Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If boards existed in the 1930's & 1940's what would the threads say about Hitler?

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

Valresnick wrote: »
    Could you imagine what the planet would be like today if we had internet forums in the 30s ?

Probably a load of people living in Auschwitz complaining about a planned incinerator.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Ii would be interesting which side Distilled Media would take between Nazi Germany and the USSR. Would they side with the genocidal Nazis who allowed private ownership of houses, or would they side with the Soviet Union who abolished private ownership of houses?

No doubt they would be on the side of NATO during the Cold War.

Many on here would support him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Blondini wrote: »
    Dunno, but someone would say "strawman" to try to sound clever, and ohers would boast about ignoring and flaunting any Nazi restrictions... oh and there'd be lots of graphs, charts and statistics.
    Gaslighting has a takes on different meaning as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

"Feeling Dictatish, might invade Poland IDK"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Sinn Fein would be singing his praises that's for sure.. any enemy of Britain was their friend (still is)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Battery life on devices would have been an issue, I remember my Dad, born in 1933, talking about cycling into town to swap the radio battery for a recharged one every week , the battery cases were glass, if you dropped it it was in bits, you were also restricted with the type of aeriel you had for a radio, it had to be indoors, incase you were transmitting.

The battery lasted a week, Nokia radio?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,087 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

As above, sadly he would have some support here, we all know the type.

But the thing is you are viewing things through the eyes of the 21st century.

There would be no woke types around.
    There would definitely be no LGBT, no gender discussions.
    Left wing didn't give two shytes about those types, they were for the worker, the proletariat and the more left were communist of some flavour.
    Of course you would have the arguments about Trotskyism versus Stalinism.

You would have a lot of what nowadays would be seen as far right types, but who were in actual fact your ordinary Catholic Irish that would like Hitler because
    1. he was anti communist which the church told them were the anti christ incarnate
    2. he was sticking it to the Brits and we had just come out of the War of Independence a decade or so ago

You would have the IRA types who viewed Hitler as a way of getting at Britain and regaining the 6 counties.

You would then have the socialist communist types that actually believed Stalin was a great fellow and thus hated all fascists.

And you would have the ones who couldn't give a rats ass because they were having to emigrate to Britain or the US because that moron Dev was driving the county into the ground through his loony economic policies and wanted them dancing at the crossroads.

As the song says "Paddy was heading for Holyhead while Hitler was heading for Poland."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

The battery lasted a week, Nokia radio?

With limited use, mainly turned on for evening news times, with neighbours calling who didn't have a radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

If boards existed in the 1930's & 1940's what would the threads say about Hitler?

Just to say I'm quite impressed - this thread has managed to successfully Godwin itself ;)

I think it might be necessary to divide up any potential reaction pre and post the commencement of WW2.

Pre WW2 Hitler was a pretty popular fellow. With all types of supporters in this country - anyone remember the term "blueshirts" and all those who went off to fight in Spain on behalf of Hitlers bedfellow - Franco? He had plenty of popular support in the UK and elsewhere.

The thing is Hitlers support base grew from very small beginnings into a populist mass movement.

Lots of people thought he was a great fellow
    for the fairly mundane reasons such as getting Germany out of the post WW1 economic disaster, reducing Germanys huge unemployment rate, etc etc

It was the minority who were pointing out the obvious cracks in the background.

And I'm damn sure it would be the exact same here. A majority would be saying that he was a great fellow. How he loves his pet alsation, looks after his niece, doesn't drink, is fond of cabbages etc and doesn’t like any type of hunting whatsoever. Grand lad altogether.

The thing is not only did he get elected but also managed to convince over 60 million Germans that he was a most popular guy. What we know of him now - is that he was able to succesfully manipulate people and hoodwink them into hero worship.

And as Wibbs pointed out , it would be a small number who would actually stand up and say- 'eh hang on - this guy isn't what he seems"

In retrospect too many Sky History programs make him out to be an eejit - who no one liked. Unfortunately that's only the view in the rearview mirror. Something we should keep in mind about those who can successfully persuade others that black is white and only they have the solution to all our problems...

Yeah, the vegans would think he was great..

They'd say "Well all those names of producers in them Hollywood/land Pictures all seem to have something in common... Them Films is all propagana... I'd vote for him if I was German"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,907 ✭✭✭trashcan

Anyway, Hitler's facebook page would have been a sight.

Imagine his tweets !!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

trashcan wrote: »
    Imagine his tweets !!

Thats the thing. Prewar - most people would probably have loved them. His mass rallies would have made the Glastonbury festival look like a picnic

• Registered Users Posts: 15,750 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

gozunda wrote: »
    Thats the thing. Prewar - most people would probably have loved them. His mass rallies would have made the Glastonbury festival look like a picnic

I'll bet there wasn't any mess or abandoned tents left behind. They were very eco-friendly too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

trashcan wrote: »
    Imagine his tweets !!

"I WON THIS WAR, BY A LOT!"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,782 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Did anyone hear the discussion on 2RN about him yesterday, now I'm not a fan of Hitler but it was really biased, someone should tell them they're supposed to be balanced.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Wibbs wrote: »

Surely they'd blame woke people for not?

You always hear that people vote for the likes of Trump because they're sick of "woke" politics or "political correctness". That's what was being referenced.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

PR scum would have been calling the extermination camps 'Employment centres for the disadvantaged'

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

PR scum would have been calling the extermination camps 'Employment centres for the disadvantaged'
    They did have a couple of propaganda films showing "happy Jews" in "relocation centres".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

gozunda wrote: »
    The thing is Hitlers support base grew from very small beginnings into a populist mass movement.

Lots of people thought he was a great fellow
    for the fairly mundane reasons such as getting Germany out of the post WW1 economic disaster, reducing Germanys huge unemployment rate, etc etc

It was the minority who were pointing out the obvious cracks in the background.

And I'm damn sure it would be the exact same here. A majority would be saying that he was a great fellow. How he loves his pet alsation, looks after his niece, doesn't drink, is fond of cabbages etc and doesn’t like any type of hunting whatsoever. Grand lad altogether.
    He also brought in the first antismoking campaigns(an ex smoker and you know what they can be like :D) and bans on vivisection, apparently more workers rights, jobs, money in people's pockets and a more "safe" Germany, well for those considered pure German and gave back confidence to a people still reeling from WW1 and the reparations that crippled the country. He hit most of the spots for ordinary Germans and many outside of Germany. He was well liked in the US. Henry Ford(a notorious prick and antisemite) had a signed dedicated copy of Mein Kampf on his desk and Hitler had a signed dedicated copy of Ford's autobiography on his. Many overseas companies were only to happy to deal with Hitler's Germany, even when Jewish names started to fade out of employee lists. German companies made billions out of him and supported him all the way and from early on as "a man who could get things done". Bugger all were ever held to account for it too. Less than a handful ever went to trial and fewer were hanged.

As for a minority, here's a well known pic of one man who went against the grain.

559413e8eab8eac877d8d3ce

Trolling. Like a fcukin boss.
    In retrospect too many Sky History programs make him out to be an eejit - who no one liked. Unfortunately that's only the view in the rearview mirror. Something we should keep in mind about those who can successfully persuade others that black is white and only they have the solution to all our problems...
    +1. That's an all too American simplification too and God knows latterly Americans want that even more. They need the cowboy in the black hat and the hero in the white. It's comforting. More, it adds to the feeling that "this could never happen here". People need that. Europeans even more so. That such a catalogue of horrors could spring forth from one of the great European civilisations was and remains extremely discomforting. One could even argue that our more extreme cultural equivalence popular enough today comes from that discomfort. The Japanese who were also utter barbarians get more of a free ride because well, they're not White y'know. There's an element of "well what would one expect really", to it. But educated and urbane White people...

Another aspect to WW2 that my dad mentioned to me when I was a kid and it stuck with me; WW2 was a war where propaganda on the winning sides never really switched off after it was over. So Hitler was an insane fool. Dunkirk(run away, run away!!!) was a triumph, Churchill was a genius(he wasn't, made numerous blunders and was a cnut to allies), Vera Lynn flying Spitfires winning the Battle of Britain(a battle they would have had to try hard to lose, and very nearly did), the Americans won everything and are surprised the Germans are even in it and Russians believing the Nazi invasion was actually a cunning Soviet plan to give the Germans a false sense of security(while Stalin was ready to leg it on his special train eastwards). We're still living with the aftermath of it even today.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,750 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

^^Strange that good ol' FDR, turned away a boatload of desperate Jewish refugees on the eve of WW2. After a while of looking for anywhere to be allowed dock, the ship had no other option but to sail back to Europe (Netherlands) in the end and you can guess the rest. That rarely if ever gets mentioned in US documentaries.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

There would have been healthy discussion around Hitler’s policies including the inspiration the English (his term for the Tans) gave him for genocide and concentration camps (Mein Kampf vol I), but you’d never hear the mainstream media discuss anything like that.

Too busy supporting virtue signalling mongloids wearing poppies while taking the knee.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Zebra3 wrote: »
    There would have been healthy discussion around Hitler’s policies including the inspiration the English (his term for the Tans) gave him for genocide and concentration camps (Mein Kampf vol I), but you’d never hear the mainstream media discuss anything like that.

Too busy supporting virtue signalling mongloids wearing poppies while taking the knee.

Pathetic

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Wibbs wrote: »
    He also brought in the first antismoking campaigns(an ex smoker and you know what they can be like :D) and bans on vivisection, apparently more workers rights, jobs, money in people's pockets and a more "safe" Germany, well for those considered pure German and gave back confidence to a people still reeling from WW1 and the reparations that crippled the country. He hit most of the spots for ordinary Germans and many outside of Germany. He was well liked in the US. Henry Ford(a notorious prick and antisemite) had a signed dedicated copy of Mein Kampf on his desk and Hitler had a signed dedicated copy of Ford's autobiography on his. Many overseas companies were only to happy to deal with Hitler's Germany, even when Jewish names started to fade out of employee lists. German companies made billions out of him and supported him all the way and from early on as "a man who could get things done". Bugger all were ever held to account for it too. Less than a handful ever went to trial and fewer were hanged.

As for a minority, here's a well known pic of one man who went against the grain.

559413e8eab8eac877d8d3ce

Trolling. Like a fcukin boss.

+1. That's an all too American simplification too and God knows latterly Americans want that even more. They need the cowboy in the black hat and the hero in the white. It's comforting. More, it adds to the feeling that "this could never happen here". People need that. Europeans even more so. That such a catalogue of horrors could spring forth from one of the great European civilisations was and remains extremely discomforting. One could even argue that our more extreme cultural equivalence popular enough today comes from that discomfort. The Japanese who were also utter barbarians get more of a free ride because well, they're not White y'know. There's an element of "well what would one expect really", to it. But educated and urbane White people...

Another aspect to WW2 that my dad mentioned to me when I was a kid and it stuck with me; WW2 was a war where propaganda on the winning sides never really switched off after it was over. So Hitler was an insane fool. Dunkirk(run away, run away!!!) was a triumph, Churchill was a genius(he wasn't, made numerous blunders and was a cnut to allies), Vera Lynn flying Spitfires winning the Battle of Britain(a battle they would have had to try hard to lose, and very nearly did), the Americans won everything and are surprised the Germans are even in it and Russians believing the Nazi invasion was actually a cunning Soviet plan to give the Germans a false sense of security(while Stalin was ready to leg it on his special train eastwards). We're still living with the aftermath of it even today.

He was though or more to the point he was completely militarily incompetent at fairly crucial times; he wasted any amounts of time and resources on military projects that were doomed to fail, routinely ignored advice from generals, his invasion of Russia was very nearly a success yet he single handedly scuppered it by driving for the Caucasus oil fields instead of baring down on Moscow as he was rightly advised to do.

The victors always write the history in the end, even if they were allies. The Canadians never got credit for their efforts in the liberation of Rome and Italy (the Americans swung in and took all the credit in the end) and propaganda derided even that effort with D- Day.

Edgware wrote: »
    Pathetic

What's pathetic?

Me stating fact?

Don't like it?

Boo hoo.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Zebra3 wrote: »
    What's pathetic?

Me stating fact?

Don't like it?

Boo hoo.

Fact? Thats a laugh. The usual fairytale Shinner propaganda. But then we know Sean Russell and his pals great admiration of Adolph.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You have all the Commies posting about what a great guy he is, given that they were all for him in the 30s and 40s while he was pals with Stalin

Edgware wrote: »
    Fact? Thats a laugh. The usual fairytale Shinner propaganda. But then we know Sean Russell and his pals great admiration of Adolph.

Really?

A laugh?

Shinner propaganda?

Are you twelve?

It wasn't the "Shinners" sending young lads over to fight with Hitler's men in Spain. Do you want to discuss who was? :rolleyes:

Hitler wrongly praised England in MK vol I for inventing concentration camps during the Boer War. It was the Spanish that had actually invented them. The Americans loved them too, but they call them reservations.

Hitler in MK vol I wrote about his future genocidal plans and how they had to be complete. "Who, after all, speaks today of the annihilation of the Armenians?" he said about the Ottoman genocide of Armenians and he said how much he admired England (and the US) for wiping out (not completely true) the "red races" of North America and the natives of Australia.

But you know, feel free to spread your lies.

Mein Kampf is a bit like the bible.

People prefer to talk about it and make statements that suit their own agenda as opposed to actually reading it and dealing with the facts.

Enjoy living in Lalaland.