Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Libido

• 09-03-2021 7:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭

Ok taking the plunge here, closing in on 50 myself, physical job, keep fairly fit, non smoker seldom drink.
    I've noticed lately down below doesn't seem to get as aroused so easily anymore. In a good marriage and still attracted to herself.
    Im not depressed or anything so thats out aswell.
    Even looking at porn doesn't quite seem to get me going as much as it should if you know what I mean.
    Like, WTF is going on. I have the desire in my mind but the body wont cash out and I'm worried now.
    Is this it ? Are my times feeling like a stallion over, do guys get put out to graze at this age ?

Any tips/advice lads ? Cause I'm worried now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Check your nutrition intake and talk to your doctor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Check your nutrition intake and talk to your doctor.

I'd reckon I have a good diet alright, thinking about going to the doc recently too.
    Thanks for reply.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If you still wake up most mornings pitching a tent as it were, you're probably physically grand. I know someone who had a similar kinda thing though he was younger and it turned out he had type 2 diabetes, but it was caught in the early stages I gather so very manageable. But all sorts of things great and small can affect that area. Erections are so entwined with so many aspects of health, physical and mental and so many things can affect it I"m surprised doctors don't put it near the top of the list of questions they should ask men.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭Piehead

It’s age man. Once I used to fap thrice daily. Now it’s usually only once a day and twice on Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Chat with the doc could help in any case, but how long has it been? Could it be a bit of a "phase"? As pointed out by Wibbs, there are a lot of factors that influence...the plumbing; Sometimes even plain out tiredness plays a vital role - have you been busier than usual at work, for example? Popular belief would paint most of us as "pressure cookers waiting to...explode", but it really ain't the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭lucalux

Woman here for full disclosure, but I highly echo the recommendation of chatting to your GP about testosterone levels, they can be low in men (women too fwiw), and GPs nowadays are more attuned to the like of this issue.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/healthandwellbeing/arid-40014410.html

Sildefanil in the form of 'Viagra Connect' is an option, available from pharmacists without a GP prescription. Chat to a pharmacist about it if you can, they're a fount of information imo...
    https://www.irishtimes.com/sponsored/boots/viagra-connect-is-now-available-over-the-counter-at-boots-nationwide-1.4469278

Getting a sexual health/hormonal check is more routine these days in a GP's office. They often do the bloodtests as a routine thing as a male MOT these days.

If you find your GP isn't forthcoming, try seeing another doctor in your surgery or consider moving GP's.

If it's affecting your life, and it sounds like it is.. it's worth availing of the help that's out there. best of luck with it OP

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

How much sleep are you getting? That’s the only thing that affects my libido. If I get less than 5 hours sleep there’s nothing that can arouse me.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

Try taking zinc and magnesium supplements or ZMA .

I like ZMA and while people say it only works if you are deficient in Zn or Mg it works for me and I don't drink and eat a good diet.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭stratowide

Sleep sleep and more sleep.You need a regular 8 hours a night every night.
    Without good quality sleep your erection will resemble trying to push a rope up o'connell st.

Diet..Loads of protein and good fats.
    Avoid anything fat free,sugar free or anything with a cartoon character on the box.
    Keep away from junk food at all costs.It'll just drain the life from you.

Exercise..Lift heavy weights.Push yourself all the time here.This will push your testosterone through the roof.
    High intensity cardio,short burst sprints will help too.

In my opinion a 5-6km brisk walk is just not good enough.You need to push yourself here.
    You'd need to be hitting at least 80%MHR.

Get your sleep,exercise and diet on point first.

The last place I'd go for advice on this is to a GP(my opinion only).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

stratowide wrote: »
    The last place I'd go for advice on this is to a GP(my opinion only).

If not a GP then who out of interest?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Some good answers lads/ladies thanks.

I do exercise regularly can be high intensity at times but have to say I do miss using weight machines in the gym and the feeling afterwards.

I have a very good diet alright, no junk food really and everything home cooked.

On the way home yesterday I called into Holland and Barrett supplement store after a look online for natural supplements. After walking around the store the young lady asked 'can I help you ',...and after a brief pause I said to myself in for a penny in for a pound and asked anything to help for male libido :), ( thank God for the masks ), she had a think and pointed towards testosterone, which I was unsure about, then some Maca powder but in the end I left a bit unsure what I need.

I know some of ye say talk to Gp some say dont, the answers ye gave though are very helpful thanks but I have made an appointment to go and maybe get a few other things checked out while I'm there.

I do like the idea of maybe taking a supplement or something that may help but I will ask the doc is it ok to consider.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Some good answers lads/ladies thanks.

I do exercise regularly can be high intensity at times but have to say I do miss using weight machines in the gym and the feeling afterwards.

I have a very good diet alright, no junk food really and everything home cooked.

On the way home yesterday I called into Holland and Barrett supplement store after a look online for natural supplements. After walking around the store the young lady asked 'can I help you ',...and after a brief pause I said to myself in for a penny in for a pound and asked anything to help for male libido :), ( thank God for the masks ), she had a think and pointed towards testosterone, which I was unsure about, then some Maca powder but in the end I left a bit unsure what I need.

I know some of ye say talk to Gp some say dont, the answers ye gave though are very helpful thanks but I have made an appointment to go and maybe get a few other things checked out while I'm there.

I do like the idea of maybe taking a supplement or something that may help but I will ask the doc is it ok to consider.

Just for what it is worth, I had similar issues myself and I'm 38. I found Maca powder very good, I take it in the mornings with my coffee. I also found that abstaining from cleaning the pipes for a few days really helped.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,357 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Woman here, but could it be mental fatigue from lockdown boredom?

I'm single, but most of the time I feel dead from the waist down as the days are all just running into each other with no social outlet.

I'd second a GP visit, or finding another one if your own fobs it off. Also look up Well Man clinics and men's health specialists. Ruminating on it will like exacerbate the issue.

canonball5 wrote: »
    Just for what it is worth, I had similar issues myself and I'm 38. I found Maca powder very good, I take it in the mornings with my coffee. I also found that abstaining from cleaning the pipes for a few days really helped.

Abstaining from masturbation isn't actually good for you. Sure you'll be Hornier when you get a chance for a ride, but you may disappoint your partner.

Frequent masturbation raises your testosterone level which should increase libido.

Obviously if you're pulling the stomach out of yourself 5-6 times a day you may want to cut back.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

Brian? wrote: »
    Obviously if you're pulling the stomach out of yourself 5-6 times a day you may want to cut back.

Contender for post of the year right there!!! :pac: :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sound medical advice too. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

Abstaining from masturbation isn't actually good for you. Sure you'll be Hornier when you get a chance for a ride, but you may disappoint your partner.

Frequent masturbation raises your testosterone level which should increase libido.

Brilliant post Brian, you very much made me lol.

I think different strokes for different folks (the pun was too easy). I really find that it increases my T- levels and makes my erections much harder. Not for everyone, I know, but worth a try.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Do people still get morning wood later in life? I'd very rarely get it.

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Do people still get morning wood later in life? I'd very rarely get it.

What’s later? I’m 42 and its every morning.

they/them/theirs

I'm 52 and ditto.

Ye I'm thinking something isn't right. The other day I woke up with a hard on and had a ****. It kinda dawned on me then I used to always do that but not lately. I think it's the last year that's done it in.

The last year of stress and an upheaval of people's lives would do it alright. It hasn't for me as I'm classed as an "essential worker"(yep, defo the end of times when a muppet like me gets that title), so it hasn't affected me to nearly the same degree as many, if not most. I see the stress among mates of mine.

Woman here, but could it be mental fatigue from lockdown boredom?

I'm single, but most of the time I feel dead from the waist down as the days are all just running into each other with no social outlet.

I'd second a GP visit, or finding another one if your own fobs it off. Also look up Well Man clinics and men's health specialists. Ruminating on it will like exacerbate the issue.

100% this.

Im in the flat all day with herself, not setting eyes on young wans around town all day like i used to do, and tbh i think neither of us are exactly fanning each others flames these days

• Registered Users Posts: 16,357 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

100% this.

Im in the flat all day with herself, not setting eyes on young wans around town all day like i used to do, and tbh i think neither of us are exactly fanning each others flames these days

I'd suggest you explain it a little more tactfully with herself, but I get the sentiment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭gifted

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    If not a GP then who out of interest?

A hooker?..

I'll get me coat ....

I'd suggest you explain it a little more tactfully with herself, but I get the sentiment.

Jesus id be lucky to have the equipment in question *left* if i said it that way to her....

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭Walter Sobchak III

What’s later? I’m 42 and its every morning.
    60 next August. Big Top is in town pretty much every morning.

zinc and garlic is good. You can actually gauge your testosterone as it's linked to beard growth?? how' the beard?? thick and firm or whispy and limp ??:D:D

rusty cole wrote: »
    zinc and garlic is good. You can actually gauge your testosterone as it's linked to beard growth?? how' the beard?? thick and firm or whispy and limp ??:D:D

I have a full head of hair and beard and a limp dick

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    I have a full head of hair and beard and a limp dick

said in a cuban accent..."chu know mannn, maybe chu jost like the chick with a deek now eh meho!!!" :D