Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardsies meeting boardsies

• 28-10-2020 11:06am
    Registered Users Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭

Im curious, has any boardsies met any other boardsies in real life?

And if so how did you get on?

And if you posted against each other did you feel awkward in regards to say meeting

• Registered Users Posts: 16,548 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Haven't shagged a boardsie yet :( and probably never will now...
    Unless my wife signs up! ;)
    But!
    I have sold a coffee machine and a few other bits to fellow boards members as well as buying from some.

All fantastic people from the interactions I've had and would be happy to meet again!
    For pints, Lols or perhaps even a shag! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rapul

A/s/l?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

There was a great shagging scene in the boardsian world about 5 or 6 years ago but then a few creeps and weirdos tried to strong arm their way in and it all went underground

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There was a really decent social culture around the site up to about 8-10 years ago. Plenty of meets ups and general craic.

All just kind of fell apart as lots of the original membership moved onto other things/got older, and as mentioned above, a couple of creepy weirdos decided to use meetups as opportunities to stalk women.

There was a great shagging scene in the boardsian world about 5 or 6 years ago but then a few creeps and weirdos tried to strong arm their way in and it all went underground

1DmzZgS.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 253 ✭✭Xtrail14

Penis and posts size competitions is all they were.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Feisar

seamus wrote: »
    There was a really decent social culture around the site up to about 8-10 years ago. Plenty of meets ups and general craic.

All just kind of fell apart as lots of the original membership moved onto other things/got older, and as mentioned above, a couple of creepy weirdos decided to use meetups as opportunities to stalk women.

I was never at one but remember them going on alright.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

When boards was smaller there used to be many beer meetings or sports activities.
    I went to several and always had a good time.
    There are still meetups in Motors etc

I know one, however we've been acquainted long before this boards malarkey. We tend to stay out of each other's way, he frequents his forums and I have mine. Pleasant chap who is a champion debater. Would I meet some of the reprobates here for a jar? Why not, spinmaster flash is top of the list. Always keen to unravel fictional character(s).

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Met plenty of people selling and buying before adverts came to be. One of the lads I bought a few bits off was a big liverpool fan and me and him ended up going to the Champ League semi final in liverpool in 2005 together :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Yea I trolled some people in real life but got the sh it kicked out of me. It's a lot more difficult in real life.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I know one, however we've been acquainted long before this boards malarkey. We tend to stay out of each other's way, he frequents his forums and I have mine. Pleasant chap who is a champion debater. Would I meet some of the reprobates here for a jar? Why not, spinmaster flash is top of the list. Always keen to unravel fictional character(s).

Can’t say the desire to go for pints together is reciprocated, Bertie. Never had much time for morose and/or maudlin drunks.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I have sexually penetrated each and every beards.ie member whether they realise it or not.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

jimgoose wrote: »
    I have sexually penetrated each and every beards.ie member whether they realise it or not.

Oh I realise ;) :P

• Registered Users Posts: 16,548 ✭✭✭✭banie01

jimgoose wrote: »

That gives a hole ;) new meaning to "growing digital penetration!"

RTE could use a man of your talent Jim!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

banie01 wrote: »
    That gives a hole ;) new meaning to "growing digital penetration!"

RTE could use a man of your talent Jim!

In the immortal words of Joe Pesci, they fuck you with the cellphone!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Whenever I get a slightly racist taxi driver I always wonder if they post in Current Affairs/IMHO

Can’t say the desire to go for pints together is reciprocated, Bertie. Never had much time for morose and/or maudlin drunks.

In fairness, you and the androgynous Adrian Balboa don't deviate far from the same tired script. Nor does AVB for that matter. The hive mentality of one cometh.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,846 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I've met up with a few before, always been good fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The Crazy Cat Lady

Ive met up with loads of boards people, they've all been good fun, although one ended badly, I was told to never contact them again (i suspect they were going through a tough time). I never did and to this day I wonder how they are

• Registered Users Posts: 8,306 ✭✭✭AllForIt

When Boardsies get together do you have to quote each other as your're chatting?

...and bring some printout's of gifs and hold them up at appropriate times.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

AllForIt wrote: »
    When Boardsies get together do you have to quote each other as your're chatting?

...and bring some printout's of gifs and hold them up at appropriate times.

Not really, but I do recall a few people saying thanks, in response to other people joking about.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I've met well over a hundred at this stage, which I think happens when a forum you frequent is tied to a real world activity (cycling in this case). Some of them are lifelong friends at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

We had a 5 a side soccer going for a while in Limerick for boardies. The first night we had an extra person there who had gone to the wrong pitch, so we had to go through the usernames to figure out who was who. To have people put their hands up and sheepishly say 'yeah, that's me' when each of the names was called out was quite funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

In fairness, you and the androgynous Adrian Balboa don't deviate far from the same tired script. Nor does AVB for that matter. The hive mentality of one cometh.

This poster continuously takes unprovoked potshots at me and constantly makes baseless accusations about me holding multiples accounts or lying about my gender without proof. Meanwhile whenever I say anything back some spotty geek will emerge from the shadows and scold me, the victim, for being too aggressive. This is a farce.

Bertie’s Horse, stick to nursing your alcohol problem and pretending to be a witty raconteur and leave me the **** alone. You weirdo.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

This poster continuously takes unprovoked potshots at me and constantly makes baseless accusations about me holding multiples accounts or lying about my gender without proof. Meanwhile whenever I say anything back some spotty geek will emerge from the shadows and scold me, the victim, for being too aggressive. This is a farce.

Bertie’s Horse, stick to nursing your alcohol problem and pretending to be a witty raconteur and leave me the **** alone. You weirdo.

Mod:

This ends. Now. Any potshots at each other by either of you in AH again and bans will follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Ive met up with loads of boards people, they've all been good fun, although one ended badly, I was told to never contact them again (i suspect they were going through a tough time). I never did and to this day I wonder how they are

I'm fine, stop stalking me you crazy bitch!

Actually, no i have never knowingly met another boardsie.:D

I have met loads of the mad feckers. Two of whom are now my very close friends. Boards has been very good to me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Way back in the snowmageddon of 2010 I was stranded up in the Bluestacks in Donegal for weeks, literally, three inches of ice on the road and my car would not have coped..

Not enough food or fuel...

So along comes a knight in shining 4 wheel drive! Stocked with food and gas and coal... Yep a Donegal boardsie!..

They were so good to me up there. A log - cutting party later on; that was Smashey I think . Hated leaving but the landlord came home from abroad and wanted his house back.

Graces7 wrote: »
    Way back in the snowmageddon of 2010 I was stranded up in the Bluestacks in Donegal for weeks, literally, three inches of ice on the road and my car would not have coped..

Not enough food or fuel...

So along comes a knight in shining 4 wheel drive! Stocked with food and gas and coal... Yep a Donegal boardsie!..

They were so good to me up there. A log - cutting party later on; that was Smashey I think . Hated leaving but the landlord came home from abroad and wanted his house back.

That's lovely. You must have been so grateful to them :)