Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your "comfort films"?

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Character Building

Meet Joe Black for some reason. Anytime its on I end up watching it. Very easy to veg out to. Love Anthony Hopkins in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,074 ✭✭✭Be right back

Empire of the sun.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

bluewolf wrote: »
    devil wears prada is a good call, though the chef boyfriend and hypocritical friends really annoyed me!

Nate & Co are very annoying. She's doing well for herself and all he does is sulk and give her grief. And the friends not giving her phone back. Its like they're all 5. 'I don't like this Andy'... Yeah but you were happy enough to take the free stuff :rolleyes: :D

I do like Emily though... And Nigel :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

10 Things I Hate About You. Early days of Heath Ledger and Julia Stiles careers. Very smart/funny writing for what is essentially a teen movie. Very sweet too, and perfect for when you need a lift. One of my favourites.

I LOVE that film. It’s funny, clever and charming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I know this ought not to be a "movie analysis" discussion but the great thing about Good Will Hunting is that is takes one of his rough and ready, tough-guy mates to force him to wake up in 30 seconds when professors and psychologists failed over months.

Agreed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Meet Joe Black for some reason. Anytime its on I end up watching it. Very easy to veg out to. Love Anthony Hopkins in it.

Spoiler Alert!!

Years ago I was going out with a really insecure guy. To be fair, we were really young and I made a comment about Brad Pitt being hot.
    One evening we were watching that movie and the scene where Brad gets hit by the car...then the taxi...he jumps up and goes YES!!!! He ended up rewinding the video and slow pausing that scene over and over. He took such pleasure in watching Brad get hit by not one but several vehicles. Funny now remembering that :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

bluewolf wrote: »
    This is a great thread. I have been racking my brains but I am not sure.
    devil wears prada is a good call, though the chef boyfriend and hypocritical friends really annoyed me!

The follow on book "revenge Wears Prada" is well worth a read.... I was really hoping they'd make the film but no signs of it. Boo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Porklife wrote: »
    Spoiler Alert!!

Years ago I was going out with a really insecure guy. To be fair, we were really young and I made a comment about Brad Pitt being hot.
    One evening we were watching that movie and the scene where Brad gets hit by the car...then the taxi...he jumps up and goes YES!!!! He ended up rewinding the video and slow pausing that scene over and over. He took such pleasure in watching Brad get hit by not one but several vehicles. Funny now remembering that :)

Ah here.... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,513 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Some of the Bourne movies are very watchable....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Very smart/funny writing for what is essentially a teen movie.
    Good old Shakespeare, taming of the shrew

The Bourne movies are rewatchable for sure as well, agreed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ShockChance

The way society is going at the moment I vote for
    Falling Down (1993)

Ah here.... :D

Haha I know..its making me giggle now. I remember finding the jumping up YES quite endearing but after the 10th replay I was kinda like...ehhhh.. ookkk...so I think I left the oven on...see ya!!

The Great Escape is another feel good nostalgic movie for me.
    Parenthood also. Steve Martin is just brilliant in it!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Raiders of the Lost Ark
    Lord of the Rings

Many of Spielberg's films, like Jurassic Park, Jaws and ET, etc.

Almost anything with Leslie Nielsen in it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

• Registered Users Posts: 5,720 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I know this ought not to be a "movie analysis" discussion but the great thing about Good Will Hunting is that is takes one of his rough and ready, tough-guy mates to force him to wake up in 30 seconds when professors and psychologists failed over months.

Ya but it's not your fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

Spoiler Alert!!

Jessica?

(edit - yes its a joke)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,855 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Empire of the sun.

Jesus but I hate that movie. I have no rational reason why, but when it came out we went to cinema one saturday as a family and I wanted to see whatever was the big kids movie at the time and my Dad was all 'no, we'll go and see this about a boy like ye who has to deal with war and imprisonment and all that and ye might learn something. Its a Spielberg so ita bound to be fantastic'

And I remember feeling like it went on for about 7 hours and i was bored out of my brain for the entire thing. So anytime I see it now I'm like **** you Spielberg and **** you Batman and **** you Japanese Empire!

But anyway, comfort films..

- The Longest Day
    - Butch and Sundance
    - Midnight Cowboy
    - Aliens
    - The Money Pit
    - Good Morning Vietnam
    - anything set on a submarine

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

The Hunt for Red October.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭Riddle101

A good comedy makes for a great comfort film I think. Some honorable mentions.

Airplane
    The Naked Gun movies
    Police Academy
    Scary Movie
    Ghostbusters
    Planes, Trains, and Automobiles
    Uncle Buck
    The 'Burbs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

The holiday
    The Great Escape
    Sideways
    Trading Places
    Die Hard
    Lethal Weapon series
    The Firm
    The Departed
    Little Miss Sunshine
    The Guard

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭whatswhat

So I married an Axe Murderer
    Mrs Doubtfire
    My Cousin Vinny
    Con Air
    Face Off

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Riddle101 wrote: »
    A good comedy makes for a great comfort film I think. Some honorable mentions.

Airplane
    The Naked Gun movies
    Police Academy
    Scary Movie
    Ghostbusters
    Planes, Trains, and Automobiles
    Uncle Buck
    The 'Burbs

Aw the Burbs is a great movie!!! Actually it was my go to comfort movie in my teens :D. Bout nine on the tensions scale there Rube :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

films from the 80s and the 90,s .the golden age of film comedys .
    I was a more innocent time .the comedy films released now do not seem to be as funny.
    Most big films now are action ,thrillers or scifi superhero type movies .any comedy with steve martin is worth watching a few times.
    i Notice very few hollywood show sex scenes anymore probably cos anyone can watch watch free sex scenes on the web.

The Breakfast Club..possibly my favourite movie of all time. I love Judd Nelson's character and its aged really well. I watch it almost weekly, never tire of it...

The dialogue is whip smart and it's cast perfectly with each character completely encompassing their role. So many classic lines.
    I could talk about this movie all day🙊

• Registered Users, Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

The Breakfast Club..possibly my favourite movie of all time. I love Judd Nelson's character and its aged really well. I watch it almost weekly, never tire of it...

The dialogue is whip smart and it's cast perfectly with each character completely encompassing their role. So many classic lines.
    I could talk about this movie all day🙊

Have been meaning to watch that for years, have it recorded on the Sky box for ages but just ever get around to it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

American Graffiti

Good music. No plot.

What's the word for nostalgia for a time and place you've never been ?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,057 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Original Miracle on 34th st, especially at Xmas
    Breaking Away
    Original Star wars (Episode 4?)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

I watched Casino this year for the first time and was a bit disappointed. I'd heard so many good things. It gets a bit too bogged down in the domestic drama in the last third of the film.

Totally agree with you, I saw it for the first time a few years ago...very underwhelming

Have been meaning to watch that for years, have it recorded on the Sky box for ages but just ever get around to it.

If you like John Huges movies you'll most likely enjoy it. It may be one of those..you had to see when you were younger to really get it and still like it but I don't think so. Really hope you enjoy it!

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Feenix

True Romance