Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you trust cops?

• 27-09-2020 2:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

I don't. Not one bit. Maybe I've been watching too many negative cop experience videos on Youtubez. I dunno. Like I've had all of.. 6 interactions with cops in my life? 2 were for Garda vetting. The rest were just routine traffic checkpoints. Never been pulled over or anything like that. At least half of those experiences they were very unpleasant, not at all civil and just general dicks. If I were ever pulled over, as soon as the engine was switched off, I'd whip out the phone recording every second, just for my own safety, not for posting to Youpornz.

Yes I'm using cops. Cops, police, garda (which sounds bucking dumb AF to me), it's all semantics anyway. Kinda. I guess. Suppose. Sausage rolls.

Your experiences? Yay? Nay? Jay? May? Hay? Gay? Parlay? Pay? Running-out-of-words-here-that-end-in-ay!

Do you trust cops? 71 votes

Yes
    63% 45 votes
    No
    19% 14 votes
    Maybe
    11% 8 votes
    I don't know
    1% 1 vote
    Can you repeat the question?
    0% 0 votes
    Yes, I got this reference
    4% 3 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Oh Christ....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

endacl wrote: »
    Oh Christ....
    I'm bored, leave me alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭touts

I trust them. Know a few. Like any group of people some are extremely nice, some are bastards and you have the spectrum of life in between. BUT I trust them. No matter what a few criminal organizations and their pet politicians and lobby groups try to make out the police here are among the most trustworthy in the world. Every interaction I have had with them has been respectful and honest.

Generally I find those who complain about them are far less trustworthy. Let's put it this way. Who would you like to find your wallet in the street? Your local Garda or someone who complains about how unfair the Gardai are to them.

• I wouldn't trust the majority to tell me the time nor what day of the week it is.

6 votes so far and I'm the only one that got the reference. For shame on you all! The reference is more important than the poll, geez!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,001 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

jaxxx wrote: »
    6 votes so far and I'm the only one that got the reference. For shame on you all! The reference is more important than the poll, geez!
    It's a lovely sunny day out there.

Maybe get out for a long walk and some fresh air.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Great bunch of lads them Chinese

• Registered Users Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Is it possible you've managed to confuse yourself on your own thread ?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,611 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Get the reference, doesn't really count when you are the one making it tho.

You tried to make one, that doesn't seem to have landed does it?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭touts

Maybe this I'm smarter than you attitude is why the Guards don't like you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Every interaction I've had with the garda have been good...

I would always be pleasant with them and respect the work they have to do ... maybe they can sense that respect and in return leave me alone ...

The few times I've had to get something done in barracks I've found them to be helpful.

Hell once my mrs rang local station to ask them if they would check a car we were looking to buy and I thought she had gone crazy ..... and they checked car out and gave us info that car was crashed in an incident a few years previous with minor damage....

I know a couple also who work in different areas and they are generally sound.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,611 ✭✭✭✭banie01

touts wrote: »

Yeah...
    He's a bit of a Malcolm alright!
    Lois will clatter the chops off him later, and that's before the Guards get anywhere near him.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

I don’t trust the opinion of people who refer to our police force as “cops”.

touts wrote: »
    The f*ck? It's a reference to Malcolm in the Middle, how the f*ck is that in any way shape or form insinuating any sort of narcissistic "I'm smarter than you" vibes from my part?

• touts wrote: »
    I trust them. Know a few. Like any group of people some are extremely nice, some are bastards and you have the spectrum of life in between. BUT I trust them. No matter what a few criminal organizations and their pet politicians and lobby groups try to make out the police here are among the most trustworthy in the world. Every interaction I have had with them has been respectful and honest.

Generally I find those who complain about them are far less trustworthy. Let's put it this way. Who would you like to find your wallet in the street? Your local Garda or someone who complains about how unfair the Gardai are to them.

10/10 for your anecdotal evidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

I knew a guard who was a total jerk, he was good friends with a local drug dealer and he used to drink and drive a lot. Most people around town didn't trust him at all, this is going back about 10 years. However most other guards I have meet have been friendly

• Registered Users Posts: 8,308 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

To be fair to the Gardai 90% of their daily interactions, especially in cities, with people, are with scumbags who are career wasters.

Ive never had any bad interactions with Gardai despite having recieved many penalty points, late gun licence renewals etc.

Dealing with the public in any capacity is a **** sandwich, more so when in the capacity of a guard.

They do a **** job, with a staggering amount of red tape, and certainly have insanse workloads in the busy districts.

Anyhow, yes I trust them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

No.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,352 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

So embarrassing when an Irish person refers to the Gardaí as "cops".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

The f*ck? It's a reference to Malcolm in the Middle, how the f*ck is that in any way shape or form insinuating any sort of narcissistic "I'm smarter than you" vibes from my part?

I can sense from this post why you may be having problems with our local garda.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Depends. I wouldn't trust the Gardaí with my data or privacy. I would likely trust an individual Garda in a random encounter.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

After my first experience of dealing with gardai last year, I can say absolutely that there are more gardai than you'd like to have that are utterly incompetent, malicious liars and when found out, their colleagues stick with them like blue glue.

But what is worse is their inate lack of ability to simply say "sorry, we got it wrong"

This leads to a large number of cases taken against the state for gardai wrongdoing which believe it or not does not come under the garda ombudsman area.

So whilst many are decent, the culture in garda stations means that the incompetent ones are rarely disciplined due to the blue glue of all gardai sticking together.

I can sense from this post why you may be having problems with our local garda.....

A for deductive effort.

F for result..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Easy on there tiger. This is a Sunday morning/afternoon chat thread. (Started by you, but no longer yours alone)....

F bombs are not cool..on Sundays...(or any day for that matter)

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Once got stopped at a check point minus a license plate and amongst others things ,had a lovely chat with a lady garda from cork , who kindly informed me I could lose my car and end up in court with points added to my license ,

But this lovey lass let me go on my way , with nothing more than make sure you get a new plate and other things sorted ,

Been subscribed to the Garda road traffic twitter for a good while and thanks to this Garda I wasn't one of these poor sods losing their cars and ending up in court

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Easy on there tiger. This is a Sunday morning/afternoon chat thread. (Started by you, but no longer yours alone)....

F bombs are not cool..on Sundays...(or any day for that matter)

Must have missed the PSA which named you judge and jury.. .. .. Damn these glasses, need to go to Specsavers me thinks.
    Darc19 wrote: »
    After my first experience of dealing with gardai last year, I can say absolutely that there are more gardai than you'd like to have that are utterly incompetent, malicious liars and when found out, their colleagues stick with them like blue glue.

But what is worse is their inate lack of ability to simply say "sorry, we got it wrong"

This leads to a large number of cases taken against the state for gardai wrongdoing which believe it or not does not come under the garda ombudsman area.

So whilst many are decent, the culture in garda stations means that the incompetent ones are rarely disciplined due to the blue glue of all gardai sticking together.
    I think it's like that worldwide. Always having each others backs in cases when they know they're in the wrong or they know their colleagues are abusing their power, etc. I mean, it seems a lot (by no means all, not even most) just become police just for the abuse of power. Well that's obvious.

• Darc19 wrote: »

This leads to a large number of cases taken against the state for gardai wrongdoing which believe it or not does not come under the arda ombudsman area.

This is precisely the problem. While many Gardai may do the job to the best of their ability, they turn a blind eye to wrongdoing, which in turn makes them complicit.

A fella I know wanted to be a Garda since he was 4/5 and nothing else ever crossed his mind. He was a brilliant footballer and turned down trials with Championship clubs over in England. He graduated from Templemore and lasted six months. He couldn't hack the aforementioned culture. He reported a couple of incidences to his superior and was just brushed off.

This is precisely the problem. While many Gardai may do the job to the best of their ability, they turn a blind eye to wrongdoing, which in turn makes them complicit.

A fella I know wanted to be a Garda since he was 4/5 and nothing else ever crossed his mind. He was a brilliant footballer and turned down trials with Championship clubs over in England. He graduated from Templemore and lasted six months. He couldn't hack the aforementioned culture. He reported a couple of incidences to his superior and was just brushed off.
    No accountability. That's a plague rampant through all public services.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

Like every walk of life there's good and bad people at their jobs....

But as has been mentioned already the uniform never comes off and a bad one is some f**kin dose, the worse type of person with a bit of power...

It's a fairly closed shop when it comes to transparency, as has been shown on a good few occasions, but any of them putting themselves forward for the job are welcome to it, wouldn't be for me... They deal with the scum of the place and sh*t suitations and enviroments in an out of the station.