Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline Lockdown: a second squirt will keep dat scrolling finger safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,331 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I’ve just been sent two separate videos of the same incident wherein some young Dubalin chaps engaged in some fisticuffs on de street so to speak but wan a dem had a hatchet (!) and “accidentally“ hit wan a de udders wit it a few times. Will be interesting to see how this is excused by RTÉ.

It's the systems fault that these poor lads had to resort to going around waving knives and hatchets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

BPKS wrote: »
    It's the systems fault that these poor lads had to resort to going around waving knives and hatchets.

I KNOW DAT! I KNOW DAT! I KNOW DAT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Just listening to the panto bit. Only at the part where Alan Hughes and Duffys circus are giving out about not been told they weren't get any grant. Surely PFO is PFO no matter how it arrives.

They did work hard though filling in a full 28 pages form...well not quite 28 pages.

Piss off Joe with your Very Unique...Unique is unique. There is no degrees of uniqueness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,578 ✭✭✭Jeff2

What was the iPod thing about.

voice "you don't have x on iPod" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

It's pretty simple, I have made many complaints to both the BAI and RTE about Mr. Duffy. He's also blocked me on twitter but that's no rare honour - he clocks anyone who questions him or calls him out of his BS.

As you asked for a poem however and seeing as I am in a poetic mood so to speak, here's a little ditty I penned just for you. I call it "Woe Joe"

Woe Joe
    Just a wurkin' class man named Joe,
    Made a fortune dealing in woe,
    Holier than thou don'tcha know?
    Had a colleague who doyed from bad snow.

He loves to draw tears from the meek,
    Overuses the term so to speak, so to speak,
    Has a "fed by l'Ecrivain" physique,
    He likes to think he's elite.

The End (for the moment).

Had I more time, I'd write more rhymes. Which also rhymes so to speak.

Only checking back now and am inspired by your wunderful wunderful poem. Wunder is there any of that special funding for the arts reserved for under recognised poets like yourself?

Thank you for your explanation on why you have been cast down by the Liveline wurkin man. You probably qualify as a bad bad bastard in Joes book

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

pc7 wrote: »
    I personally think Trump will win again, you cant trust the polls.

Damn, looking like my prediction a week ago isn't too far off, I should have put a tenner on him. America deserves everything that they will get if its another 4 years of the orange one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Remember de email is open 2 47 7... 7 265 day or night from all over de wurild 2 4 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

Damn, looking like my prediction a week ago isn't too far off, I should have put a tenner on him. America deserves everything that they will get if its another 4 years of the orange one.

Looked at the phone this morning and didn't want to get out of bed. 'Merica seems happy enough with Trumpy if they've voted him in again.

As Pat Kenny quoted this morning "nobody ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American people."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Will we have a eulogy for his mentor today,and another one for the world ,as it looks like a trump victory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭cozar

someone in the UK put a bet of €5m on Trump to win, (or maybe that was just fake news who knows)

Clon63 wrote: »
    Only checking back now and am inspired by your wunderful wunderful poem. Wunder is there any of that special funding for the arts reserved for under recognised poets like yourself?

Thank you for your explanation on why you have been cast down by the Liveline wurkin man. You probably qualify as a bad bad bastard in Joes book

I never applied for de artist's exemption on any of de occasions me wurk was published in "Viz! Comic" so to speak as they say, I suppose it is too late for dat now? Similarly, I didn't do it wen me wurk was plagiarised by her.ie (me Bingo Card) and de Irish Independent (De Weekly Column). At least broadsheet credited me when they reference me Wurkday Calendar.

I would assume I most definitely qualify as a bad, bad, bad, bad, bastard in Mr. Duffy's books in one sense; though that descriptor was essentially code for members of de travelling community at de time he said it, and I am not a member of that cultured group so to speak as they say.

Will we have a eulogy for his mentor today,and another one for the world ,as it looks like a trump victory

Will he have Kathleen Watkins on?

We could pick over the whole sickness and death live on air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,118 ✭✭✭✭neris

Looked at the phone this morning and didn't want to get out of bed. 'Merica seems happy enough with Trumpy if they've voted him in again.

Id love to see Trump win just to wind up the Irish media. The bitterness and vitriol coming out of them years after the last election has been childish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

neris wrote: »
    Id love to see Trump win just to wind up the Irish media. The bitterness and vitriol coming out of them years after the last election has been childish

When relentlessly confronted by an absolute arsehole...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,222 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Anudder year of Joe Duffy

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Is he going to be onto Brendan O'Carddle, he was on newstalk this morning talking about his wife crying over the orange one.

Will world-renowned and respected political commentator Mr. Duffy offer us his take on the US Presidential Election today? Sadly I will miss it as I won't be in......but I think it's fair to say ye might get GOLD today.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    When relentlessly confronted by an absolute arsehole...

I'm no fan of Trump's, but the biased reporting of him by the woke irish meeja is nothing short of scandalous. Fair and impartial me hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

De dis-United states of america. Rambling about the election. Clip from couple on about american politics for some reason. Talking to more American friends and taxi drivers. Sounds boring unless they get some drunk people on air again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

dvcireland wrote: »

LOL.
    That never gets old.

dvcireland wrote: »

a large majority of them on both sides, state side are absolutely batsh1t crazy! :D

By rights being an Irish radio show with it's 'finger on the pulse of da nation', Liveline should be talking about an ex-taosieach, current Tanaiste and future Taoiseach being found out.

But sure, let's have the Mayo Biden muriel creators and a few desperados 'related' to a war criminal on to wail and scweam and lament something that isn't actually done and dusted. (That actually might be GOLD if Duffy let's a few on to laugh at them)

a large majority of them on both sides, state side are absolutely batsh1t crazy! :D
    Lots of that type in Ireland too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

If anyone of yous have family on the East coast of Americay........would you mind axing them to phone Loifloin for the day that's in it.

I think that's the gist of what Joe was saying on the Promo.

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    By rights being an Irish radio show with it's 'finger on the pulse of da nation', Liveline should be talking about an ex-taosieach, current Tanaiste and future Taoiseach being found out.

I 'think' the meeja care more about this story than ordinary punters tbh. Slippery Leo will catch himself out properly yet, last thing we need at the minute is an election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭cozar

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    If anyone of yous have family on the East coast of Americay........would you mind axing them to phone Loifloin for the day that's in it.

Or the local paddys pub if the're open.,

Mena Mitty wrote: »

Any bets Brendan O'Cardell will be on the blower.
    Apparerntly his wife is 'traumatised' and all :D

De wan and only time my mudder was in Yew Ess Ay was a trip to NYC aged 88, arriving same day and time as Pope Benedict and we were staying right beside Ground Zero in de Embassy Suites. I had booked a wheelchair taxi for her, and we got a lovely driver she nicknamed "Old Uncle Ben" because of his semblance to the grandad figure on the sauce jars. Because of de Pope routing in at same time we have to take a scenic route (no extra cost) via Coney Island, with views of Ellis Island etc etc. She got yapping nonstop with Ben, starting by comparing the amusements of Coney with those of Barry Island bear Cardiff, and it turned out Ben knew that place very well and named the street where he stayed there with his Welsh friend.Then they got talking about 9/11 and how his wheelchair cab had turned into an ambulance. She was on Cloud 9, even getting a glimpse of de Pope himself, getting chatting with a friendly padre on de waterfront etc.

Like herself I'd say dat gabby cabbie is well under de earth, but the way he was so well travelled himself and knowledgeable, he'd have made an extra little fortune chatting to RTÉ from time to time.

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Any bets Brendan O'Cardell will be on the blower.
    Apparerntly his wife is 'traumatised' and all :D

I doubt he WILL

Bet Joe references he heard him on Noooosstak this morning :D