Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think life is as fun for an introvert?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Introversion is good but life seems funner as an extro

I'm not sure you understand the two terms.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

KaneToad wrote: »

I don't think he can understand basic grammar either...but hey this is After Hours

mrcheez wrote: »
    I feel the term introvert and extrovert are too black and white.

Introvert implies negative connotations and that you aren't happy or cannot communicate EVER to large groups.

I think because of the internet they're labels people are just mad to give to themselves.. like probably 60% of people that would call themselves one probably shouldn't..

And the 'ambivert' thing is total nonsense..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Anyone else an ambivert?

Generally an introvert but can enjoy socialising. At times can be the life and soul of a party. Saying that when I was younger and going out a lot would prefer to go out on a Friday night and then relax for the rest of the weekend.

Think I have a finite amount of socialising in me and it needs to get replenished.

I'd say we all are to some extent. I mean I always hated that question popular on personality tests "would you prefer to be out in a club or reading on a Friday night?" It's not one or the other. I like to do both depending on my mood. I'm not a strict introvert but I notice I like the anonymity of nights out. I get drained when am around my friends for too long. For example, my friends will want to go for hikes and walks as a group and for me, such an activity is something to do with two people max. Ideally if I am going for a walk I prefer to be alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

mrcheez wrote: »
    I feel the term introvert and extrovert are too black and white.

Introvert implies negative connotations and that you aren't happy or cannot communicate EVER to large groups.

Personally I prefer the term "Independent".

Some people feel lonely without the company of others, I myself can take it or leave it. Perfectly happy on my own or with others as long as it serves a purpose to me.

I've travelled the world solo and could be the life of the party at hostels when it suited me, and then perfectly satisfied collecting my thoughts privately for weeks on end in a remote camp site in Western Australia.

I always speak up and never get dominated by "extroverts" but similarly don't actively seek out the company of others unless I'm feeling in the mood.

Lockdown hasn't made me lonely in the slightest.

So...neither ex or introvert...just independent :)

I’m very similar, can be either and I’m content once I’m enjoying myself.

I can be extrovert, a very confident one and at different time’s its for different reasons. One might be to fit in with a person or crowd to make them more comfortable. Sometimes it’s to project an illusion of confidence and sometimes I just am confident. I find when I’m particularly centred in awareness when there is something that’s got others enraged or panicked I really come into my own.

Another reason is to just have a laugh, I do enjoy a bit of Craic sometimes.

But society has a terrible way of having an extremely rigid and conformed way of isolating people who are not easy to label. Only in the last few years have I learned the difference between loneliness and solitude. I’ve always enjoyed time on my own and had forgotten when I was young that I used to spend some summers just playing on my own with my toys. There’s nothing wrong with that but there is an element of rejection from society that has made me uncomfortable with myself. As I’ve gotten older and wiser to the fake , shallow veil of society , I’ve become more at peace with who I am.

I think I am more engaged with people on a one to one basis. I prefer this to crowds or groups. I have really superb close friends who I love to spend time around and talking with but I’m equally ok doing hobbies on my own. It really is enlightening when you find things out about yourself that sort of set you free from the bondage of defective societal perceptions.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

Saying that when I was younger and going out a lot would prefer to go out on a Friday night and then relax for the rest of the weekend.

Think I have a finite amount of socialising in me and it needs to get replenished.

I’m the same. Going out on a Saturday can make me a bit sad the next day because even if I really enjoyed myself, it means I only have one day left to relax before work and I have to do the washing, ironing, general adulting to get ready as well.

I always feel completely exhausted after a night out and usually wake up with a headache from it. Being around people for hours, especially in a loud place, can really take it out of me.

KaneToad wrote: »

And your understanding of them is too rigid. I get the distinction but we live in an extroverted society where boistrousnes and bravado are idealised. Clearly, if you're someone with high levels of Introversion you might begin to reject your true nature to fit in.

When are you going to explain BRB?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,617 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

bobbyy gee wrote: »
    they are all single

live with.parents

I am an Introvert I guess. Never liked social situations hate going to pubs. They are horrible places full with people talking crap, drinking nasty drinks and just wasting time. Never been interested in going to nightclubs probably only ever been to normal nightclubs 4 times in my whole life and hated it everytime but the worst was having to go on the Debs. I had no interest and did not want to but had to. A long time ago that now. I will go to weddings but again unless it's a cousin or family member getting married do not enjoy them. Why can't people just be happy been a couple and if they break up over some stupid thing then it's a lot easier for them to go there own way then if they are married. So ye I am much happier been at home watching good T.V or a movie in the Cinema by myself than with people. I do not have a lot of friends and nor do I need a lot. It would just stress me out. I like to be able to do whatever I want to do whenever I want to do it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Social and Anti-social are another pair of labels that grind my gears.

Social implies you regularly go out to meet people.

So...if you don't and partake in such activity sparingly are you... "Anti-social"?

People get jail sentences for that ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Quality over quantity when it comes social interactions for me. Also, COVID-19 seems to prefer extroverts.

Whats the word for someone in the middle?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

Being into self sufficiency I follow this guy on YouTube and coincidentally he posted this a few days ago.

I always believed myself to be an introvert, because that's what people told me I was. I enjoyed being alone. I loved to read, or play computer games. Sure, that's what introverts do. I spend time with people, and then I need "me" time alone to regather myself. Never felt comfortable with large gatherings like house parties, or felt at ease with the social interactions of making associations/friends.

And then I realised it was all rubbish. You can be introverted and extroverted at the same time. It's a scale that moves back and forward depending on your circumstances/environment.

Now, I'm whatever I want to be. I enjoy clubbing, making a wide variety of friends, I teach to classes of 100+ students, hold motivational courses for "introverted/shy" students, etc. At the same time, I still play computer games, read, and I'm extremely happy when alone... but equally happy with those who I respect.

People like to latch on to one aspect or the other, and define themselves by it. Don't. Embrace the discomfort, and you'll quickly acclimatise yourself to whatever activity it is... It's all about the mindset. Don't place walls around yourself, and fixate yourself on a category.. Why limit yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Car buyer.

What about the 80% in between?

What's BRB?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

I'm an introvert.

I enjoy being with people I care about, i.e. my family and close friends, so long as I schedule plenty of "me" time to recharge. I'm not a fan of crowds, they exhaust me.

I don't particularly relish meeting or getting to know new people. I'm 35 and happy with my circle of friends. That said, I don't close myself off from the possibility of forming new relationships.

I am very boundaried with my time and energy. In a healthy way. I grew up a people-pleaser and needed to learn (through much therapy) to respect myself as much as I respect anyone else.

I'm not antisocial, I certainly don't hate other people. For me, my introversion is more about being good friends with myself and being very comfortable in my own company, than about shutting other people out.

Augeo wrote: »
    What's BRB?

The translation website for those of us who don't use acronyms every waking moment

https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=BRB

I don't know if that's what the poster meant though...

Maybe it's this?

https://www.etsy.com/listing/852024611/brb-social-distancing-travel-mug-funny

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Not only is life more fun but more fulfilling also. I actually find it quite sad that there are people whose enjoyment of life depends on the participation of and approval from other such shallow individuals.

That thread has me even more confused :confused:

That link is to a thread where they are debating what it means and can't come to a conclusion?!

Maybe best for you to tell us what it means to you, as you were the one using it

It's an interjection.

You make a point and emphasise it by leaving it there to hang, hence the brb. It acts as a sort of bulletpoint emphasing the most salient points.
    It adds a sense of immediacy as well

Hahaha I'm in stitches after reading that link! Wtf?! Sure they don't know what it means. Looks like you used it as some form of bullet point. Which makes f*ck all sense!

It's an interjection.

You make a point and emphasise it by leaving it there to hang, hence the brb. It acts as a sort of bulletpoint emphasing the most salient points.
    It adds a sense of immediacy as well

Maybe the person has a urinary tract infection instead of being an introvert?!

Or too much coffee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

I don't go in for this introvert/extrovert categorization - I'd say most people are a mix of both.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Car buyer. wrote: »
    What about the 80% in between?
    Exactly. This intro/extro stuff has been hyped up on the interwebs on social media by often extreme introverts. Makes sense what with the interwebs being more suited to that sort of personality. There can be quite the bit of sneering about extroverts and socialising and "other people" going on. Always seems a tad forced to me, with a side order of bitterness in some.

On meeting more full on introverts or extroverts? Depends on the person, though introverts are easier to well, ignore. They do the job for you.

I'm an extrovert I suppose. I like people again in general and don't mind "small talk" because that's how people establish things like Nutter/Not a Nutter, socially aware/not socially aware etc. It's a kind of social "foreplay" that may lead to more in depth convo. I don't do it for me, I do it for others. That's what some so called introverts don't seem to understand or are too self centred to bother, or never learned how to do it so are understandably afraid to do it. Goes for many social interactions. Now those actually on the autistic spectrum is another thing of course. Can't be easy at all.

On the other hand I can quite happily be on my own for extended periods of time. It's not an either or. Maybe I'm a metrovert? Hey there's enough makey uppy self diagnosed and identity labels going around so feck it may as well join in. There may be a book/website/victim support group in it. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,842 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I don't think OP knows what introvert means.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,060 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

So brb is some clique ****e. Gotcha.

I think it's bodybuilding "l33+" speak

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I think you can be happy as an introvert as long as you have things you enjoy and don't suffer from social anxiety. I hate weddings, nightclubs and the drinking culture here in general, but I'm happy to be in a large group like a sporting event or a photography club. Getting stick from people in work for not attending some of the nights out was a real pain though, especially during my 20's. I would go the odd time just to shut them up but I never enjoyed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

A lot of extroverts have poor communication skills. they just love pressing the flesh. beyond the quick emotional buzz of the multiple interactions, very little valuable communication takes place.

Ridiculous generalizations and I'd classify myself as an introvert who was a painfully shy teen and now have learned to turn on extrovert behavior when I need to, like a closet extrovert.

It nearly sounds like you perceive extroverts as the popular kids in coming-of-age/American teen movies, mindless bimbos and soccer jocks.

There's people blessed with intelligence and social skills and others who have excellent emotional intelligence to talk to anyone.
    For example who has ever learned something useful from a politician attending a funeral?

Very weird example... nothing to do with introverts/extroverts and more to do with politics and representing the voters.