Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lead Shot over wetlands proposed restriction

• 17-11-2020 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭

amending Annex XVII to Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of the European Parliament
    and of the Council concerning the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and
    Restriction of Chemicals (REACH) as regards lead in gunshot in or around wetlands

https://silkstart.s3.amazonaws.com/da342ea2-d994-42d9-9d22-2081c0c4cddf.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

parts 28 to 31 are particular revelence to Ireland...

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

Has the ban gone through on lead-shot from the EU or is there more avenues that can be explored to stop it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

ace86 wrote: »
    Has the ban gone through on lead-shot from the EU or is there more avenues that can be explored to stop it?

MESSAGE FROM NARGC

Mep's Vote on Lead Shot next Monday 23.11.20

Next Monday all the Mep's vote on this Restriction proposal in the European Parliament, to restrict the use of lead shot over wetlands. The proposal is on our website.

It is important we all contact the Mep's in our areas. Contacting then as a individual, or club is good.

This Vote is to stop this proposal and send it back to the European Commission. It requires 50% support to succeed.

If you require details of the Mep's in your area please go to the website - Campaigns - lead shot, where you will find their details.

There is also a template letter there, which you can amend as you please, outlining the serious problems with this proposal.

This vote will be tight, but there is a chance we could succeed.

Please contact your Mep's, ASAP, as Monday is not far away.

Dan Curley
    National Chairman
    NARGC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Completely slipped my mind. Done now.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

BTW no harm to post a reminder on the other thread in the main shooting section.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057981169&page=25
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭GooseB

I don't hunt but I filled in that survey. I don't own a shotgun either. I've written to manufacturers of guns an ammunition about the lead ban - it's not only shot in the long run here lads. MEP's ditto. What in the name of Jaysus is wrong with lazy, non-caring Irish shooters? 156 give a sh!t? Really lads?

I've been told that getting all the shooting groups to work together is a waste of time as all they care about is their own interests, or even a sub group within the organisations care about their own personal interests. But is there any way that even individually the various shooting groups can get their finger out and make their members aware of what's coming down the road?

The NARGC are asking people to fill out the survey, are any other hunting groups doing likewise? (I don't even know if there are other hunting groups, but if there are...). The final plan is to ban all lead in civilian ammunition. That means lead shot from shotguns not on wetlands (if such a thing even exists here), target shooting .22 bullets, deer rifle bullets, indoor air pistol pellets - EVERYTHING in the long run. So the NASRPC, the benchrest crowd, silhouette shooters, Target Shooting Ireland, F-Class, Irish Rifle League, all ranges, pheasant shooters(?), you name it - should at least try to inform their members of what's planned. Send out emails to the members, post up stuff on range notice boards, etc. Even divided, maybe a more substantial amount of people can be made aware and then hopefully give more of a toss than at present.

If anyone only reads the hunting section of of this shooting forum - take a read of the lead ban thread in the main section. It's fairly long at this stage but if you take the time to go through it there's plenty of info and links to get you up to speed (and moaning and giving out too but that's ok - people are getting exercised about the matter).

Talk to your shooting buddies, no matter what shooting type you do. Introduce them to the idea that they're coming after your lead and how expensive and/or unsuitable the alternatives are. (The agenda is being pushed that "alternatives" are easily available and suitable).

Rant over, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

GooseB wrote: »
    I don't hunt but I filled in that survey. I don't own a shotgun either. I've written to manufacturers of guns an ammunition about the lead ban - it's not only shot in the long run here lads. MEP's ditto. What in the name of Jaysus is wrong with lazy, non-caring Irish shooters? 156 give a sh!t? Really lads?

Probably just their experience of the EU, something is only proposed when its a Fait Accompli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

GooseB wrote: »

I doubt most of them know about it to be honest, only for here I wouldn't. When you say "Irish shooters" what are you referring to? You couldn't find a more disjointed group. It's like putting a lad in his seventies with five black cattle in the West under the same umbrella as a young vegan in Kildare growing wheatgrass and calling them both farmers.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    I doubt most of them know about it to be honest, only for here I wouldn't. When you say "Irish shooters" what are you referring to? You couldn't find a more disjointed group. It's like putting a lad in his seventies with five black cattle in the West under the same umbrella as a young vegan in Kildare growing wheatgrass and calling them both farmers.

Do you own a gun?Then irrespective of what type it is,what you shoot,or how you shoot it.
    YOU ARE affected by this because simply put you use lead in your ammo!!!
    Thats your commonality of cause right there,and rhe one that should be emphasized.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Do you own a gun?Then irrespective of what type it is,what you shoot,or how you shoot it.
    YOU ARE affected by this because simply put you use lead in your ammo!!!
    Thats your commonality of cause right there,and rhe one that should be emphasized.

You are quite right, my point was that it's not like I read about it in Irish Firearm Licence Holders Monthly!

I haven't noticed it on FB groups
    My local RDF didn't mention it to me before Xmas
    No one at the range mentioned it nor did I see signs

Lots of lads will find out when they go to buy a few boxes of shells.

Feisar wrote: »
    You are quite right, my point was that it's not like I read about it in Irish Firearm Licence Holders Monthly!

I haven't noticed it on FB groups
    My local RDF didn't mention it to me before Xmas
    No one at the range mentioned it nor did I see signs

Lots of lads will find out when they go to buy a few boxes of shells.

Had we such a publication these days,it would be like reading a history book the way information moves,and even then the response would be just as glacial. It has been in the Irish Farmers Journal and a couple of Irish Ag websites. So it has been exposed to the biggest and most indifferent group of gun owners in Ireland, the iFA
    Been on Firearms United Ireland, Owners Rights Co operative, NARGC, FACE ASFIK.But if people aren't on FB or the interweb it is pointless.

If gun dealers haven't had this advertised big in their shops or on the notice board ..SHAME on them!

DITTO to any ranges that are open that have not had this up.

I put it down to the great bog of Irish indifference swallowing up another critical matter again.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Had we such a publication these days,it would be like reading a history book the way information moves,and even then the response would be just as glacial. It has been in the Irish Farmers Journal and a couple of Irish Ag websites. So it has been exposed to the biggest and most indifferent group of gun owners in Ireland, the iFA
    Been on Firearms United Ireland, Owners Rights Co operative, NARGC, FACE ASFIK.But if people aren't on FB or the interweb it is pointless.

If gun dealers haven't had this advertised big in their shops or on the notice board ..SHAME on them!

DITTO to any ranges that are open that have not had this up.

I put it down to the great bog of Irish indifference swallowing up another critical matter again.:rolleyes:

Maybe they have, but as i and a lot of my shooting friends live a fair way from our clubs, we couldn't go to them due to the virus lockdown to shoot. If you are not shooting you don't need to buy anything, so no need to head to the shops. I am using, or was in December, ammo i had bought well over a year ago.

You all must be a bunch of hermits who have taken a vow of silence then?:D
    None of ye talk to each other by phone or other methods to see how the craic during the last few months?:D

You all must be a bunch of hermits who have taken a vow of silence then?:D
    None of ye talk to each other by phone or other methods to see how the craic during the last few months?:D

I was thinking about this last night between custom this and twist rate that were coming between me and my sleep. You couldn't meet better lads in a days walk than shooters. But in terms of communications or organisations jaysus we aren't great.

I always find a read of Messers Fitzgerald and Kearny's collected works of letters to various editors on the topic of Fieldsports an absolute sure cure for insomnia.:)