Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman assaulted at knifepoint in Dublin *MOD WARNING ADDED TO OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 13,884 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

They are living better here than they would in nigeria or inner city London. This isn't about living standards it's about gang culture and racism. Read the comments online from black people in Ireland. There is a lot of hatred for white irish people and a strong us and them mentally.

If it's like this now wait and see what it's like in 20 years.

Socio economic my fu*king arse.

So why is Darndale etc rough, if it's better than Lagos?
    Why would a black kid born here be thinking about living standards in Africa?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

People should watch the Tommy tiernan show from Saturday.

Some black lad on ranting and raving about how hard life is in Ireland for black people.

RTE and lads like this seem intent on pushing some us versus them narrative.

Dangerous territory. These lads have in their heads they are been treated as outcasts in Ireland and are victims.

Bizzare.

Mod: Banned

enricoh wrote: »
    I've mates that bought in balbriggan in the tiger, they want to move but can't afford to. The house is devalued as it's in the epicenter of where these gangs operate. The council will probably buy it n skin him on the price.
    He's off work on the pup n retraining to try to earn more so they can get their kids the hell out of there.
    Should I tell him life is short, he's insecure n let it go!!

I have a mate there that I visit regularly, well before restrictions, nothing wrong with the place as far as I can see.

The balkans, a satisfactory answer for any question you pose.

Nice to see you are so interested in me that you remember posts I made months ago on different threads. Not at all relevant to this thread, and only posted because you cannot answer the question that I asked you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

Yeah so focus on that, try and get immigration from Africa stopped. But in this case the kids are here and may have been born here, so what's the point in scapegoating them for the colour of their skin?

There is a whole thread based on it, where the racism card is routinely played. And I don't think anyone wants immigration from Africa stopped, simple severely limited. I don't believe they have been 'scapgoated' by the colour of their skin, was it not you who brought race initially into the discussion with Eric?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

wiggle16 wrote: »
    Agreed.

The immigration system in this country is flawed because it is unfair to everyone involved - it's frustrating for the officers; it means people genuinely seeking asylum and are fit to work are left sitting in direct provision for years; and, conversely, it means that people who for one reason or another do not have the right to remain in Ireland can spend up to 9 years appealing before finally being deported - that is not just wrong because of the waste of resources, it's wrong because it is unfair to allow a person to live and build a life in Ireland for the best part of a decade and then send them "back" to their country of origin, a country that may have completely changed in the meantime. That's not right either.

But when Eric et al say that "immigration is a huge problem in this country" they're not talking about the above, they're talking about "letting in" the right "class" of immigrant.

Or put more plainly, the right colour of immigrant.

I agree.
    The system is completely flawed. Shouldn't take 9 years to make a decision.
    6 months. Yes or no. Go home if no.

Then there's no problem with the putting fown of roots. Solved.

Youre the only one who keeps dragging it back to skin colour here, we get it, you dont like the thread and want it shut down, the usual.

Just because we made mistakes in the oast with immigration doesnt mean we cant point out where those mistakes were made, put extra policing resources in to areas where these immigrants reside and close the borders so we dont continue to make these mistakes

The police here are useless at policing anything, you know that, they're not going to single out Balbriggan, which is rarely in the news, when you have far worse areas even around where I live where the cops let anything fly.
    I don't really care if the thread is open or closed, I just don't get the mentality of outrage when kids commit crime if they happen to be black.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

Wibbs wrote: »
    Agreed.Tough IMHO. They chose to come here illegally in the first place. I have little sympathy for them.

I don't see what the problem is with strongly filtering immigration. And yes the right kind. Those who add to the society, not add to the problems of that society. Educated people with a job/career waiting, regardless of "race". Importing an underclass is beyond insane for any society to do. That horse has bolted mind you.

People who choose to come here illegally do so at their own risk, absolutely. But that's moving the goalposts. People don't hide in lorries and containers for the craic. People aren't getting on dinghies across the Mediterranean because they've always dreamed of handing out deodorant in a nightclub toilet. It's wrong to blame people for trying to get out of the ****holes they came from.

And I have worked with many, many dilligent, hard working non-nationals who did not have the opportunities and advantages most of us have had. You cannot screen people wholesale on their place of origin. I would have thought those sentiments were beneath you, tbh.

We shouldn't be taking in people that need government 'incentives' to work otherwise they be reliant solely on welfare.

Yed, if they are refugees or asylum seekers, we should take out fair share.
    And we should have incentives to work for everyone, including our own welfare dependant citizens

There is a whole thread based on it, where the racism card is routinely played. And I don't think anyone wants immigration from Africa stopped, simple severely limited. I don't believe they have been 'scapgoated' by the colour of their skin, was it not you who brought race initially into the discussion with Eric?

This is Eric's first post, before I ever posted.
    Its not teens, its a specific class of teens , living in bad areas and obsessed with the UK top boy / grime gang culture , canada goose jackets, carrying knives, selling drugs

Innit fam

• Registered Users Posts: 33,123 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Immigration is a side issue in crime, we are producing enough of our own scumbags, born and bred in the country.

Where do we deport the gangs of white teenagers all around Clondalkin village to?

Clondalkin Village isn't bad by any stretch of the imagination.

Back to the article linked............ plenty folk getting attacked on various parts of the canals over recent years. This behavious isn't specific to coloured wannabe London gangsta folk in Balbriggan.

Dublin really approaching is a two tiered society ........... unless you are born and bred in an area you need to spend €600k+ to live in a semi decent area and even at that private school might be required as the local school as decent as it might be is likely to have loads of absolute fncking scum in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

bubblypop wrote: »
    And we should have incentives to work for everyone, including our own welfare dependant citizens

The dole should drop the longer you are on it.

Disgraceful to bring up that a poster who routinely declined to provide me with anything bar vauge and sometimes unrelated answers to many questions is saying one of my answers is unsatisfactory , well thats a weird thing for you to find ‘disgraceful’

Don't throw it back to someone else. You brought up the Balkans as if it was an answer to something - it's disgraceful to bring up ethnic cleansing like that, it's cheap and it's obscene. The fact that you made no attempt to defend your "point" in bringing it up other than to throw it back to someone else shows that you have no idea what you're on about.

This is Eric's first post, before I ever posted.

There is no mention of race there. You see, it's all a bit ridiculous. If you mention race, you're a racist. If you don't mention race but class it is proclaimed what you really meant was race because you are a racist, or you are 'dog-whistling' because you are racist.

Here is an example:
    But when Eric et al say that "immigration is a huge problem in this country" they're not talking about the above, they're talking about "letting in" the right "class" of immigrant.

Or, what they mean is the right class i.e. highly educated regardless of skin colour.

But no, always easy to just throw out the racism card.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Don't throw it back to someone else. You brought up the Balkans as if it was an answer to something - it's disgraceful to bring up ethnic cleansing like that, it's cheap and it's obscene. The fact that you made no attempt to defend your "point" in bringing it up other than to throw it back to someone else shows that you have no idea what you're on about.

I have referenced no ethnic cleaning or anything , the poster in question and others know that , stop trying to jump to weird conclusions here in an attempt to have me removed from the thread

People who choose to come here illegally do so at their own risk, absolutely. But that's moving the goalposts. People don't hide in lorries and containers for the craic. People aren't getting on dinghies across the Mediterranean because they've always dreamed of handing out deodorant in a nightclub toilet. It's wrong to blame people for trying to get out of the ****holes they came from.

And I have worked with many, many dilligent, hard working non-nationals who did not have the opportunities and advantages most of us have had. You cannot screen people wholesale on their place of origin. I would have thought those sentiments were beneath you, tbh.

I don't think people do blame them. What they blame is the policies in place, lack of enactment of new policies they deem would be better, maybe a lack of enforcement of current policies, a soft approach, and a constant attempt at insinuating racism to shut down discussion.

Well Eric, black people and people from around the world are going to keep coming here as long as we are an economy that is performing well. I can't see an anti-non EU immigration party breaking the status quo any time soon, and if they do the place will probably be heaving with Africans by then anyway!
    So you best get used to it, or start your own political party before it's too late.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Please :rolleyes:

Don't know why you're trying to distance yourself from the "sentiment" in your first post. You know what you meant and so did everyone else. Why can't you come out and say it?

To be fair to him, I went back and read Eric’s first post in the thread because I didn’t think he was referring to the race of the perpetrators at all. One thing I know about Eric is that he is obsessed with class, not race, and is remarkably consistent in taking advantage of every opportunity to relate everything to class, regardless of race or ethnicity. It’s unfair then for you to suggest that Eric meant race or ethnicity when anyone familiar with his opinions knows well he means class when he specifically refers to a particular class of people he associates with antisocial and criminal behaviour.

I can think of far worse people than Eric who perpetuate negative stereotypes and discrimination against people who are socioeconomically deprived, because nobody takes Eric seriously, whereas someone like Blindboy has made a career for himself among champagne socialists by perpetuating negative stereotypes of people living in socioeconomically deprived areas - setting them up for mockery, ridicule and derision is all part of his act, and he’s celebrated for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭thegetawaycar

It's a joke here now, the guards responded in a matter of minutes and nothing much they can do.
    You see the reaction when they shoot a man with a knife lunging at them, what are they expected to do with the restraints in place.

We've gone soft as a people, scumbag teens are allowed the run of the place and their parents back them if it ever does fall on their doorstep.

We had a few issues like this (although weapons wetre never involved) where I'm from 15 years ago, the locals got together and made a trip up the mountains with 2/3 of the culprits.

There was never an issue again with them. This is what will have to happen in many areas but it's getting to the stage where it may be too late.

If they are in social housing they should immediately be put in an eviction process, if they are family of asylum seekers they should be deported (all of the family) and no matter what, compensation should be taken from the family to pay the victims (straight from revenue, dole, PUP, wages). Scumbags in this country need to be hit in the pocket, it's all they/their families care about.

Except none of this will ever happen.
    What are realistic solutions?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Except none of this will ever happen.
    What are realistic solutions?

Why cant some of them happen?

Now I think some of them are extreme, but why cant actions have consequences?

To be fair to him, I went back and read Eric’s first post in the thread because I didn’t think he was referring to the race of the perpetrators at all. One thing I know about Eric is that he is obsessed with class, not race, and is remarkably consistent in taking advantage of every opportunity to relate everything to class, regardless of race or ethnicity. It’s unfair then for you to suggest that Eric meant race or ethnicity when anyone familiar with his opinions knows well he means class when he specifically refers to a particular class of people he associates with antisocial and criminal behaviour.

I can think of far worse people than Eric who perpetuate negative stereotypes and discrimination against people who are socioeconomically deprived, because nobody takes Eric seriously, whereas someone like Blindboy has made a career for himself among champagne socialists by perpetuating negative stereotypes of people living in socioeconomically deprived areas - setting them up for mockery, ridicule and derision is all part of his act, and he’s celebrated for it.

With respect, the above is largely nonsense. You should know full well what he meant by class in this instance and so does he. I think you are interpreting the word "class" far too narrowly - and it can be seen in his other posts that he is not referring to socio-economic class, but to "class" in the sense of classification or taxonomy.

I can think of far worse people than Eric too, but that doesn't mean he can't be called out on his bigotry.

We all know what happens when society starts telling itself "X type of people are all X". Eric is quite fond of this.

Why cant some of them happen?

I suggest you take a look at the Irish political and legal systems if you don't know the answer to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I suggest you take a look at the Irish political and legal systems if you don't know the answer to that.

I agree, on that much. It couldn't happen tomorrow.

But until there are consequences for actions, it'll just continue.

There are no solutions without our current systems

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Crocodile Booze

Listen fam them top boys were just fundraising for university medical and engineering text books.
    That shiit don't come cheap blud innit.
    Even the Feds that showed up knew dat.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

With respect, the above is largely nonsense. You should know full well what he meant by class in this instance and so does he. I think you are interpreting the word "class" far too narrowly - and it can be seen in his other posts that he is not referring to socio-economic class, but to "class" in the sense of classification or taxonomy.

I can think of far worse people than Eric too, but that doesn't mean he can't be called out on his bigotry.

We all know what happens when society starts telling itself "X type of people are all X". Eric is quite fond of this.

I think youll find that i very much always mean socio economic class and I wont have some sort of voodoo conspiracy about racial classifications added to it. I have also never said ‘x types are all x’ but when a majority prove to be economic detractors, over represent in criminality etc.. I take issue with that.

Ive been very consistent in my issue
    We have our own welfare class - they cause problems, we allowed in people with no skills from non eu countries and that en masse joined the welfare class - leading to more problems, we also have our own travelling community whome are also en masse part of the welfare class.

The welfare class only take from our economy and are responsible for the majority of anti social behaviour and violent crime, a fact that even most lefty academics agree with is universal to every country.

My very consistent point for years has been
    Do not import people who are going to end up on welfare
    Discourage those on welfare from having children
    Rigorous crime enforcement specifically targeting areas with more welfare recipients.

Irelands project for the next 20, 40, 100 years should be to absolutely shrink the welfare class out of existence. Leaving the borders open only grows it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Valresnick

Similar incidents in Raheny since March last year, roaming gangs of teens causing mayhem. Gardaí say they cannot do anything. We can’t make them work, we cannot make them responsible, but we CAN give them full dole and benefits. This system of zero accountability for crime in Ireland is set for monumental failure when it starts to fully roost.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

That’s what I’m saying - I do know that Eric was referring to class, as in how he regards not just the perpetrators in this instance, but in the context of most things like social housing, unmarried mothers, etc, I’d imagine he has a photo of Peter Casey his idol in the vanity mirror of his 4x4 :D

No issue with calling people out on their bigotry, but when their bigotry relates to class, that just denotes them as a snob, and it’s wrong to suggest their bigotry relates to race because you’ve chosen to interpret that as what they really mean because that kind of bigotry is even more socially unacceptable than just mere snobbery.

Valresnick wrote: »
    Similar incidents in Raheny since March last year, roaming gangs of teens causing mayhem. Gardaí say they cannot do anything. We can’t make them work, we cannot make them responsible, but we CAN give them full dole and benefits. This system of zero accountability for crime in Ireland is set for monumental failure when it starts to fully roost.

So teenagers get dole and benefits and are supposed to work?
    I live in Raheny and never saw any of this mayhem. It's like Dublin Live in here ffs.