Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Defence wasn't set for that try at all, turnover ball and a kick through I believe, then O'Halloran made an absolute balls of it. Night to forget for Tiernan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

image.png

At the moment the ball was kicked beirnes standing foot was in line with the ball. Not as obvious an offside as everyone thinks it was

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Keep telling yourself that if it makes you feel better I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭OldRio

The above photo was taken from the TRK Munster Rugby account on twitter. It carefully doesn't show the ball and obscures Beirnes back foot.

Have a look at this

https://twitter.com/le_bu_te/status/1449549648184680448?s=20

It also doesn't matter a shiny shite if his back foot is maybe somewhere near in line with the kicker because the other 99% of him is clearly in front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Jesus that Twitter account is painful. When Connacht won last season he had a meltdown about the ref. Now trying to suggest clearly wrong decisions aren’t. What a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

It's a commercial enterprise.

Like my ridiculous tweets? Sign up to my Patreon for more, and sure while you're there why not buy a beanie hat.

He knows exactly what buttons to press, it is truly awful and deeply, deeply cynical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Anyone who has even a passing interest in sports like rugby know that this isn’t how offside works, but keep eating that BS up by all means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭lenny4545

Hi folks, has anyone here bought tickets for trip to welford road? If so, which stand did ye buy for?

Ok, Just out of curiosity so, if a player is standing where his feet are exactly on the offside line at a ruck, but he is leaning forward, is he offside or not?

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

He wasn't in line he was forward of the kicker. All of him. Look at the link I posted a couple of posts up.

Do you think that's a good example of what's happening here?

Or is this more: ok so if a player is completely ahead of the ball but a carefully taken screengrab apppears to show that's not completely impossible that their baby toe is nearly as far back as the ball is it possible he's onside?

To be honest it's really not healthy to perform mental gymnastics to this degree to try and affirm what you would like to believe to be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mike_cork

Suggestion-If you don't like it don't follow/view his account.

Your example here is of a player with both feet in an onside position leaning forward. But that’s not what happened yesterday. Beirne was retreating from an offside position. The laws are clear on this. He has to get back onside by retreating behind the ball (or another onside teammate). Beirne simply never did that. The pic above is as close as he got. He is in no way behind the ball (or played onside by a teammate who is also onside). The TRK take on this is 100% wrong.

91F6F06C-38B1-4A44-934C-E4CF66E2947E.jpeg

What’s gas is that the same guy had a right go at this forum for people taking the piss in an inter-pro build up thread. And then he goes off down some fantasy land rabbit hole rather than admit that Munster got away with one with the Cloete try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Well people shouldn’t be quoting that Stan account as of it is any basis for an argument. It’s a completely biased fan account, yet some want to treat him like a journalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

He is a journalist though(writes for examiner, echo)... he writes from one perspective based on the market their articles appear in like many journalists do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mike_cork

I think he's pretty up front with his bias in fairness. Regarding the Beirne incident-It was offside but it wasn't "miles offside" as some lads have been trying to suggest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

I didn’t look at it and certainly don’t follow it, it was brought up here as the account holder is obviously making some ridiculous argument that Beirne was somehow onside.

There’s being biased and then there’s being moronic, the argument that Beirne was onside falls firmly in the latter. As have most of the arguments from that account I have seen before (because they were quoted elsewhere or gained traction on Twitter, not because I looked for them, to be clear).

He wasn’t miles offside but he was very clearly offside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭Shelflife

If we take the way off side is judged when on your own try line as the marker.

Both feet must be behind the line, not just your back foot, otherwise we would see all the players with only one foot behind the line.

The body can be "in front" of the feet but if you require your hands to be on the ground in order to support you then they too must be behind the line.

As regards being played on side by Cloete, Beirne cant move forward until he is put onside, he doesn't have to retreat but he must remain still until being put onside.

With my green glasses on - he's offside, but it is very close and they should have looked at it and been seen to look at it .

I've done some further research and discovered that the pitch is not even one mile long, putting paid to those ridiculous claims even further.

In the case of the cross field kick then Beirne absolutely has to get back into an offside position. See above where it says the player who is offside must move behind an onside player, not wait until he is put inside by someone else. And he does neither anyway. It was as clear an offside as you’ll see for a cross field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Cloete never got ahead of Beirne before Beirne kicked the ball so Beirne had to get behind Scannell

It's a shocker of a decision given the tech available

I've watched it again. Beirne is actually running back into an offside position when the ball is kicked and begins his chase from an onside position, the only question is whether he had got himself onside at the precise moment the ball was kicked or not. It's definitely not as obvious as everyone claims. The issue is he was way offside, he was running back to put himself onside, so if you take a screenshot at any moment before the ball was kicked, he would have been offside

The TMO may well have looked at it from a reverse angle that we don't have, and decided that at the moment the ball was kicked Beirne was onside, or that it was too close to call

Here is a screenshot just as the ball is kicked (a fraction of a second after it left his boot),

Beirne is behind the line

image.png

There were lots of bad calls during this match by the officials, both teams could have been pinged for going offside at many points during the match, there were obstructions and forward passes, (one of which in the lead up to Connacht's first try) not called and the referee seemed to be focusing way too much on some of the technical rules to the extent that he was blind to the basics at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Akrasia, Beirne was never played onside by Cloete and he never retreated behind (that's the word used on world rugby website) Scannell or an onside teammate

• Administrators Posts: 55,154 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

TRK doesn’t know the laws. Either that or this is a fantastic bit of trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

His perspective is that of a fan though, not a pundit. There are plenty of pundits with a clear bias but I can’t think of any other fans with a newspaper slot?

This is honestly getting embarrassing.

Thankfully the vast majority of Munster fans I know or have seen talking about this are able to accept reality and admit that Beirne was clearly offisde.