Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many motorbikes have you owned?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭bladespin

Kaybaykwah wrote: »
    Never had one.

Wrong thread so.

RD125LC Fastest thing in the world - at the time, blew up a lot though.
    RD350 - what can I say???
    VFR400 - brilliant engine, lovely to ride.
    GSXR750 (lots of engine work done - abs animal until it became a triple)
    GSXR7/11 (very Special)
    GS - very boring but cheap to insure, etcetcetc.
    Fireblade (95) - not boring, not at all.
    ZXR750 - bought as a project that I never quite finished, put me right of Kwackers
    Fireblade 954 - just awesome, has a few mods but it's soooo good, will be holding onto this for a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,118 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I feel like everyone here has owned a Fireblade :D

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

Looking through my list I can easily pick a best one, but I find it hard to pick a worst. Obviously some are not as good as others but a different buzz at different times , couldn't really say any of them were the worse.

If I write motorcycle into the search box on my gallery I get pages of this.

Screenshot-20210518-123940-Photos.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭tico1300

Honda shadow 125
    Dragstar 650
    Bandit 600
    Intruder 800
    Vulcan 800
    Gsxr750
    Zx9r
    Still have a
    Bandit 1200
    Hayabusa

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Okay then,

Yb 100
    Cb125
    Gs125
    Gn125
    Gn250
    Tux250
    Dr125
    Tsr125
    Cbr250 x2
    Cdu250
    Klr250
    Yzf250
    Cbr 400 x2
    Bros400
    Cbr 600
    Deauville 650 x2
    Deauville 700
    Cbr 900 x2
    Cbr1000f
    Vtr1000f (current)
    St1100
    Gsx 400
    Gsxf750
    Gsf 600 x2
    Gsf1200 x3
    Vtsrom1000
    Rf 600
    Gsxr 750
    Gsxr1100 (best of the lot)
    Sv650
    Rxs135
    Elsie350
    Fzs600 x2
    Fz750
    Fzx 750 x2
    Xj600
    Gt550 x2
    Gt750
    Gpz750
    Zx9r

Probably forgotten some.

Jaysus !! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭blade1

It's easy to tell if some had one.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭bladespin

blade1 wrote: »

How could you guess???

What, like vegans they tell you. I thought that was elsie 350's.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

RG80
    TZR125
    KR-1
    ZXR250
    CB400SF
    LTD454
    Z750 ('81)

gpz900R
    VFR800 (current)

www.sligowhiplash.com - 3rd & 4th Aug '24 (Tickets on sale now!)

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Dayo93

Honda Deauville
    Honda VFR800 VTEC
    Kawasaki GTR1400
    Honda VFR1200
    Kawasaki ZZR1400 ..Current

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭fatbast

Over 200 including
    Dt125 ×2 dt175x5 ts185 ke175
    Pe175 pe400 ktm 300x2 ktm450 husqvarna 250 400
    Rd350 ypvs x 4
    Rg500 x 2 gpz750 turbo
    Exup 1000 x2
    92 blade bought new
    Gsxr750 x3 gsxr1000x3
    Gsx1100e current
    Tuono x3 1 current
    Zzr1400 x 3 zx9
    Gs1200x4 1 current rt1200 lt1200
    Benelli 1130 mt01 gl1800x2
    W800 enfield x3 fazer 1000x4 1 current
    Ktm 1190adv ktm 1290 s ktm 950smx3
    Ktm rc8 ktm 1290 Duke ktm 990smt
    Vfr750 x3 vfr800x2 blackbirdx3
    Multistrada V4S (current )

Dayo93 wrote: »
    Honda Deauville
    Honda VFR800 VTEC
    Kawasaki GTR1400
    Honda VFR1200
    Kawasaki ZZR1400 ..Current

Doesn't seem fair to have had all top quality kit. You should be made to restore a honda vf500 and have the chocolate cam shafts crumble beneath you as you reach a no mobile signal zone. Or a year on an rg250 gamma, keeping spark plugs in every pocket of all your clothes until you wreck the washing machine with a BR9ES. Maybe you could buy an Italian bike next to restore equilibrium.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

99 Honda NSR 80
    93 Yamaha RXS 100
    2001 Yamaha Virago 125
    1990 Honda CB 400
    2004 Honda CBR 600
    2002 Honda Fireblade
    1999 Yamaha Fazer 600
    1998 Honda Fireblade
    2004 Yamaha Fazer 1000
    1998 Yamaha Virago 1100
    1997 Honda CB 1000
    2001 Honda Deauville 600
    2004 Yamha FJR1300

May have missed one

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭mondeoman72

yamaha Mint 50cc
    88 Kawasaki KH100
    90 CBR 250R
    91 Diversion xj600
    Diversion xj900
    Diversion xj400
    81 Yamaha XS11 fully dressed (goldwing style)
    99 BMW K1200RS (stolen and burnt)
    Currently no bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭TheQ_Man

But how many still own an old school one :pac:

Mine is 22 years old

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭TheQ_Man

Speaking of blades, has blade1 posted how many he has/had :eek: I’d say himself and D3V!L would run each other close :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭Tr_18

XJR400
    Hornet 250
    ZXR400
    SV650
    CBR600 F4i
    KTM 640
    Z750s
    CBR600 F4 (track)
    NX650

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mamax

Too many, yet not enough.

about 25 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭dclifford

total of 8. In order of ownership:

Suzuki DR125
    Kawa ZZR 250
    Suzuki Sv650
    Yam YZF250
    Honda VFR400
    Yam Er650
    Yam R6
    Yam ER650

7.8kwp South facing, Slane.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Hitachi man

Bandit 600. Loved it when I had it,looking back it was boring.

04 GSXR 600. Good bike but was a bit in the tatty side.

96 Fireblade. What a great reliable bike,great all-rounder.I sold
    it with 58,000 miles on the clock. Learned to
    wheelie on it, toured and did a track day.

05 GSXR 1000. Excellent bike. Reliable and very vesatile,Useless
    att carrying a pillion.

BMW S1000r. Excellent bike,brilliant at carrying a pillion

Aprilia RSV4 RF. Gorgeous looking,goes like stink,crap on long
    journeys and horrible to ride slow or in urban
    settings.

GSXR 1000 probably my favorite out of the bunch with BMW a close second,the Fireblade is too unpowered in comparison to both of those to be my fav.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Dang you beat me to it:
    mamax wrote: »
    Too many, yet not enough.

about 25 :)

Too many and yet, and yet.............not enough :)

Seriously, I too had a thing for changing them like mad for years & years, but I've calmed down now.

Bikes in my owership at this stage are: 3 yrs, 14 yrs, 16yrs, 30yrs.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users Posts: 34,022 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

86 Suzuki GP100U
    95 Suzuki GS500E
    98 Honda CBR600FW (F3)
    90 Kawasaki GPz900R (still have)
    93 Triumph Trophy3 900
    04 Triumph Sprint 955i
    06 Suzuki SV1000S (current)

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭veetwin

1983 Yamaha Maxim 750
    1985 Honda CBX750F
    1998 Yamaha Fazer 600
    10+year break
    2014 Triumph Tiger 800XC
    2020 Yamaha Tracer 900GT...current bike and probably the best I've owned (1st new bike)

batman_oh wrote: »
    In order (started out swapping a lot but tend to keep things a good few years for the last while):

01 Aprilia RS125
    96 Aprilia RS250
    94 Honda RVF400
    05 Suzuki GSXR600
    06 GSXR1000
    07 Yamaha R1
    01 Suzuki GSXR600
    08 Honda Fireblade
    04 Kawasaki ZX6R
    09 Yamaha R1
    06 KTM 660SMC
    07 KTM 950SM
    10 KTM 990SMR
    12 Ducati 1199 (still have)
    15 KTM 1290 Superduke
    19 KTM 1290 Superduke (still have)
    09 KTM 990SMR (still have)

And the winner of the most consistent Street cred award goes to batman_oh!

Order of ownership with reg. year:
    00 Suzuki Marauder 125 (cheap learner junk)
    01 Yamaha Dragstar 125 (better learner junk)
    03 Yamaha Dragstar 650 (boring but dependable)
    04 Yamaha Roadststar 1600 (oil tanker on two wheels)
    09 Yamaha MT-01 (best bike ever, should never have sold it)
    12 BMW K1300S (fast and technically brilliant but soulless)
    12 Ducati Multistrada 1200 (animal disguised as a touring bike)
    17 Yamaha MT-10 (absolute hooligan)

Order of ownership with reg. year:
    00 Suzuki Marauder 125 (cheap learner junk)
    01 Yamaha Dragstar 125 (better learner junk)
    03 Yamaha Dragstar 650 (boring but dependable)
    04 Yamaha Roadststar 1600 (oil tanker on two wheels)
    09 Yamaha MT-01 (best bike ever, should never have sold it)
    12 BMW K1300S (fast and technically brilliant but soulless)
    12 Ducati Multistrada 1200 (animal disguised as a touring bike)
    17 Yamaha MT-10 (absolute hooligan)

Would you swap the MT-10 for an MT-01?

In a heartbeat. I could have bought it back last year before I bought the MT10 but I thought yer man was asking too much for it. It was cheaper to trade in the Ducati for the MT10. Prices on the few MT01's that pop up on done deal now are astronomical (for me anyway!).

That good so?
    Yeah the 01 prices are on the rise alright.

That good so?
    Yeah the 01 prices are on the rise alright.

I loved it, the torque was insane. It sounded incredible and put a smile on my face every time I fired it up. I was asked about what it was everywhere I parked up! Very comfortable bike, useable power. The only downside was the terrible fuel economy combined with a tiny fuel tank and lack of a fuel gauge. This caused a good bit of anxiety on longer spins down in west Cork!