimer :1 perhaps I don't attend the correct parties
    2 I can't play the guitar 3 I'm told I'm a bit of a cnut and in fairness if ed sheeran was playing at a party Wouldn't give two ****es so it could be hard to measure up to my completely unjustified standard.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Unless it's a party with lots of musicians, I agree.

I play guitar to a decent standard, but ****ing hate it when someone either brings a guitar or starts playing one that is there. Never in another room either, always in the main room where the party is taking place.

Reminds me of this:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    you mean the folks that have psychological issues, and actually require professional help and guidance to deal with them!

Yeah, because there’s no such thing as a dickhead anymore. Everybody has to have a label now to excuse them of any behaviour at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭NoLuckLarry

Any prick who picks up a guitar at 3am at a house party and forces the music to be turned off - **** off, nobody wants to hear you whining your way through some **** song.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,813 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

My sister in law has a close friend since childhood who married a drop-kick like that. I've been to a few events where he was in attendance.

Early on in the day he is quiet and not interested in conversation, because he doesn't have any interests or worldly wisdom, but as soon as he can hit the bar (and I do mean as soon as) he quickly descends into ignorance and abuse. Doesn't matter who is there, no awareness of the fact he upsets kids or anything. At one wedding he got into a fist fight with a British guy who was very sober and well able to handle himself. He put our boy on his arse in about 3 seconds.

Whats a pity is that his wife is a lovely person and beautiful with it. I have often asked my SIL how her friends didn't persuade her over the years that she could do so much better than him. She replied that she just didn't have any self confidence, which is such a shame. I've seen the pain in her eyes when laddo gets messy, a mixture of hurt, betrayal and embarrassment. They just had a first baby recently too, hasn't changed him. A sad situation. If she was my own sister I'd have given him his marching orders donkey's years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Yeah, because there’s no such thing as a dickhead anymore. Everybody has to have a label now to excuse them of any behaviour at all.

sorry now, but if you continually get tanked and cause hassle at such events, there really is something psychologically wrong with you, and a bit of therapy wouldnt go astray, as theres a few demons in there that require exercising

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Larbre34 wrote: »
    My sister in law has a close friend since childhood who married a drop-kick like that. I've been to a few events where he was in attendance.

Early on in the day he is quiet and not interested in conversation, because he doesn't have any interests or worldly wisdom, but as soon as he can hit the bar (and I do mean as soon as) he quickly descends into ignorance and abuse. Doesn't matter who is there, no awareness of the fact he upsets kids or anything. At one wedding he got into a fist fight with a British guy who was very sober and well able to handle himself. He put our boy on his arse in about 3 seconds.

Whats a pity is that his wife is a lovely person and beautiful with it. I have often asked my SIL how her friends didn't persuade her over the years that she could do so much better than him. She replied that she just didn't have any self confidence, which is such a shame. I've seen the pain in her eyes when laddo gets messy, a mixture of hurt, betrayal and embarrassment. They just had a first baby recently too, hasn't changed him. A sad situation. If she was my own sister I'd have given him his marching orders donkey's years ago.

People like him are a right pain in the hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭topdecko

surely they are exercising their demons and hence the issue. will there not always be someone who fecks up the event to some degree. tends to happen when you get more than 2 people in a room and one of them is drinking... Part of the craic of these things to see someone making an arse of themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Juza1973

sorry now, but if you continually get tanked and cause hassle at such events, there really is something psychologically wrong with you, and a bit of therapy wouldnt go astray, as theres a few demons in there that require exercising

Yes, but there are people who are well happy to feed their psychological problems by messing with other innocent people, and believe that the world owes them that.

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Tilden Katz

Worse than the party Guitar Wanker are those who shush you whilst Guitar Wanker is playing. That's right, I've been shushed at parties and admonished for not giving Guitar Wanker the right amount of deference. It's a party, people are going to be chatting amongst themselves. It's not a concert.

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Tilden Katz

Any prick who picks up a guitar at 3am at a house party and forces the music to be turned off - **** off, nobody wants to hear you whining your way through some **** song.

And they're only doing it in the hopes of getting the ride. Hoping that the party is populated with girls who want to go out with boys in bands.

People like him are a right pain in the hole.

Yeah unreal.

I'm in two minds about him. A) he's not mine, why should I care but B) I wish he was one of mine and I could put manners on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭amacca

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Yeah unreal.

I'm in two minds about him. A) he's not mine, why should I care but B) I wish he was one of mine and I could put manners on him.

Choose path A)

Path B) although tempting is a dark and dangerous road that ends up with you featuring in one of those documentaries on the crime channel

amacca wrote: »
    Choose path A)

Path B) although tempting is a dark and dangerous road that ends up with you featuring in one of those documentaries on the crime channel

Of course. I'm not close to the girl in the question at all, but as I say I have asked her friends what they've done to intervene over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,692 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Nah, some people are just pure bred *****.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Worse than the party Guitar Wanker are those who shush you whilst Guitar Wanker is playing. That's right, I've been shushed at parties and admonished for not giving Guitar Wanker the right amount of deference. It's a party, people are going to be chatting amongst themselves. It's not a concert.

Or whisht in a pub because some tit wants to sing some god awful dirge about having no spuds. I'm not taking about a session in Matt Molloy's are anything, just some arsehole interrupting conversation being pandered to by groupies.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Or whisht in a pub because some tit wants to sing some god awful dirge about having no spuds. I'm not taking about a session in Matt Molloy's are anything, just some arsehole interrupting conversation being pandered to by groupies.

Or Fields of Athenry where they repeat the first verse and chorus over and over because they don’t know the rest of the words. This will continue in awkward silence until somebody else starts roaring Sean South from another side of the pub or the singer is given a gently rising clap of hands to bring it to a halt.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It was Wonderwall wasn't it

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Feisar wrote: »

Went to school with a clown like that. Not a note in his head either, but his retinue of groupies would guffaw and clap him on the back as he bellowed some rugby song from school/trad song, tunelessy.

Pure gob****e. And saw a video of him recently, same old story.

In his 40's doing it now.

****ing embarrasing.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

A fella that was in our circle of friends years ago was like that. Insisted on turning down the music and play wonder wall on repeat, he was good on the guitar but brutal at singing. After 20 minutes or so people were getting fed up. We suggested that he give it a break but he was persistent. A friend of mine who is a fabricator went out to the back of his van and got a sledge. When the musician put down the guitar the other fella made shít of it. The morning after the fabricator realised what he did and gave the musician a few hundred for a new guitar. The musician never drank with us again and has moved to Instagram to sing.

Myself personally I gave up drinking whiskey as I turned into a walking cúnt. I didn't go looking for fights but full of snide comments.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    It was Wonderwall wasn't it

Worst I ever witnessed was at a house party of lads and girls off their skull on yokes, with another group snorting Coke most of the evening. Dutch Gabber and all sorts of banging music playing.

One of the girls decided to invite this innocent student type guy over to it - he waits until someone is changing the cds at bat**** o clock in the morning and picks a guitar up from the corner of the room. I think he got 2 lines in to Seven Nation Army before an ashtray flew across the room from the coke guys direction and nearly took his ****ing head off followed by a steak knife embedding itself in the wall behind him.

Needless to say he made a very quick exit from the party after that! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

No... only persons who can qualify a person as having something ‘psychologically wrong’ with them is a psychologist/psychiatrist ...

Some people are just badly behaved dickheads...