Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭dublinbando

Lockdown needs to end ASAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

The coast along Clontarf today is probably the busiest I have ever seen it, including the height of summer. No sign of the rozzers anywhere. Didn’t feel much like January’s level 5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

nj27 wrote: »
    The coast along Clontarf today is probably the busiest I have ever seen it, including the height of summer. No sign of the rozzers anywhere. Didn’t feel much like January’s level 5.

same everywhere...the people have decided enough is enough and will let common sense guide their decisions...great to see people out in the fresh air...i went for a nice run myself outside my 5k...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,334 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

ypres5 wrote: »
    like lundstram said above you have the right to buy food but not everyone can afford to shop in m&s, you have the right to buy property but not everyone can afford to live in foxrock. for the people who can't afford to do these things would you say their rights have been violated?

I'll let you into a little secret. M&S and Aldi aren't mentioned in the constitution either.

Bu to get a passport you have to pay 80 Euro.

Do you not know that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

First decent weekend day weather-wise in a while?

Outdoor activities are to be encouraged - don't understand why government havent copped that yet and been inventive in allowing certain activities to resume to give people hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

hynesie08 wrote: »
    So we're in agreement all along?

no because i never said people should get passports immediately on demand I took issue with the government halting the process with a few exceptions. anyway im tired of getting dragged into this pedantic nonsense and people trying to get personal info out of me so im dropping out of this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

NPHET will appeal tomorrow for everyone to reduce their movements and all the media will report that. Hopefully that works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

And to get a passport you have to pay 80 Euro.

Do you not know that?

sorry donald im not ever going to tell you whether or not i have a passport because i don't enable nosiness on the internet. you'll just have to try and move on with your life

no because i never said people should get passports immediately on demand I took issue with the government halting the process with a few exceptions. anyway im tired of getting dragged into this pedantic nonsense and people trying to get personal info out of me so im dropping out of this one

Still can't figure out why you have to pay 80 Euro for a passport?

Sorry for asking such personal questions. I promise I wouldn't have stolen your identify if you had answered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Just because they fupped it with a Christmas free-for-all for much of the population doesn't mean that nuanced low risk activities have to be banned. It's the binary nature of decision making that is frustrating for people.

sorry donald im not ever going to tell you whether or not i have a passport because i don't enable nosiness on the internet. you'll just have to try and move on with your life

I didn't ask you in that post if you had one.

I asked whether you knew that a person has to pay 80 Euro to receive one.

If you don't then that's ok. No biggie to admit it. No need to be embarrassed.

Just because they fupped it with a Christmas free-for-all for much of the population doesn't mean that nuanced low risk activities have to be banned. It's the binary nature of decision making that is frustrating for people.

The problem is that if you give an inch, people take a mile. And often the only way to stop that is unfortunately, not to give that inch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Bu to get a passport you have to pay 80 Euro.

Do you not know that?

It's €75.

Do you not know that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Lovely day out there, great to see so many people out and about

I visited my parents in the next county, sat in the garden with them for a while. They needed it, I needed it.

Be safe and sensible, but vote with your feet.

Lundstram wrote: »
    It's €75.

Do you not know that?

poster above mentioned passport express which is 80

75/80. I mean it's the same to me.

a fiver might mean a lot to some people of course - possibly yourself- but that adds to my point. Why would people be being charged for something that is a constitutional right for them to be given it on demand?

I mean another poster claims to have knowledge of case law where this was challenged and decided. Only for the fact that the Law Library was closed, they would give us the evidence.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,318 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

poster above mentioned passport express which is 80

75/80. I mean it's the same to me.

a fiver might mean a lot to some people of course - possibly yourself- but that adds to my point. Why would people be being charged for something that is a constitutional right for them to be given it on demand?

100 if you want the passport card as well.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Outdoor activities are to be encouraged - don't understand why government havent copped that yet and been inventive in allowing certain activities to resume to give people hope

People are allowed to exercise outside. People may meet even with people from one other household in outdoor settings when taking exercise. I've no idea why sone seem to think otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The problem is that if you give an inch, people take a mile. And often the only way to stop that is unfortunately, not to give that inch.

I disagree , if you chain someone down he will fight it and once free will run a mile .If you give people two inches and allow them use their intelligence the vast majority will take the two inches and stay safe and use their heads

People are allowed to exercise outside. People may even meet with people from one other household in outdoor settings when taking exercise. I've no idea why some seem to think otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,023 ✭✭✭growleaves

a fiver might mean a lot to some people of course - possibly yourself- but that adds to my point.

Lol

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I disagree , if you chain someone down he will fight it and once free will run a mile .If you give people two inches and allow them use their intelligence the vast majority will take the two inches and stay safe and use their heads

Ah here. No need to be so dramatic.

You're not being locked up in chains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Lundstram wrote: »
    It's €75.

Do you not know that?

€5 discount if you apply online :) Good to know!

growleaves wrote: »
    Lol

Any more on that case law reference?

Or an answer to the question of whether you would pay for a passport?

I'm liking your 40.4 quote. This deprivation of liberty craic also extends to travel within the country - no? Because I might start driving on the oul' green diesel. Can't have the state depriving citizens of their liberty to drive around the country by imposing high tax on fuel.

Will you represent me in the SC if I am stopped and sipped? Constitutional right to liberty your honour :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

gozunda wrote: »
    People are allowed to exercise outside. People may meet even with people from one other household in outdoor settings when taking exercise. I've no idea why sone seem to think otherwise.

It's the usual exaggeration to make the point. We are all locked inside, can't exercise or talk to anyone and the country will never recover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

article in RTE about licencing laws being changed for extended opening hours for nightclubs and increased sunday opening hours for pubs after the pandemic....im sure all the boarded up premises are licking their lips

Any more on that case law reference?

Or an answer to the question of whether you would pay for a passport?

I'm liking your 40.4 quote. This deprivation of liberty craic also extends to travel within the country - no? Because I might start driving on the oul' green diesel. Can't have the state depriving citizens of their liberty to drive around the country by imposing high tax on fuel.

Will you represent me in the SC if I am stopped and sipped? Constitutional right to liberty your honour :pac:

I'll be happy to do legal research for you if you'll pay me an hourly rate.

gozunda wrote: »

The OP mentioned 'outdoor activities' - he probably means golf, tennis, hiking etc.

'I've no idea why people think they aren't allowed to exercise' doesn't address that.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    And I actually thought Ronan Glynn had a bit more cop on than Tony. This is disgraceful. That protest next week might get bigger numbers than we think regardless of whos organising it.

I read the article and its saying pretty much what has officialy been said already . From the article
    His advice is understood to cover at least up to Easter, on April 4, and possibly until the end of April, when restrictions would be reviewed again.

Read an article this morning that has since been disappeared that nphet want to keep the country in lockdown until waiting lists are down. Something like 600,000 people waiting on treatment for various issues.
    What?It's time to give them the boot and open up. This is beyond insanity.

See above. The case numbers are still high but declining at a rate of between 2%- 4% per day. Looks like it will take till beginning of April to get numbers down to manageable levels. And no that doesn't mean the current restrictions will be held forever.
    Parachutes wrote: »
    End restrictions now.

So you would want a return to the peak of infection with 8000 cases just over a month ago?

Not prepared to actually wait until the infection is properly under control which has been estimated as the beginning of April.and no thst doesn't automatically mean all restrictions
    will be held until then btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Grueller Baby

Cheltenham is trending on twitter, a quick scroll through it and I'm seeing bunches of Irish people complaining that the Cheltenham festival should be cancelled this year in solidarity with the hospitals.

People going spare saying that infections are going to spiral after the festival.......which is behind closed doors. There's also people saying that it should be cancelled because folks will gather to watch it in houses with and I quote "Drink taken''

Make no mistake about it - society is ****ed. People have lost the run of themselves altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭robbiezero

St Annes and Dollymount are mobbed today.

And for the first time in months I am seeing people meeting in their gardens.
    Great to see.