If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline Lockdown: a second squirt will keep dat scrolling finger safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,005 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Ann broke out a little laugh there. A miracle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,330 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

"You can't eat books"

400k...a....year....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

'Open the libraries'

Do people not understand how a Pandemic works AT ALL?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

"I'll read anything."

Great. Go into the supermarket and read the ingredients on that box of Cornflakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Genghis

In fairness, the government have told retail to figure out click and collect or close. Least they could have done is told libraries to figure a way to click and collect.

Would you say the library staff are being paid as normal?

Why doesn't she go onto Amazon on her com-puter and order a couple of books?

• Site Banned Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Denny61

I love going tru the newspapers ..oh ya .whats killing her now is that she has to spend money now on a newspaper...awww

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

"I'd read anything, Joe"
    "Well, would you read fiction or non-fiction"

400k+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Yes who will pay for this home delivery? Would be cheaper for councils to just send them out the book from Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Go on Joe, give her a copy of Childer of de Rising.

Imagine this, she got up this morning and said to herself I'm ringing liveline with this issue

My 83 year old father is sat beside me reading his kindle.

I'm so sick of hearing "think of the old people"
    My folks love theirs too...they send me a picture of a list of books and authors and I send them...they honestly think it's like sorcery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,671 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Maybe the level 5 has changed things ? Brilliant insight Ann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

For someone supposedly 'well read' she's lacking a bit of cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I was waiting for a Dub-a-lin geography lesson based around libraries

• Site Banned Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Denny61

Cos she doesn't want to buy books or newspapers.

In fairness to Joe, he was always a good library customer as far as staff were concerned.He respects the service.

Go on Joe, give her a copy of Childer of de Rising.
    Haven't we all been through enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

'Open the libraries'

Do people not understand how a Pandemic works AT ALL?

no it seems not, yet Duffy entertains there complaining when it suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

I've downloaded dozens of PDF files alone. A laptop or a kindle would sort this out pronto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

No TV, jaysus.

Doesn't have a TV.

No microwave either I'd say

"I dont have a television".

Ah, one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Where do you get your Tinfoil hat caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,005 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

She's an absolute misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭bmorrissey

"Older people need to sit down more" i dont think they are being dragged up and forced to work and run up hills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

“Do you watch TV” asks Joe, knowing full well she doesn’t have one.

Denny61 wrote: »
    Cos she doesn't want to buy books or newspapers.
    I used to go to P Macs (pub) have a couple of pints early on a Saturday and read the papers... bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

She gets all her news from Liveline............

She must think it is one miserable world we are living in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Anne doesn’t want to be contributing to Joe’s fees?