Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was it a man or a woman that murdered Raonaid Murray?

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭goodlad_ourvlad

Just watched the last few mins of it... it mentioned about the end of Granville road as a location mentioned earlier in the doc...

Was this in reference to the Granville/Churchview road they showed at the end, or the other one?

If it was in ref to the Granville/Churchview road, why was it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Sunrise_Sunset

I just watched it too. I didn't get what the film makers were implying until I read the comments in YT.

The film makers mentioned that when they tried to find out information about the "allegedly violent girl" they didn't find out much, except the address of her family home.......Apparently it is the Churchview Road house shown near the end of the documentary, which is facing the end of Granville Road (all the way down Granville Road). The insinuation is that the male with the blood stained jeans in the taxi was the boyfriend of the allegedly violent girl and was going to her house. That they were in on it together, or that one did it and the other is covering for them, and that one of them might want to clear their conscience one day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

".....The insinuation is that the male with the blood stained jeans in the taxi was the boyfriend of the allegedly violent girl and was going to her house. That they were in on it together, or that one did it and the other is covering for them, and that one of them might want to clear their conscience one day."

This is speculation, of course, but it strikes me as quite intelligent guesswork, and if true, would clear up some problematic points.

Girls CAN be violent, although it is less usual than with males; and jealousy can fire a person to irrational and frantic rage.

I'd love to know the whole story, if ever it comes out.

Knowing that info (speculation) and looking at the case again, it kind of does make sense. I think it's likely that the guards do know who the killer is, but don't have enough evidence, and it seems they messed up a lot too.

The 30 stab wounds is confusing. And no signs of self defence. Was the first stabbing the fatal one, that might have sent her into shock and unable to defend herself further or run? If stabbed in the armpit, when she raised her arms in self defence would that indicate an attacker shorter than her, reaching up?

I'm less than a year older than Raonaid would be now, and grew up not far from Glenageary. Did my Leaving Cert the same year, would go drinking in Scotts and dancing in "Paps", Abrakebra for food afterwards etc. I remember this so well, I hope that the killer is brought to justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭goodlad_ourvlad

But then I wonder, if Raonaid did know her attacker, which it seems most likely she did, why did the attacker let her walk away knowing she was still alive at that point? The attacker might not have known that she was fatally injured at that point. What if Raonaid had made it home to raise the alarm and tell someone who attacked her? Why would someone who knew her risk that?

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Henry James

Are combat trousers the one with pockets half way down the leg? What background do they suggest?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

None, really. They were very trendy at the time, all the young people were wearing them.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

The lighter coloured combats were worn by the “cooler” crowds and not the rocker indie types who tended to wear black or green ones .

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Maybe they got spooked ? Heard someone coming ? Saw a light ?

OK someone said " I’d considered that item of clothing as a factor of his class type"

Thanks. I didn't know that re lighter colour. I never wore them.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭richiestokes_79_79

Forget about that suspect. A Times article from August 27th this year, written by John Mooney, says he was traced and cleared, but “public were never informed”. What a **** joke the authorities are.

He was found. Public were never informed. John Mooney wrote an article about it in the Times - 27th August - this year.

She raised her arm to defend herself, that was the fatal blow to artery at armpit- the bag was pierced also.

In light of John Mooneys article, the focus falls back on female suspect seen in the area by a reliable witness, walking towards Adelaide road after the murder. The theory is female suspect delayed Raonaid on walk to Silchester road from pub (explains time gap) at some point Raonaid cuts off conversation with volatile female and continues on alone, suspect follows her to “the cut” laneway, Raonaid being so close to home felt emboldened to turn and tell her tormentor to **** off and to get away from her while thinking she was safe, attacked halfway up laneway (pool of blood was there) suspect pulls knife, lands early fatal blow to artery under armpit, there’s one scream after that, attacker continues to stab, In shock and blood loss Raonaid makes to to laneway exit, collapses. Did murderer check to see if Raonaid done for? Probably. Would they have the intelligence to determine Raonaid was dying? Probably not. Then suspect leaves, spotted heading towards Adelaide road. Other people in area, probably male suspect friend, he took knife to dispose of it down by Metals, explains blood on him, female went other direction. Plan to meet back at her place on churchview road. Her killer got very lucky. We are in the process of making a doc for the 25th anniversary.

If people are interested in contributing to doc, contact me. We are going to nail the killer and her accomplices.

She knew her 100% and a small number of people know what happened. Three people involved, one killer, two accomplices. And to make the alibis stick - possibly three more people. 6 or 7 people including family members protecting their own with false alibis.

And as you all know, make suspect (chap in taxi) had a weak, but one that stood, alibi. Probably backed up by family member who at first suspected his involvement but later retracted that. This theory ties in with crime review comment “the guards were waiting on a family member to turn in a relative”. Female submitted DNA but it didn’t match but it never was going to match as the DNA was of someone who innocently frequented the boutique. I think the DNA evidence was weak and a long shot the guards were hoping would convict someone. I’m no DNA expert but techniques to extract evidence was not available in 1999. Today the killer would have been caught. I admit, of course, I’ve no idea what DNA the guards have today. Nothing substantial you’d think.

“Male” suspect ^^

And as you all know the female suspect left the country one year later ….possibly the USA but we are in the process of confirmation….

• Registered Users Posts: 13,383 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Jesus, dude, start a podcast or something. This thread is fcuking weird.

Intelligent comments from you…thanks!! Justice will be done. She was only 17. There will be justice for Mark Burke also.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,807 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Because I’d say the perpetrator wasn’t rational, could have had their judgement clouded by their rage and or alcohol, drugs / medication, psychological issue etc……or a combination of all or some…

the only reason nobody has been arrested and charged, luck, pure luck… see on google maps where the murder occurred… it’s a high density residential area.

other people could have been returning home from socialising… walking dogs before bedtime…. Etc…

the amount of bad luck going against Raonaid and the Gardai in the case….Pretty substantial….

Then again, it’s understood the identity of the murderer is known but there just isn’t the evidence…

yeah, apologies for that but there’s a ton of online speculation/ clues / and accounts to work through. The majority of stuff is repetitive but we’re in the process of building a plausible theory. The “oasis” guy is ruled out, that only came to light thanks to John Mooneys article last August. The focus is back on female suspect 100%. And yes, she knew male suspect in the taxi.

One important thing …the guards were monitoring online comments at some stage after the murder in the hope of identifying the killer. I’m not sure when or the year, but one thing is certain, the people involved continue to observe comments, especially around the anniversary and weeks after. This makes me happy. I want them to know they will face justice. Big plans in place to nail them.

Just for clarity

And just to add. The volume of statements taken, the number of suspects questioned, the futile photofits released, even the fact there were a lot of weird individuals with questionable fetishes (not entirely uncommon in life, right) who were looked at; not to mention the media obsession with “chefs with knifes”, led me to conclude the investigation got too big, too drawn out, and too unfocused for its own good. The closer they thought they were to cracking it, the further away they were from the truth. The people involved are not master criminals, they got LUCKY. They had time to reset, reflect, consult, construct alibis, had support, possibly issued threats, and had ample time to dispose of evidence, and to get “offside”. I’m sure the authorities are waiting on an alibi to collapse and for an individual to come forward. Let’s see what happens…