Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• 30-12-2020 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/man-dies-after-being-shot-by-garda%C3%AD-following-standoff-in-co-dublin-1.4447470
    Mod:

Discussion of the George Floyd murder is off topic, can we please stick to Irish matters in this thread

Mod warning added 11pm 31/12
    Beasty wrote: »
    Discuss the incident, not wider issues/concerns. We've enough grief with the way the thread has gone without people trying to open this up into a wider discussion on immigration and race

Mod warning added 27/04/24
    Back on topic which is not Maurice McCabe

List of threadbanned users:

KyussB
    Danzy
    Bonniedog
    ILoveYourVibes
    walshb - now lifted
    StefanFal
    ThewhiteJesus
    Wombatman
    Pinoy adventure
    Dominic Cobb
    obi604
    GarIT
    fantaiscool
    Mimon
    Lux23
    Effects
    Randycove
    batman_oh
    Mods will keep this list updated as much as is possible - please note you cannot post in this thread once threadbanned unless a mod has specifically indicated on thread that your threadban has been lifted
    Post edited by Beasty on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭brilou23

Was he not swinging a knife at the cops. If he was it's justified IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

All reports state he had a knife, absolutely justified

This is the most comprehensive report so far : https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/knifeman-dies-garda-shooting-clonee-19539935

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Bad situation for all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It will be interesting to see how the media handle this in the next few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Telly

He stabbed the manager of the shop then tried to stab the cops. I’ve seen the videos. He was a danger and needed to be stopped. He should have dropped the knife. But he didn’t and now he’s dead. One less robbing scumbag on the streets!

• Meh. Play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Bit early to say (a) that it's our George Floyd moment, or (b) that it was justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

The times link doesn't really tell you what happened does it?

Real story is being tweeted and FBed by long suffering residents of this creature and the gangs. Who of course do not exist ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

.anon. wrote: »
    Bit early to say (a) that it's our George Floyd moment, or (b) that it was justified.

It sounds like it was justified.

You won't hear that on the MSM either.

the gardai followed non lethal escalation procedures, appealed multiple times to drop the knife, it takes a special level of dumb to continue brandishing a knife with a gun or 3 pointed at you,

we don't need that level of dumb in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

https://mobile.twitter.com/dubslife1/status/1344318165308874752

Was about to stab a Garda so all should be OK.

The bigots on here have made their minds up fairly quickly anyway.

Neeson wrote: »
    https://mobile.twitter.com/dubslife1/status/1344318165308874752

Was about to stab a Garda so all should be OK.

chap still lunging with the knife while being shot...

I pity the poor gardai that are going to have to sit through hours of interviews to justify defending themselves and the public from that scrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

This is the most comprehensive report so far : https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/knifeman-dies-garda-shooting-clonee-19539935

Have you seen Twitter? “We won’t rest until there’s justice” “Nowhere is safe for us” etc. Unbelievable. Videos show your man swinging a knife at them.

defending a guy who tried to rob a shop at knife point and (allegedly stabbed a person in the shop) is such a weird hill to die on.

I pity the poor gardai that are going to have to sit through hours of interviews to justify defending themselves and the public from that scrote.

What, do you think they just shouldn't bother investigating? FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Bonniedog wrote: »
    It sounds like it was justified.

You won't hear that on the MSM either.

Literally listening to this now on RTE radio one.

What, do you think they just shouldn't bother investigating? FFS

One bodycam video , 'yeah he had a knife and you told him to drop it a few times, case closed'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,370 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Just having a knife is not justification...

Investigation hopefully explains why it happened

Reading up on it, it seems that the Gardai did as best as they could here before resorting to using lethal force...

Anyway, I will wait for the usual anti establishment mob to be out in force stirring tensions and creating hostility and division here...

I know what parties will hijack this to attack the Gardai and the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

This is what happens when criminals see the Irish justice system as a soft touch. The guy probably thought it would be ok to try to stab armed cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭obi604

walshb wrote: »
    Just having a knife is not justification...

Investigation hopefully explains why it happened

Reading up on it, it seems that the Gardai did as best as they could here before resorting to using lethal force...

Anyway, I will wait for the usual anti establishment mob to be out in force stirring tensions and creating hostility and division here...

I know what parties will hijack this to attack the Gardai and the state.

Well he didn’t just have a knife, he was lunging said knife at guards like a maniac, if it made contact, it was most likely game over for a guard.

Have you read any of the posts at all?

Armed response, shot at his mass, no trying to shot his hand or legs.

Obviously a troll, but nonetheless, this is exactly by the book.

Aiming for a hand. :rolleyes: Where's Stallone when you need him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Could be our George Floyd moment!

Daft comment.

• Defund the feds. :)

Tazer and pepper spray, no beanbag guns.

Armed response, shot at his mass, no trying to shot his hand or legs.

All guards will be cleared the press office has already sent out their version, case closed.

You’re specifically taught to shoot at mass, not the head, arms or legs because bullets can miss very easily and hit someone else. You aim for the biggest target, not the smallest.

Guns are not meant to injure, they’re designed to kill. Shooting limbs is something you see in movies and on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dressoutlet

I don't know why the Gardai didn't attempt a non lethal shot, ie, to his leg or something. I'm a fierce supporter of BLM but this is not a case of a black man was shot for being black. This is a black man stabbed a civilian and then attempted to stab members of The Gardai. He was pepper sprayed and tased as well. The only question I have is to the killing of him. Black, White or Asian I don't think shooting someone dead is ever a good outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

Not really, there is a long precedence to perceived racial profiling and death by cops in the US.
    We have nothing like that here, shooting by cop are extremely rare in Ireland, very few officers are even armed.
    So in the unlikely event that it was an unjustified killing, I don't expect to see wide spread protesting and looting here any time soon.

So I think we can be fairly certain that this is not our George Floyd moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dressoutlet

You’re specifically taught to shoot at mass, not the head, arms or legs because bullets can miss very easily and hit someone else. You aim for the biggest target, not the smallest.

Guns are not meant to injure, they’re designed to kill. Shooting limbs is something you see in movies and on TV.

I seen this after my previous post. Thank you for the explanation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Im melting away

Obviously a troll, but nonetheless, this is exactly by the book.

Aiming for a hand. :rolleyes: Where's Stallone when you need him.

You're obviously a moron, I'm no troll, we are evens now.

Are the armed response trained to a level where they pick a spot and can shoot that spot?

There was over 10 guards of different ranks around him, they'll all be cleared, any bodycams? I'll eat my hat of there's.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Omackeral wrote: »
    Daft comment.

If you're blessed with common sense, yes. Alas, the Twitter army is gathering steadily, describing the deceased as "that poor boy" as if he had done nothing wrong at all.

I don't know why the Gardai didn't attempt a non lethal shot, ie, to his leg or something.

What's this craic of leg shooting?

This is not the movies.....

obi604 wrote: »
    Well he didn’t just have a knife, he was lunging said knife at guards like a maniac, if it made contact, it was most likely game over for a guard.

Yes, reading reports it appears that this person was a menace right up to the time that Gardai opened fire.

I will still wait for the report/investigation...

I don't know why the Gardai didn't attempt a non lethal shot, ie, to his leg or something. I'm a fierce supporter of BLM but this is not a case of a black man was shot for being black. This is a black man stabbed a civilian and then attempted to stab members of The Gardai. He was pepper sprayed and tased as well. The only question I have is to the killing of him. Black, White or Asian I don't think shooting someone dead is ever a good outcome

Someone is hacking away with a knife at you and it's life or death and you've to make split second decisions, that's easier said than done. Also very possible and likely the attempted shot was non-lethal and it just went down that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Of course on twitter he is now a victim of some kind of injustice

Daft comment.

Really? Look at Eric Cartman - doesn't even think it needs to be investigated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Of course on twitter he is now a victim of some kind of injustice

That's just a really loud minority. The vast majority will forget about this. Luckily our media are generally less emotional than in the states. The facts will be reported and unless they change I don't think much will come of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Patiently waiting for the Gemma brigade to say he was murdered, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

it doesn't matter what eric thinks. this will be fully investigated. Based on the dublinlive.ie report it seems clear that the shooting was justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Wondered how long it'd be before we witnessed our first race riots.

Here they come.

Pity Irish people have never been given a say on whether we were keen on buying into the failed policy of multiculturalism.

I never brought Eric up. Your second post on the matter is to come on and talk about bigots having their minds up. Which posters said anything bigoted before your post?

• And to address the other questions about tasers and pepper spray -

Again, you guys need to start realising the difference between a film and real life. Yeah sure enough criminal minds or something you see the taser comes out and the lads down foaming at the mouth and all the fbi and police are high fiving and celebrating another criminal off the streets, or pepper spray same idea images of your man rolling around clawing his eyes out.

Thing is in real life this isn’t how it always goes down. If your man was off his head on coke for example a taser and pepper spray could amount to nothing but more aggressive behaviour, he had a deadly weapon, the Garda responded with a deadly weapon. He tried to stab a Garda he deserved to get shot, simple as that.

George floyd was not resisting his arrest and his only capital crime was pleading for the cop to loosen the pressure on his neck and screaming and crying for his mama. He didn’t deserve to die. This clown allegedly stabbed a shop owner or manager and swung a knife at guards, if that’s what actually happened and the evidence and reports point to it without much doubt, then he absolutely deserved the bullet.

Now, to address once more why the Garda didn’t aim for the leg or arm, that’s simple - when being trained to handle firearms you are specifically trained NEVER to shoot the limbs or head because the bullet can either miss OR completely pass through the target and possibly hit someone else rendering a suspect wounded (and even potentially still able to attack) and possibly someone else dead or wounded also.

When they discharge their weapon, it’s to protect themselves and those around them, you’re job at that point is not to protect the criminal charging you with a knife. Shooting him in the arm and all the police piling in for the arrest is again, Hollywood crap, it’s not how real policing works.

Think about how often you hear of someone being shot by gardai over here before you start accusing them of being too trigger happy or mad to kill folks just for the sake of it.

The Garda who pulled the trigger is going to spend the rest of his life remembering what he’s done, he will carry the guilt of taking another life to his grave. You never get over it, you could kill 1000 criminals and they’ll still feel bad. Whatever he was he had a potential for a good life going forward if he chose to, however he made a conscious choice to attack gardai with a knife and is now dead.

The same fcuking clowns who defend this lad would be lamenting the gardai if they had shot him in the limbs and he kept going and attacked another person before being subdued. Real easy to sit here and say how they should’ve handled it, any of ye would’ve píssed your bloody pants at the sight of someone charging you with a knife.

• Yamanoto wrote: »
    Wondered how long it'd be before we witnessed our first race riots.

Here they come.

Pity Irish people have never been given a say on whether we were keen on buying into the failed policy of multiculturalism.

Nothing is coming. We'll move on fairly quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I see the mental health excuses are been rolled out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Someone is hacking away with a knife at you and it's life or death and you've to make split second decisions, that's easier said than done. Also very possible and likely the attempted shot was non-lethal na dit just went down that way.

Police and military around the world all train to shoot into the "centre mass" - the chest and abdomen

Tazzimus wrote: »

Puts them in a bind really as the perp was a black youth and her lot aren't their biggest fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Tazzimus wrote: »

Would they? My money is on the floods of black criminals angle.
    They must feel quite confused right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Shouldn't have shot him dead ,no doubt we'll see demands for a full public enquiry as usual in theses cases ,

Gatling wrote: »
    Shouldn't have shot him dead ,no doubt we'll see demands for a full public enquiry as usual in theses cases ,

Are you saying that they shouldn't have shot him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Was it actually a black fella? I couldn't see from the video.

From what I see from the video then the fella was swinging something at people who had guns pointed at him

Literal Darwin award territory there. Maybe he was off his head or something. No winners out of it anyway