Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus Drivers

• 29-09-2020 7:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭

Anyone else having lousy experiences with Dublin Bus Drivers,
    Tried to be polite to one this morning, cheerfully said hello, he just glared at me angrily, said nothing then scowled ahead, I mean do they have to be such arrogant Pr!cks! dealing with the public all the time?

Which town or county has the worse bus drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

They're not usually. Just one having a bad day.

I'm sure you'll survive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Allinall

A lousy experience?

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

They're not usually. Just one having a bad day.

I'm sure you'll survive
    It seems to be every day now I wouldn't mind but they get, what €44,000 a year enough to buy good manners no?

I fail to see what that has to do with anything.

My solicitor is an arsehole but I still have to pay him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

Tried to be polite to one this morning, cheerfully said hello, he just glared at me angrily, said nothing then scowled ahead, I mean do they have to be such arrogant Pr!cks! dealing with the public all the time?

I would rather deal with 1,000,000 frowning bus drivers than the current feral teenagers infestation on the red and green lines, screaming and acting like rabid animals free of any consequences.

The_Brood wrote: »
    I would rather deal with 1,000,000 frowning bus drivers than the current feral teenagers infestation on the red and green lines, screaming and acting like rabid animals free of any consequences.

True true, maybe that's why they act the way they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,052 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I fail to see what that has to do with anything.

My solicitor is an arsehole but I still have to pay him.

Stop calling people arseholes, less lawsuits :D

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Stop calling people arseholes, less lawsuits :D

No.

He is an arsehole.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I'd imagine they just get ground down dealing with people all day. I know I did. I'd still try to be polite though.

That's understandable. Dealing with the public can be challenging and I can certainly understand why someone would get fed up in a job like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

You are supposed to tip Dublin bus drivers. That's why they are being cold with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭drogon.

Remember once getting the bus from the Airport into town and there was this elderly Spanish couple who didn't put their luggage on the rack.
    The driver kept yelling from his booth, but those folks had very basic English and didn't realise he was talking to them. Next thing he comes out, starts yelling at them and they just looked so shocked.

Thought to myself, that is a nice friendly welcome - céad míle fáilte !:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

The only time I felt pissed off with DB drivers, is when driving in Dublin. They can be right road hogs.

I've cycled in Dublin and I always stay behind the bus. I'd rarely overtake it on the outside unless it's stopping for a load of passengers. It's easier to cycle with them then drive with them.

As for the drivers inside the bus. Hardly ever interact with them. Leap card all the way!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

The drivers job is to drive the bus not greet every passenger getting on. I'd also imagine that the driver may not have even heard you say hello as you were probably wearing a mask and the holes in the assault have been sealed due to covid making it harder for drivers to hear passengers speak.

GT89 wrote: »
    The drivers job is to drive the bus not greet every passenger getting on. I'd also imagine that the driver may not have even heard you say hello as you were probably wearing a mask and the holes in the assault have been sealed due to covid making it harder for drivers to hear passengers speak.

Na he did, and it doesn't excuse basic manners, also when I get the matthews coach up the country the bus drivers are sound, never once had a scowl or just any rudeness, maybe country people are just more pleasant to be around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Na he did, and it doesn't excuse basic manners, also when I get the matthews coach up the country the bus drivers are sound, never once had a scowl or just any rudeness, maybe country people are just more pleasant to be around.

Or maybe you just experienced an unpleasant induvidual or bad egg if you like they exist everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Eduard Khil

Union rep says no to hello, drivers to strike if required to be courteous.*

* Dramatisation may not be reality accurate.

GT89 wrote: »
    Or maybe you just experienced an unpleasant induvidual or bad egg if you like they exist everywhere

Seems to be nearly every second bus driver I meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Write a strongly worded email to Dublin Bus about it.

You want 5 star service, go hire a limo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭bocaman

In my experience most drivers are decent. Though on my regular route there's one who never bothers even acknowledging passengers. I call him Smiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Bykobap

Mate was boarding the bus and he greeted the driver with a casual, Alright horse!?
    Driver being in bad form gives him a stiff look and says with thick Dublin accent, Do i look like a bleeeeding horse?!
    Mate didn't respond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

They are usually a shower of grumpy pricks, I never say hello or thanks to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Passengers can be right cnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Write a strongly worded email to Dublin Bus about it.

You want 5 star service, go hire a limo.

Or a taxi. They are always pleasant, courteous, up to date on world affairs.....

Smelly passengers is s big thing as is abusive ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,411 ✭✭✭✭endacl

pgj2015 wrote: »
    They are usually a shower of grumpy pricks, I never say hello or thanks to them.

They’re grumpy because they’re bus ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,411 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Passengers can be right cnuts

Op you should have sang to the Driver..

The wheels on the bus go swish swish swish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Nonsense from the op, a man is entitled to be grumpy whenever he wants, and wherever he wants, this crap of people expecting everybody to be sunshine and lollipops is ridiculous, it belongs in Alice in wonderland and not real life, get over it op and respect the rights of those who are grumpy.

I treat everyone exactly as they treat me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Bykobap wrote: »
    Mate was boarding the bus and he greeted the driver with a casual, Alright horse!?
    Driver being in bad form gives him a stiff look and says with thick Dublin accent, Do i look like a bleeeeding horse?!
    Mate didn't respond.
    I heard a mate who was a garda respond to being addressed as 'Horse' in a pub with:

"If there was a tail [tale?] to my butt I might be a horse."

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Maybe the bus driver is a country person ? and maybe city people are just more pleasant to be around :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭mondeoman2

As A Dublin Bus Driver Myself I Say Hello/Goodbye Thank You Etc To Everybody
    That Boards/Disembarks and 90% Off Them Blank Me(mostly Females im sorry to say):(

endacl wrote: »

A Bus Wanker Is A Person Who Uses The Bus Not The Drivers:rolleyes:

mondeoman2 wrote: »
    As A Dublin Bus Driver Myself I Say Hello/Goodbye Thank You Etc To Everybody
    That Boards/Disembarks and 90% Off Them Blank Me(mostly Females im sorry to say):(
    fair play and that's why I said hello in the first place, Id say it's a tough job and I didn't want to take him for granted by not saying hello, I could have just walked ahead not saying a word, this guy was literally seething though at like 7.00am in the morning

I Must Admit That There Are A Lot of **** in The Job,But Every job Has Them I Suppose;):)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

with covid drivers want least interactions with people.there is more chance of catching
    and dying with a thousand people walking past you and getting droplets on you and were they sit.your probably 2 feet away and masks have liitle protection unless it's n95 or kn95

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Usually the foreign ones are the friendliest. The local drivers seem the rudest from my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

jmlad2020 wrote: »
    Usually the foreign ones are the friendliest. The local drivers seem the rudest from my experience.

same goes for the taxi drivers in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Most Bus Drivers I have seen are pleasant. Normal interactions with normal people goes fine.
    Now, There are is a group of people who are a sub set with a sub set (Junkies who just got disability passes) who are the rudest, racist and most ignorant on public transport. Effin' think they got their Travel Pass, they now own the world.

Bus drivers are grand. They have to deal with thousands of people who may or may not be Covid carriers. Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Some drivers are alright and some are Di*kheads.
    Truth be told tho it's that type of job that would make you a di*khead. They'd meet some sorts.

I used to work in retail and for anyone reading who has never dealt with the public you meet some self-entitled jerks out there. While not everyone there is quite a significant number of people in this world who treat staff as personal servants.
    I have seen customers go up and ask if xyz item is in stock and to be politely told no it isn't. Only for said customer to go up to a manager and say how the member of staff was rude. Seen it more than once too.

So I can only imagine what it's like working for Dublin bus.

I've been abused, threatened, spat on, punched, grabbed and some other mad things.
    I was even charged with dangerous driving and in court for sitting in traffic not even moving... Very long story but a taxi driver stated I had tried to kill him and somehow even with witnesses stating otherwise the Gaurd went ahead with it....

Steering wheel has been grabbed too, followed and blocked in, numerous collisions and some hit and runs too.

Its even worse now with these new cycle poles all around the city where a bus no longer fits in a lane and bus lanes where the bus must wait to get out into traffic to pass these poles.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

They're payed to drive the bus not soothe your ego.

🙈🙉🙊

The mad thing is, many many many complaints are bizarre and tend to be caused by the complainant....

I have had so many over he years where they've approached me but then turn it around that I did or threatened or took against their will and so on....
    Bizarre

Seems to be nearly every second bus driver I meet.

Maybe you are the issue then?

In my 30 years being allowed get the bus on my own, the driver's have 99% been sound and 1% decent.

Never shouted at me, never rude and helpful with stops, letting people know local info and directions. Above and beyond I have to say.

In return they get abused and assaulted. They have a lovely canteen though.

db for example has a huge team that are paid to listen or deal with complaints and the Driver isn't.

I could never understand it oy that the Driver is the 1st person they see from the company with the uniform, I've learnt very fast that mostly it's not personal and it's an attack on what I'm wearing so to be honest I don't care and go home and sleep like a baby..... Oh and by the way that's not a heartless don't care it is that I don't bring it home and get on with my life.
    I will help anyone out or let them off the fare if they treat me with even a little bit of respect but if I get agro or just plain bad manners I won't be going out of my way.

Over the years I've dropped people off the route or gone further as they've missed the last bus or fell asleep etc etc.... Got belongings back to them, picked people up after falling etc etc...
    Helped people in distress, people worried they're been followed or know they are and got assistance.

Mad things happen it's life but people really need to chill and take a breath before they start having a go at the Driver.....

Maybe you are the issue then?

That is what Jordan Petersen says : "Sometimes the problem is you!".
    I have only a few times seen a stressed bus driver and I didnt see what goes on before hand.
    They are men and women driving buses of up to 80 people choca-bloc in deep traffic under stress. Sure they are going to be stressed. I am sure many of the bus drivers I have seen are all carrying their own problems but I would never know that. They are people I depend on every day and am very grateful to them.

That is what Jordan Petersen says : "Sometimes the problem is you!".
    I have only a few times seen a stressed bus driver and I didnt see what goes on before hand.
    They are men and women driving buses of up to 80 people choca-bloc in deep traffic under stress. Sure they are going to be stressed. I am sure many of the bus drivers I have seen are all carrying their own problems but I would never know that. They are people I depend on every day and am very grateful to them.

Up to 124 on board..,.

Now it's obviously a lot less till we beat China virus

Up to 124 on board..,.

No fuppin' way.
    Wait is that the upper legal limit or the upper limit (thinking Japanese train passengers crushed in)?
    Crazy job, day in day out. Obviously little thanks from this thread.