Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do some people think it's okay to leave others on read?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

All my WhatsApps usually just consist of a series of random shlte forwarded onto each other. I can’t really be dealing with the whole “hi how are you *insert life update here*” ‘messages. Those are usually the ones I “forget” to reply to

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

By being "left on read" I mean the other person has clearly read your message that is clearly requiring a response and just doesn't give one. Another thing is specifically saying they will give you a call at a certain time and don't do it.

I think it's one of the highest forms of disrespect possible and it's frustrating as well. There is always a better way of doing things. I honestly think it's more of a power trip for them than anything else.

It'd be like the real life equivalent of if you spotted someone you knew and said hello and they simply kept looking away as if they didn't even know you. It's just the senselessness of it, to not even acknowledge the person.
    You don't have conversations with many people, do you?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I’m always amazed how much some people “need” others. Great to watch the insecurity grow with ever passing minute

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

OP probably because ‘Hi hun, any craic’ isn’t really that important of a question when your driving/working/sleeping/doing anything else at even remotely more interesting than tapping away on your phone screen to an inane question

• Registered Users Posts: 34,430 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Strumms wrote: »
    I’ve no issue if somebody doesn’t reply immediately but.....If someone doesn’t reply habitually then as I have done I just stop replying to them... an older work colleague was the one who was like that, with everyone... he’d be onto you in a heartbeat on WhatsApp looking for a shift swap, or the inside track on a problem or advice... but if you needed the same.. nothing, then maybe a week later.. ” ohh I saw that message, sorry no can do” he was eventually almost ghosted by every colleague.... he was a mè feiner 100%...:who eventually backed himself into a corner.

Anyone who I don’t want speak to I block, otherwise I just reply in as timely a fashion as I can. It’s just good manners and being respectful, that courtesy only gets removed when it is not reciprocated.

I suppose if the message needs replying to quickly like your work colleague that's a little different and definitely good manners to reply to swiftly.

When it comes to general chit chat though, I don't think I ever really instantly reply to anyone. Certainly don't end up doing an actual chat where you're both instantly messaging back and forth, that drives me nuts and I just want out of it as quickly as possible!

I suppose it boils down to what you enjoy really, I love socialising in person but am not really into text chats, just find them really irritating. A lot of people don't really convey themselves over text particularly well which doesn't help matters.

I've one really good friend for example, have been mates for about 30 years now. Incredibly gregarious guy in person but constantly tries to initiate these text chats and when I respond, he gives the most inane 3-4 word replies. Completely pointless.

I dunno, maybe I'm just getting old and cranky. I also absolutely hate trying to type on touch screen phones so that probably just exacerbates the irritation :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭theological

By being "left on read" I mean the other person has clearly read your message that is clearly requiring a response and just doesn't give one. Another thing is specifically saying they will give you a call at a certain time and don't do it.

I think it's one of the highest forms of disrespect possible and it's frustrating as well. There is always a better way of doing things. I honestly think it's more of a power trip for them than anything else.

It'd be like the real life equivalent of if you spotted someone you knew and said hello and they simply kept looking away as if they didn't even know you. It's just the senselessness of it, to not even acknowledge the person.

This is why I turn off read receipts on WhatsApp and other apps that do this.

I think expecting a reply straight away when I may be busy or I need some time to say something more meaningful is disrespectful to me.

People in the past used to wait weeks for correspondence to one another. It served them fine. I think the culture we live in when people get notifications every few minutes and expect the same from others is fundamentally unhealthy.

For the record. Saving some things for discussing for meeting in person (or on Skype or Zoom) is also okay and often beneficial.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Very rarely is anything so important that it requires immediate attention or an immediate response. If you've asked someone a question maybe they are undecided and will get back to you when they've made their minds up, or found out the answer? Maybe something happened in real life that distracted them and they forgot to get back to you. Who knows.... who really cares...they'll respond when they are ready, the world doesn't revolve around you!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

They either saw the message and forgot to reply, or thought the answer was self-evident, or couldn't be arsed, or they're sick of you texting them.

Just call them instead of playing mind games with yourself.

The only time I text is when I know I'd be interrupting them.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

OP probably because ‘Hi hun, any craic’ isn’t really that important of a question when your driving/working/sleeping/doing anything else at even remotely more interesting than tapping away on your phone screen to an inane question

My missus has this one particular friend, she lives alone. She'll whatsapp some inane shíte or other "how's things" or "any news" or something along those lines. Then a few minutes later, "did you get that" "is everything OK" - then she'll ring and get in a huff because no one is dead and yet she was still left waiting!

As i said she lives alone, we have 4 young kids - she just can't seem to grasp that there might be something more pressing going on in our house than typing out "grand" within a minute of her sending. It's narcissism pure and simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

.anon. wrote: »
    Followed by:

"?"

Ugh, hate that. Usually done by emotionally unstable head-the-balls with daddy issues.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,476 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Because 2 grey ticks is better than having to reply to one awkward one? ;)