Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesla Model 3 - V3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭The Mist

Thank you both, great stuff, very helpful! 🙂

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Early to mid 2022 is the sweet spot, rysen/stalks/USS etc. basically the best Model 3 era if you don't like the Highland

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 TWIreland

Hi lads, quick one for you. Currently waiting on my driving test date to come through. Do I need a full licence with me picking up the car from collection centre or is it ok with a provisional and a driver with me?. Would this trip me up with getting car on Hire purchase through a limited company or would i struggle getting the insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭JOL1

Collection is fine you just need to bring ID. Driving the car is 100% your responsibility within the law and has nothing to do with Tesla to police. Make sure you have Insurance sorted. Best of luck!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

They don’t care. You can arrive with a tv licence 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭The Mist

Thank you! Yeah, wasn't sure was it late 2021 or early 2022. Good to know.

Fountains of knowledge here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

I managed to fit an entire set of seats from a Nissan Leaf into the M3 today. No, I'm not replacing the seats in the M3 ☺️. Just couldn't believe everything fit into the boot with seats down.

Stay Free

Recommend to me a good full set of mud flaps for Model 3 Highland.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭Redfox25

Basenor set from Amazon. Easy to fit but you will need a 10mm socket to get the Tesla ones off the front.

https://amzn.eu/d/58mkYZ9

Tesla has just relaunched the referral scheme in US. Hopefully it will happen in Europe soon. For anyone thinking of ordering it may make sense to wait a few days to see if this happens and use a referral form an existing Tesla owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,259 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

They can fcuk off with their referral scheme….

Because as soon as sales pick up, they’ll cancel it again….

Of course, they are a commercial company who use financial incentives to promote sales. Anyone who gets or gives a referral benefit are happy to get it as opposed to not getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭John arse

Stupid question time, what's happening with the tariffs at all?

EU has finalised specific amounts per Company that it proposes to introduce as Tariff on Chinese EV's (reduced for most companies in particular Tesla 9%). Notably these are in addition to the current 10%. This proposal has to be approved by the majority of EU member states before 31st Oct.

Model 3 for Irish market comes from China but Model Y is now sourced from Germany. If/when the new tarrifs are introduced you may see Tesla pivot to supply European market from outside China but this would take time to get German plant set up for Model 3/perhaps Mod 3 from US is an option …otherwise price rise for Mod 3 seeks logical .

https://www.euronews.com/business/2024/08/21/eu-cuts-planned-tariff-on-china-made-telsa-vehicles-to-9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Annoys the fcuk out of me too. Completely dropping it for months at a time is a pain in the hole. They could at least leave it running and offer free miles to referrers and buyers during the off-peak sales periods, so the codes work all the time. Speaking of miles…would be even better if they didn't expire!!

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,902 ✭✭✭ozmo

Had my bumper scraped of my new Tesla in a car park :(
    I would like it fixed as invisible as possible… Its a roughed surface about 10cm x 2cm in size - Midnight black -
    would anyone have any recomendations on getting it repaired well in Dublin.

Post edited by ozmo on

“Roll it back”

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭creedp

I already have a white rear set of mud flap. However Ive none on front and recently tar and chipped roads around me have played havoc with paint behind wheel wells.

I'm thinking of ordering a set of these mud flaps but would like to paint them white to match existing mud flaps. Just wondering what white Tesla paint people use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭DrPsychia

Ashmore Ryder are well regarded for Tesla bodywork repairs, give them a call.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/3uqdacppezkpumdk6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭iniall

Tesla's approved repairer for body work is Ace Autobody (they have a good few branches). I had my MY scrapes repaired there. They did a good job, but fcuk me, it was expensive. Got a quote from Ashmore Ryder too and they were almost identical, so went with Ace as they were nearer and Tesla approved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭3d4life

Norway seems to be a nice place…….to buy a Highlander

image.png

Wyse at present convert from Euro to Nok

image.png

Warranty seems 20% longer ( miles & years ) than in EU

image.png

Also, seems a 4WD LR in Norway is equivalent of around Euro 35k …. !

Cant see Tesla needing to increase prices due to extra duty on cars from China.

The more oil Norway exports to its European neighbours, the more it can indulge in subsidising one of its pet projects, the transition to non oil based private transport, at home. Pity we aren't resource rich here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,473 ✭✭✭positron

Model 3 is cheaper than 31k suggests as salaries are higher in Norway (and cost of living too I suppose). Def a great place if you love EVs.

The Norwegian EV incentives:

• No purchase/import tax on EVs (1990-2022). From 2023 some purchase tax based on the cars’ weight on all new EVs.
    • Exemption from 25% VAT on purchase (2001-2022). From 2023, Norway will implement a 25% VAT on the purchase price from 500 000 Norwegian Kroner and over
    • No annual road tax (1996-2021). Reduced tax from 2021. Full tax from 2022.
    • No charges on toll roads (1997- 2017).
    • No charges on ferries (2009- 2017).
    • Maximum 50% of the total amount on ferry fares for electric vehicles (2018)
    • Maximum 50% of the total amount on toll roads (2018-2022). From 2023 70%
    • Free municipal parking (1999- 2017)
    • Access to bus lanes (2005-). New rules allow local authorities to limit the access to only include EVs that carry one or more passengers (2016-)
    • 25% reduced company car tax (2000-2008). 50% reduced company car tax (2009-2017). Company car tax reduction reduced to 40% (2018-2021) and 20 percent from 2022.
    • Exemption from 25% VAT on leasing (2015-)
    • The Norwegian Parliament decided on a national goal that all new cars sold by 2025 should be zero-emission (electric or hydrogen) (2017).
    • «Charging right» for people living in apartment buildings was established (2017-)
    • Public procurement:​ From 2022 cars needs to be ZEV​. From 2025 the same applies to city buses​

Just checking did you install these on your car and have they lasted well? I just installed the front 2 and found them very fiddly, especially the metal clips. I'd be amazed if they stay in place especially driving through standing water.

When I checked the white rear ones appear identical to the ones I bought so I've left them on. As there was slight marks on the paintwork aligning with the new mudguards, together with the original Tesla clips missing, Im thinking the previous owner had already installed front mud flaps but these had fallen off at some stage.

I think the white look a lot better on a white car and as I now have mismatched colours which isn't great I might buy white Tesla aerosol paint can and spray them so that at least they will match.

I was also surprised by the installation video which seemed to suggest that you detach the pin from the plastic clip and install the housing part into the pre drilled hole before placing the mud guard over it and then inserting the pin through the guard and into the housing. I followed the instruction but, not surprisingly, found the pin could get no traction so did it the traditional way of pushing the clip through the guard and into the hole. At least it seemed to get a better traction that way but I'm still not confident they will stay in place. Time will tell

pointless comparing prices like that

Rear ones I installed in about 10 mins. Front ones, not yet as couldn't find a 10mm socket to remove the bolt holding the Tesla ones on. Plan to fit them tomorrow, should be handy enough.

Also have them on my wife's car for a year with no issues noted.

IMG20240830110501.jpg IMG20240830111035.jpg

So I fitted these there now, pretty straightforward, just to note that the Basenor front flaps do not use the 10mm bolt so there is a flap on the Tesla that can now be closed up to seal off the 100mm bold (hangs down otherwise)

The basenor sure look better than the previous yokes. How did you find the metal clips? Would prefer a volt, far more secure.

They appear to be rock steady, time will tell I suppose

Its more to remove the old Tesla ones which are bolted on. The new flaps arent bolted on. Looks very neat.