Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

France vs Wales match thread, Sat 20th March 8pm

1246717

Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 26,902 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo


    To be fair that's a good decision. Once the on field decision was try you can't say definitely it's been held up all the time.
    It's a good decision based on a terrible 9n field decision, very hard to prove a negative.


  • Registered Users Posts: 12,672 ✭✭✭✭flazio


    TMO wasn't initially called to check grounding, he was called to look for a knock on.


  • Registered Users Posts: 26,902 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo


    you arent looking through the refs eyes he was right there and called it a try in real time so as you couldn't see the back of the ball and assume ref did see it. then unless video contradicts what he initially called it's a try.

    Unless the ref was lying on the ground he can't have seen any grinding in this scenario


  • Registered Users Posts: 6,385 ✭✭✭touts


    molloyjh wrote: »
    Thats not on Barnes. The leg at the end prevents him seeing the whole thing and so he can't overrule the onfield decision. The initial decision was the problem there.

    It was clearly held up at all times. Barnes was asked if it was clearly held up at all times and he said No. He got it utterly wrong.


  • Posts: 25,611 ✭✭✭✭[Deleted User]


    Surely if you're asking about 2 potential knock-ons and grounding the on-field decision can't be try?
    The referee is allowed to ask Try/no try in Union aren't they? Baffling decision.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 26,902 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo


    Zammit played the ball on the ground before the try.
    He was not on his feet and the ball came to him and he picked it up and passed it.
    Seemed like a foul play to me, the ref watched it on the replay and said nothing.
    Is that not a penalty to France for playing the ball while not standing up?

    There also seems to be s trip on the French player by the prone Welsh player as he attempts to fly hack it dead.

    A player on the ground without the ball is out of the game and must:
    Allow opponents who are not on the ground to play or gain possession of the ball.
    Not play the ball.
    Not tackle or attempt to tackle an opponent.


  • Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭eclipsechaser


    molloyjh wrote: »
    Thats not on Barnes. The leg at the end prevents him seeing the whole thing and so he can't overrule the onfield decision. The initial decision was the problem there.

    I think Barnes should probably ask Pearce if he definitely saw it grounded to give him the option to change his initial call.

    On an unrelated matter, Wales are the poxiest team ever for crazy favourable refereeing decisions.


  • Posts: 25,611 ✭✭✭✭[Deleted User]


    touts wrote: »
    It was clearly held up at all times. Barnes was asked if it was clearly held up at all times and he said No. He got it utterly wrong.

    If you asked me did it definitely not graze a blade of grass then I couldn't say no.


  • Registered Users Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭lawred2


    This lad is unreal.


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭DellyBelly


    Brilliant finish...


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Bluwave


    Zammit played the ball on the ground before the try.
    He was not on his feet and the ball came to him and he picked it up and passed it.
    Seemed like a foul play to me, the ref watched it on the replay and said nothing.
    Is that not a penalty to France for playing the ball while not standing up?

    Your allowed to pass the ball from the ground.


  • Registered Users Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭swiwi_


    Looks about 12 years old but Zammit is a serious prospect.


  • Registered Users Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭A-Train


    That looks like no try


  • Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Bluwave


    JRZ is 2021’s Kolbe


  • Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt


    BBC wetting themselves calling a try, it was clearly grounded on the white ffs.


  • Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,178 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie


    Didn't entertain a yellow for Wales earlier though? This ref is trying all too hard to impose himself all over the game.


  • Registered Users Posts: 10,813 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203


    Bluwave wrote: »
    Your allowed to pass the ball from the ground.

    He picked it up while off his feet. He didn't go to ground in possession of the ball.


  • Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Bluwave


    Barnes is a sh1t TMO.


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers


    Brian Moore doing everything he can to jinx this :D


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭dirkmeister


    razorblunt wrote: »
    BBC wetting themselves calling a try, it was clearly grounded on the white ffs.


    I had to turn them off earlier and go back to Virgin. It was like watching a schools match with all the parents.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭A-Train


    France look rudderless in this second half. Wales the better team but getting every bit of luck also.


  • Registered Users Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack


    Bluwave wrote: »
    Your allowed to pass the ball from the ground.

    You aren’t allowed gather the ball when lying on the ground.


  • Registered Users Posts: 26,902 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo


    Bluwave wrote: »
    Your allowed to pass the ball from the ground.

    Only if you go to ground with the ball.


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,739 ✭✭✭kingtiger


    Brian Moore is great on commentary, always gives me a laugh


  • Registered Users Posts: 26,902 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo


    Great grand slam win by officials Wales in fairness, consistent if nothing else.


  • Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt


    Surely final warning for wales here, tons of cynical stuff after the 2 penalties in a row.


  • Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,178 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie


    Referee is basically standing in Frances passing lane there. He may as well have intercepted it


  • Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt


    May as call that a try on field too.


  • Registered Users Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭A-Train


    Oh yeah France get over it is straight away held up decision


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo


    Surely Luke saw that grounded at some stage?


Advertisement