Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ruining a wedding

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Was at one where a work colleague of the groom spilled a pint of guinness over the bride at dinner.
    Same guy basically ran around naked until security escorted him to his room.

Another wedding (wife's friend), the brides dad died the day before the wedding, it still went ahead, 350 people and she walked up the aisle by herself crying. He wanted it to go ahead as he moves in political circles. He got so **** faced he had to be put to bed at 10pm.
    Same guy fell asleep in the urinal trough at my wedding..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭lab man

Was at one where a work colleague of the groom spilled a pint of guinness over the bride at dinner.
    Same guy basically ran around naked until security escorted him to his room.

Another wedding (wife's friend), the brides dad died the day before the wedding, it still went ahead, 350 people and she walked up the aisle by herself crying. He wanted it to go ahead as he moves in political circles. He got so **** faced he had to be put to bed at 10pm.
    Same guy fell asleep in the urinal trough at my wedding..

Wat a tool

• Registered Users Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Didn’t ruin a wedding but one of the funnier lines I’ve heard from a best mans speech was when he was complimenting the bridesmaids on how well they all looked, so beautiful etc and followed up with “who says you can’t make a silk purse out of a sows ear”

• Registered Users Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

• Registered Users Posts: 12,084 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I'll never understand why they wait until the poor groom is waiting in the church, as least the bride gets a heads up and isn't humiliated like that.

Its more common than we may realise. Never reported on apart from gossip. I reckon most couples with doubts go through with it and then break up without much fuss later on. But by jaysus it takes some guts to do it on the actual day. Thousands shelled out and then bang! I'll never forget that day. It took a few more hours for people to disperese from the church, but then it was all gossiping and BS anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭ontour2

seen from behind the bar...

Bride and groom got absolutely hammered, which is actually very unusual. Groom asked bride if he could dance with the bridesmaid; not sure whether he got permission or not but proceeded to the dancefloor anyway. Really bad timing for the band to switch to a slow set.... queue groom getting stuck in to the bridesmaid being watched by 150 guests. Bride's brother was on crutches but decided he was the right person to defend his sister's honour. Melee ensues and bride is brought home by her family. Most memorable part was the next morning when we happened to be there as the groom descended the stairs from the honeymoon suite alone and looking very confused... all we could do is recommend a full Irish and a pot of tea and take it from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Didn’t ruin a wedding but one of the funnier lines I’ve heard from a best mans speech was when he was complimenting the bridesmaids on how well they all looked, so beautiful etc and followed up with “who says you can’t make a silk purse out of a sows ear”

Jaysus that's brutal haha

Only ever been to 2 weddings,so thankfully no diasters.....missed 1 with covid :-/

But the cousin used work in a famous 5 star hotel,and stories he'd tell ya,are something else.....most extreme was where the bride went to a different room on night of wedding and a upset groom & parents checked out the following morning!

Only ever been to 2 weddings,so thankfully no diasters.....missed 1 with covid :-/

But the cousin used work in a famous 5 star hotel,and stories he'd tell ya,are something else.....most extreme was where the bride went to a different room on night of wedding and a upset groom & parents checked out the following morning!

The best stories about weddings are usually from people working at them. They're sober.:D

I'm 18 years married later this month and our wedding was the most ordinary one ever, but great fun because it was simple and filled with no BS. I've a few stories, but they're about guests more than anything.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,814 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

In my teens, my girlfriend's eldest sister got married one summer Saturday.

We weren't serious enough that I was invited to the Wedding Reception, but I put on a shirt and went to the Mass in our parish church up the road and sat in with a few other neighbours and onlookers to say congrats and see my girlfriend in her bridesmaid's dress and all that good stuff.

Midway through the Mass and before the vows, a commotion began in the next block of seats over from where I was. The priest stopped talking and everyone started standing up with a few of the Grooms family climbing over seats on their side.

One of the Groom's aunts, not an especially old woman as I recall even from my teenage perspective, had slumped over dead in her pew. No warning, no outcry, no evidence of distress, just snap, dead.

Top that for ruining a wedding.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Dublin Lad2021

Larbre34 wrote: »

We weren't serious enough that I was invited to the Wedding Reception, but I put on a shirt and went to the Mass in our parish church up the road and sat in with a few other neighbours and onlookers to say congrats and see my girlfriend in her bridesmaid's dress and all that good stuff.

Midway through the Mass and before the vows, a commotion began in the next block of seats over from where I was. The priest stopped talking and everyone started standing up with a few of the Grooms family climbing over seats on their side.

One of the Groom's aunts, not an especially old woman as I recall even from my teenage perspective, had slumped over dead in her pew. No warning, no outcry, no evidence of distress, just snap, dead.

Think we have a winner boys lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Since you had the shirt on, did you offer to step in to save the dinner going to waste?

Tis up there alright

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,000 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

cena wrote: »
    Has anyone here ruined a wedding or been to a wedding that was ruined? Let us say, someone has stood up during the mass service and said that this person should not marry him or she.

Best I have was a photographer who failed to but film in the camera. It seems he was a friend of friend who was just starting out and the couple was persuaded to give him a chance.....

He did put a lot of distance between him and the couple before he told them. Sent them a postcard from his holiday!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,204 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Jim2007 wrote: »
    Best I have was a photographer who failed to but film in the camera. It seems he was a friend of friend who was just starting out and the couple was persuaded to give him a chance.....

He did put a lot of distance between him and the couple before he told them. Sent them a postcard from his holiday!

I find that hard to believe, unless the guy was an absolute simpleton. He surely would've noticed he needed to change rolls at some point during the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,814 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Ah it was so dreadful for them all.

An ambulance arrived and the Guards too because of the circumstances. The ceremony was cancelled, obviously and the celebrant ended up administering the last rites to the lady who died. Somebody contacted the hotel and cancelled all the entertainment, but the guests were sent there anyway to eat before journeys home etc as it was all bought and paid for.

The Bride and Groom eventually married quietly weeks later with just the Parish Priest and their parents as witnesses. Fair dues to the priest though, he arranged a little Chapel attached to a convent so they wouldn't have to be in the same Church.

Its 30 odd years ago now but I'll never forget the sinking feeling I had when people realised what had occurred.

Ah it was so dreadful for them all.

An ambulance arrived and the Guards too because of the circumstances. The ceremony was cancelled, obviously and the celebrant ended up administering the last rites to the lady who died. Somebody contacted the hotel and cancelled all the entertainment, but the guests were sent there anyway to eat before journeys home etc as it was all bought and paid for.

The Bride and Groom eventually married quietly weeks later with just the Parish Priest and their parents as witnesses. Fair dues to the priest though, he arranged a little Chapel attached to a convent so they wouldn't have to be in the same Church.

Its 30 odd years ago now but I'll never forget the sinking feeling I had when people realised what had occurred.

Are they still together?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭spakman

lab man wrote: »
    Are they still together?

Whether they are or they aren't is hardly related to an aunt dying at the wedding

• Registered Users Posts: 5,208 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Are they still together?
    Be nice if they were after the wedding they had.

Jim2007 wrote: »

I find that hard to believe, unless the guy was an absolute simpleton. He surely would've noticed he needed to change rolls at some point during the day.

Film in the camera??? What year was that?:D

spakman wrote: »
    Whether they are or they aren't is hardly related to an aunt dying at the wedding

Yes it is actually

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭spakman

Yes it is actually

If you know, why are you asking?

I have a story. A fella I knew decided he wanted to try his hand at professional photography. So he buys a camera, tripod, the lot. He gets a job photographing a wedding, so off he goes taking all the shots of the big day.

So after the event he sends the prints to the now married couple. It only turns out that most of the photos were awful, with incorrect exposure, out of focus, and so on. A complete disaster.

So the brother of the bride and the husband turn up at the photographer's door baying for blood. What does the photographer suggest? He says, let's get everyone back in their wedding clothes at the church and I'll take the shots again!

I have a story. A fella I knew decided he wanted to try his hand at professional photography. So he buys a camera, tripod, the lot. He gets a job photographing a wedding, so off he goes taking all the shots of the big day.

So after the event he sends the prints to the now married couple. It only turns out that most of the photos were awful, with incorrect exposure, out of focus, and so on. A complete disaster.

So the brother of the bride and the husband turn up at the photographer's door baying for blood. What does the photographer suggest? He says, let's get everyone back in their wedding clothes at the church and I'll take the shots again!
    Thought it was gonna end up with the photographer announcing that he'd ridden the bride, or suchlike.

Meh, bad photographers are ten a penny. Who rode the bride? Give the people what we want.

Thought it was gonna end up with the photographer announcing that he'd ridden the bride, or suchlike.

Meh, bad photographers are ten a penny. Who rode the bride? Give the people what we want.

It's the first photographer anecdote. We've had plenty of infidelity, corpses, bodily fluids.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Was this a Shrule/Kilmaine wedding? (Not held in Shrule obviously!)

Over near Ballina. I'm not that familiar with the area. The wedding was better than it sounds, but there were definite shades of Father Ted in it.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

It's the first photographer anecdote. We've had plenty of infidelity, corpses, bodily fluids.

I was at a wedding in Greece where the photographer just didn’t show up. They were meant to be photographing from the church onwards so nobody copped they hadn’t showed until after the ceremony. All the guests just rowed in and took loads of pics - one of the uncles was decent with a camera so he sort of took charge and did a few shots etc.

Back to the hotel and everyone is sitting down eating their dinner when the photographer shows up and starts insisting that the couple get up from their dinner and go to get photos taken. The best man politely but firmly told them to eff off. Still don’t know why they showed up 6 hours late.

Toots wrote: »
    I was at a wedding in Greece where the photographer just didn’t show up. They were meant to be photographing from the church onwards so nobody copped they hadn’t showed until after the ceremony. All the guests just rowed in and took loads of pics - one of the uncles was decent with a camera so he sort of took charge and did a few shots etc.

Back to the hotel and everyone is sitting down eating their dinner when the photographer shows up and starts insisting that the couple get up from their dinner and go to get photos taken. The best man politely but firmly told them to eff off. Still don’t know why they showed up 6 hours late.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Not the groom, in this case... that was one of those marriages that didn’t last long.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,936 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I was at a friends brothers wedding a few years ago. I was out the night before with other friends and I was telling my best mate that I was with the brides niece a few years before. I was 100% until around 3am, then it got a little hazy, wedding went on until 6 in the morning. I was chatting my best mate a couple of days after the wedding, he asked me did I pull the niece at the wedding, I said I don't know, I was talking to her but cant remember if I was with her again. He said oh you probably weren't so. lol

Turns out we were all over each other, her 2 uncles didn't like it and tried to attack me, my friend and the groom backed me up, big commotion, people thought I started it but like we obviously weren't harming anyone. Irish weddings go on far too long, I never drink much at weddings since.

Great thread btw op, best one I have seen on here in a long time, some very funny stories.